Customer Reviews for

Harlequin Holiday Collection: Four Classic Seasonal Novellas: And a Dead Guy in a Pear Tree\Seduced by the Season\Evidence of Desire\Season of Wonder

Average Rating 3.5
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

I don't know what the other reviewer meant by "highly inappropriate" I found nothing out if the ordinary in them - the same sexual content you would find in any romance novel and way milder than you would find on tv. They were predictable, but really what romance isn't....
I don't know what the other reviewer meant by "highly inappropriate" I found nothing out if the ordinary in them - the same sexual content you would find in any romance novel and way milder than you would find on tv. They were predictable, but really what romance isn't. They are short and cute - perfect for spending a lazy Sunday (an hour or so) in front of the fireplace while my husband watched football.

posted by kealea on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hey, They're Romances, Not Real Life

So, of course they're predictable with flat undeveloped characters who have body- quivering encounters with just a touch and who live happily ever after without even really knowing each other. Hasn't the reviewer who wrote "inappropriate" ever read a Romance or heard of...
So, of course they're predictable with flat undeveloped characters who have body- quivering encounters with just a touch and who live happily ever after without even really knowing each other. Hasn't the reviewer who wrote "inappropriate" ever read a Romance or heard of Harlequin? Geez. They're mindless diversions, as they're meant to be. Go read the newspaper if you want real life. There's more "joinings" and inappropriate "couplings" in the Old Testament than in this harmless, vapid book.

posted by LovesToReadBooks on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Not bad

    I don't know what the other reviewer meant by "highly inappropriate" I found nothing out if the ordinary in them - the same sexual content you would find in any romance novel and way milder than you would find on tv. They were predictable, but really what romance isn't. They are short and cute - perfect for spending a lazy Sunday (an hour or so) in front of the fireplace while my husband watched football.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely worth getting - even if you only read the last one

    And a Dead Gut in a Pear Tree, Leslie Kelly
    Why is this happening? This was Jolly’s last chance to save her grandparents home. Sure, turning it into an inn was a terrific idea but the idea wouldn’t be worth dirt if they didn’t get some paying customers. Now, now, there’s a dead guy in under the Christmas tree and her ex is knocking of the door! How on earth is Holly going to get rid of them before her last chance of making this inn work arrives?
    Review: Oh, so much fun! I couldn’t put it down.
    Steam: Adult
    Grade: B+

    Seduced by the Season
    Undercover for Christmas. By choice. Yep. This is the life. Tracking down a major drug lord though said lord’s Achilles heel – his antiquities dealer. Except cramming for this mission isn’t much fun- until Clint meets the gorgeous bartender who also happens to be a historian. This mission may actually shape up to be an exciting one.
    Review: It’s been a long time since an author’s description made me put the book down to search out pictures and history of a site. Loved it!
    Steam: Y/A
    Grade: C+

    Evidence of Desire, Debra Webb
    A new town. A new job. A new crush. A new stalker.
    Wait… What? But why?

    Review: Enticing but not enthralling. A nice quick mystery.
    Steam: Adult
    Grade: C

    Season of Wonder, Marta Perry
    Brittle and desolate, Ally is trying to be everything to her daughter. She has a plan, though, repair and sell the cottage, get Kristie back on her feet, and start a new job.
    Until, the handsome neighbor with ties to her heart stops by.
    Review: A perfect ending. A sweet ending to this culmination of titles.
    Steam: Y/A
    Grade: A

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Fun Holiday Freebie

    A great Christmas anthology. While the stories have your typical sweet holiday connection miracles this set of stories stand out a bit because there is a bit more to these story then just the hearts and flowers. With the bit intrigue, crimes to solve, and a lot of bitterness to overcome this set of stories make a refreshing change from the typical stories. I enjoyed this volume a lot more than I expected.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Definitely Recommended for the Romantic at Heart

    Four wonderful short romance Christmas stories for some light entertainment by the fireside.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Christmas love stories

    These are a good length. Easy light read. Some what predictable. I enjoyed them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Combination of Short Stories!

    You will not be disappointed with this collection of short stories. I really enjoyed all of them. I didn't have enough time to read all of them at once, so I read one each time I had an hour to spare!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Harlequin Holiday Collection

    enjoyed these writers very much

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great reads!!

    Each and every story was well written and a pleasure to read. I enjoyed them all!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Silly

    Steamier than the usual Harlequin but the stories are predictable and very reliant on the return-of-lost-love theme. jpr

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Good read!

    This was a good read. Short stories to fill the time between longer books. I enjoy reading books by these authors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Well done!

    Each and every story was an absolute pleasure to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    And The Dead Guy in a Pear Tree: Reminiscent of the Keystone Co

    And The Dead Guy in a Pear Tree: Reminiscent of the Keystone Cops. Great fun.
    Seduced by the Season: Who doesn’t love a book that takes place in Ireland, a sexy FBI agent looking for an antiquities thief in order to get to a drug lord, and a lovely Irish girl who’s really from the midWest. Interesting story.
    Evidence of Desire: You can’t go wrong with a story taking place in the West, forensic science, and a reluctant love interest. It’s amazing what lengths some people will go to get a job.
    Season of Wonder: This story features a beautiful beach and memories. With faith, any obstacle can be surmounted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    nook christmas short stories

    Short stories all involving christmas. Cozy and heart warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    short and cute

    I loved the fact that these stories were all short. I could do my housework and read one story in a couple of days during my afternoon break. These were cute and romantic and not filled with a lot of profanities and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I thoroughly recommend this book.

    Very well written stories. I enjoyed all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Recommended - check it out

    Light, easy read of romance at Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Recommended

    The book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Bp

    ((Great!)) He ran there. Bp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Cloudfoot

    Circles d lays for a nap

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Greyfoot

    Greyfoot giggled, "Not so shy anymore, huh?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15