BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Harold and the Purple Crayon (50th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    My favorite young childhood book.

    As a young reader I loved Harold, because he could set his own destiny. He started being afraid, so he drew himself out of the danger. I still have my little hardback book and purchased this one for my great-nephew, whose profile reminds me of Harold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    Teaches Imagination to Children

    This book teaches children that if they go out for an adventure and don't find one, to create one for themselves. This makes every day a special day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    This book is a fun adventure!

    Harold and the Purple Crayon is my all time favorite book when i was young. This book will keep a childs interest because of all the adventures Harold went on with his crayon. Harold and the Purple Crayon will widen your child's imagination. I will read this book to my children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    full of memories

    I became an aunt about one year ago and was trying to find great children's stories for my niece. This was one of my favorite books as a kid, I love this story so much, I may keep it for myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    FAVORITE BOOK of all times

    I can remember checking this book out of the school library atleast once a month because I loved it soo much and I would dream that I too could draw an imaginary vacation to somewhere and still til this day I love this book and would recommend it to not only children but adults as well!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    A LONG TIME LOVER OF THIS BOOK

    THIS CHILDS BOOK IS THE BEST NOT ONLY FOR INFANTS AND CHILDREN BUT FOR ANYONE WITH A WILD IMAGINATION AND ANY ONE WHO WATCHES CHALK SONE ON NICK!!!!! IT IS THE BEST BOOK NEXT TO ALL THE OTHER BOOKS FOR PEOPLES!!! SIGNED A 14 YEAR OLD BOOK BRANIAC!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    Wonderful Childrens Book

    I was recently invited to a baby shower and each guest was asked to bring a childhood book to give to the new baby, Harold and the Purple Crayon instantly came to my mind, I loved reading this book to my siblings and they loved it, it is timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Im still young

    Though I'm not one who has read this book millions of times, I've looked for it. It was a very memorable book for me when I was young. The book is older to me and I love it! I just had to get it to share with my younger siblings, hopefully the memories will stay with them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2002

    Perfect for a 4 year old

    I rember when my mother used to read it to me. I loved it. It lets you use your imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2000

    Generation after generation.....

    my mother read it to my brother and me. I read it to my sons and I presented copies to nieces and nephews. Its a great book for inspiring a child to use his/her imagination. I love the text and the art is great. Definitely a classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    This was my 1st Library Book 43 Years ago

    HAROLD AND THE PURPLE CRAYON had such a lasting effect on me I can still remember that it was the first book I borrowed from the library. At the age of 5, after spending much time at the library, Harold and the Purple Crayon was the book I wanted to take home and read. When I first brought my children to the library, they too brought the book home. It's a classic that all children should have the opportunity to read. It will definitely be the first book I buy for my grandchildren...it's a fond memory and a lasting treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    All-time best

    I've read this book for so many years when I was a kid and it really is my most remembered and all-time greatest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    My Brother LOVED this book!

    I remember that this book was my brother's favorite when he was little. He asked my mom to read it to him all the time. I especially liked the part when he drew all the pies and ate them with his moose friend. This is a really cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3