Customer Reviews for

Haroun and the Sea of Stories

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Bordem

    I hated this book. We had to read it for school and it was SO boring. All of the symbolism was extremely obvious. I would not reccomend this to anyone, who is looking for a quality read. Perhaps, children.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Confusing!!!!

    I read this book in english and it was super confusing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Amazing

    An amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    A beautiful story filled with many undertones and play on words;

    A beautiful story filled with many undertones and play on words; it easily lends itself to whatever the reader's situation may be and can be pure entertainment or enlightenment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    THE POSITIVE ROLE OF FICTION IN SOCIETY

    This is a story with a child as a central figure. It can be read as a children's story, but it is much more. I believe it is Salman Rushdie's defense of his earlier fiction, especially that condemned by Islamic fundamentalists. It does not say anything specific about any religion. Religions simply exist in the background, like the ground, people or ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    The Power of Stories!

    This story was full of figurative language and can take one beyond their own imagination! I definitely recommend this story to those who love fictional settings for their stories. Salman Rushdie does a fabulous job of incorporating his life in hiding (for speaking out against Islam), into Haroun's journey, and exemplifies the power of Freedom of Speech. There are many parallels of the real world in this incredible book. I loved it, except the ending was too short, otherwise superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Awesome book

    We read this book in my Literature of India and the Pacific class and I loved it! The fantasy aspects of the entire novel make it possible to be a children's book, but the underlying theme of censorship also makes it a novel for adults. An awesome book and I would recommend it to anyone! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    awesome

    it was great...it was given to me by a friend and i thought it was great. salman rushdie writes really well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    fantabulous!

    My absolute favorite book so far is Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie. Haroun and the Sea of Stories may be characterized as a children¿s novel, but addresses struggles that readers of all ages can identify with. Rashid Khalifa, Haroun¿s father, is known throughout as a fabulous storyteller, but when his wife leaves Rashid and Haroun for a boring, predictable neighbor, Rashid loses his inspiration. Haroun embarks on a fantastic journey to clean up the polluted ¿streams of story.¿ Rushdie¿s verbiage is a bit confusing at first, but enhances the beauty of the story amazingly. I just can¿t say enough how great this book is. It¿s definitely a ¿five star¿ read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    fantastic

    This book is a wonderful commentary on the role of art in our everyday lives and the importance of suspending our disbelief. Through the experiences of Haroun and his father Rashid we can catch a glimpse of what Rushdie himself experienced as a censored and hunted man after the publication of the Satanic verses. A great story for children, but like many other 'children's' novels, it is full of morals and implications that are important for adults as well. It reminds me somewhat of 'The Giver'--good to read as a child, but even better as an adult when one can understand the themes even more deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    A Great Tale...

    This is such a great book! At the being, it is a bit confusing and slightly frustrating, but as you move along, the P2C2E and everything else that the author's vast imagination created becomes beautiful. It is a sweet story, one that explores the depths of a human's perspective of thought, while being both humorous, and honest. It is a sweet story that you really should not miss out on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Just great!

    Really fun with a modern moral. Great read for any and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Not a children's book!

    Although children would love it too. This book has many different levels an parallels to Rushdie's life, especially the censorship he experienced after publishing the "Satanic Verses." Very illuminating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    oh yeah

    good book. starts out confusing but gets better. Recommended indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Wonderful Read

    I read this book 7 + years ago as a high school Jr. and I still consider it one of my favorite books. Because this is a beautifull narrative of the challenges and achievements that life has to offer, I encourage any adult or child I encounter to read this story. You will remember this book and cherish the time you spent with these characters for years to come. Like all that have read this book, you will recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    The Fantastical World of Rushdie

    This was one of the most enthralling and inventive stories I have ever read. Rushdie sucks you into an enchanting world full of excitement. In many places it felt much like Roald Dahl met Dr. Seuss, creating a marvelous mix of morals and magic. I would recommend this book to anyone who can read, but especially as a book to be read aloud in a classroom. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    One of the Best Childrens Stories!

    I am a future teacher and (hopeful) children's author. I recieved this book several years ago, and I read it regularly. It's imaginative and creative story plot carries the reader through a whole knew world. I recommend this book to any Harry Potter lover out there...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    This is one of my most favorite books

    I don't know if I would classify this book as a children's book - I read it at the age of 27-28, and thoroughly enjoyed every word of it. This is one of the best books I have ever read. Highly recommend it for both children and their parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    A timeless story for children young and old

    One of the greatest books of our time. Salman is a gifted weaver of the the English language, in a league with Mark Twain. Get this book(at a book store it may be tucked in the adult fiction section with Salman Rushdie's other titles), share it with your children, anyone's children or covet it for yourself. Salman Rushdie writes a modern day (in the spirit of Gulliver's Travels or Alice in Wonderland) satire of the current state of society. Written while in exile, with a price on his head, Salman Rushdie explains the world in a loving way to his children. Government, culture, good and evil are given a new twist that will leave you appreciatively smiling. This is a timeless story you will never tire of. The audio book version is read by the author himself and it is one of my favorite treasures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    An amazing book on tape for all ages to enjoy!

    This is simply one of the best books of our time. Salman is a gifted weaver of the the English language, in a league with Mark Twain. Get this book(at a book store it may be tucked in the adult fiction section with Salman Rushdie's other titles), share it with your children, anyone's children or covet it for yourself. Salman Rushdie writes a modern day (in the spirit of Gulliver's Travels or Alice in Wonderland) satire of the current state of society. Written while in exile, with a price on his head, Mr. Rushdie lovingly explains the world to his children. Government, religion, culture and evil are all given a new twist that will leave you with an appreciative smile. This is a timeless story with wonderful characters you will never tire of. Unforgettable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3