Customer Reviews for

Harold and the Purple Crayon (50th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic!

    I love this book and have loved it since I was little. I am almost 30 now and have two kids, ages 5 and 6 who still love it. The story breeds imagination and it is not necessary to be read, as kids can see from the pictures what is happening. I love to give this as a gift for ages 2-3, and they will love it for years! This classic is an essential for any library! The illustrations are break-through and inspire a new kind of imagination.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Harold and the Purple Crayon

    It is a cute story that invites young children and readers to explore their imagination. This kind of book is good because it invites the children to leave the world of television and create theirown ideas. I found it very interesting that it only had one color but still invited you in. It is simple yet so good for children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    It's a classic for a good reason

    It is simple and speaks to children and adults alike. Many people are unaware of it, so it makes a great gift.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Harolds Purple Crayon

    Harolds Purple Crayon was discovered in school by my Grandson. I know it was his favorite book to check out. I believe for a while it was the only book he checked out. He about wore the Library copy out. Cory is now 17 years old. A few years back he ask me to send it to his new little cousin. She was 4 at the time. My sister kept the book at her house and read it over and over to My little Great niece. Now my great Niece has a baby brother and today my sister informed me that between the two children Harolds Purple Crayon is their favorite book and they have about woren it out.
    I need to add that my Grandson's baby sister and my other Grand Daughter also loved this book.
    When I passed on the thanks today from my Sister to my Grandson for sending this much loved book to them I also spoke to my Grand Daughter. She told me she still wants a new copy of this little book. She is now 14 almost 15. I ask her why this book was so special. Kodi told me Because he could go anywhere he wanted just by drawing it with his purple crayon.
    While she seems too old maybe for this book I just ordered her another one and will give it to her for her birthday. She will hold on to it for her children ( a long way off at this time). I also ask my sister to hang on to the copy we sent to her and it will go back to my Grandson for his children someday.
    I have given and read many books to my Children and GrandChildren but this little book has been an all time favorite and seems to be the closest to their hearts even today.
    Please do not miss the chance to share this book with your little ones.
    Sincerely
    Nana of 5

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    memorable!

    This book is a favorite for many children. It is full of imagination! It lets the reaader imagine and travel with the character. I relates to the child and dreamer in all of us. It lets one believe in magic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    Every child should have this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Terrific Book for Children

    One of my all time favorites as a child. I love to give it new parents who never heard of it !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    My five year old really likes this book. We read it and then work on drawing pictures without moving our pencil off the paper. It's a classic that everyone should own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    AWESOME BOOK! I LOVE THE CREATIVE IMAGINATION THAT HAROLD HAS. MY 4 YR OLD HAS AN AMAZING IMAGINATION AS WELL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I loved this book as a child & now so does my daughter.

    This book is awesome! it helps spark the imagination & show kids that they can go anywhere & do anything! My little one is hard to entertain & this book does the trick! I love reading it to her which is a must in the books we buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    totally essential

    One kid, one imagination, one purple crayon. Perfect picture book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    favorite!

    i love this book! i remember reading it when i was little. definitely a classic...good to have in hardback!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a Classic

    What a wonderful way to encourage a child's imagination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    This is a delightful little book!

    My daughter (a young mother) discovered this book as part of a recommended reading list for an Elementary Education class. It's a wonderful story about a little boy who creates his world with his purple crayon as he goes along. The illustrations are simple but effective. My daughter shared the book with me and I liked it so much I bought a copy for her and another to have at my home. My 3-year-old grandson loves it; it's one of his favorite books. (As a lifelong avid reader, I have more books at my home than toys for my grandchildren!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Book Worth Rereading

    Bought this as a gift - Has been a favorite since childhood and have shared with my son. Explores where you can go and what you can do with an imagination. The story is simple and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite!!

    This is my favorite book from my childhood. I still have my copy and even still read it sometimes. It's an amazing book and your kids will love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    You'll Need To Buy Two Copies of This Book

    We wore the first copy of this book out; my son had to read it at least twice every night for months. With a simple story and even simpler drawings, Crockett teaches children that your imagination can take you any where and that it's okay to color outside of the lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A must have addition to a child's library

    An absolutely must have for parents who value creativity this is a tale of a little boy who goes for a nighttime adventure spawned by his imagination and his trusty purple crayon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Draw Your Own Destiny

    Harold draws what he needs and wants. The power of the purple crayon in this timeless classic. A wonderful, imaginative children's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    My favorite young childhood book.

    As a young reader I loved Harold, because he could set his own destiny. He started being afraid, so he drew himself out of the danger. I still have my little hardback book and purchased this one for my great-nephew, whose profile reminds me of Harold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3