Customer Reviews for

Harriet Tubman: Conductor on the Underground Railroad

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Railroad that Changed History

Harriet Tubman was a great summer reading book this year. When I first picked it up I was expecting to be reading a boring non-fiction book. I was proven wrong, when you really read between the lines, you can not only feel, but experience the true meaning of the histori...
Harriet Tubman was a great summer reading book this year. When I first picked it up I was expecting to be reading a boring non-fiction book. I was proven wrong, when you really read between the lines, you can not only feel, but experience the true meaning of the historical adventure. I really enjoyed how Ann Petry explained the every second of the story. I can only think of one thing that I didn't like, and that was that Ann Petry made the story a little too vague. I was constantly questioning little details all through the story. A lot of it I was able to figure out if I really had to think about it. Ann Petry did a phenomenal job at explaining the emotions of each slave and how Harriet wanted to save anyone she could. She would constantly be going back south to retrieve more and more slaves on the plantations. She has to learn how to get them all the way to Canada without being caught. Of course, there are always obstacles. Harriet learns how to disguise herself and how to blend with the nature around her. She even learns what time at night is the safest to travel. Her motivation is incredible. Every second of the way, you can feel the sweat running down the slaves' foreheads from running. It is a mind blowing story that I would highly recommend. I think that kids between 8 and 15 should read this story because it can really teach the meaning of perseverance. It can also teach younger kids to appreciate what we have today. We don't have to worry about slavery anymore and trying to escape. Harriet Tubman Conductor on the Underground Railroad is an incredible story.

posted by 4656075 on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Harriet Tubman conductor of the under it is a biography. I thought this book is fun to read and as you are by Ann petry, reading this book you learn about slavery and how bad it was. The setting of the book is on the underground rail railroad in the mid 1800¿s stretchin...
Harriet Tubman conductor of the under it is a biography. I thought this book is fun to read and as you are by Ann petry, reading this book you learn about slavery and how bad it was. The setting of the book is on the underground rail railroad in the mid 1800¿s stretching from the south all the way to Canada. The major conflict in this story is Harriet is taking eleven slaves up to Canada. The road ahead is very dangerous. She needs to get them there with out getting caught by slave catchers. Some major conflicts in the story have Harriet herself but she can¿t let them know. Some of the slaves might want to go back but she won¿t let them she handles this situation very subtly. If any of the slaves try to run away she might have to do something drastic. The author in this book uses a style of dialogue. I know this because Harriett tells stories of her life as a slave and life on the Underground Railroad. As she told these stories they asked her questions about her life I would recommend this book to young adults who want to learn about slavery and what it was like

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I surprisingly liked this book by Ann Petry, I recomend it to te

    I surprisingly liked this book by Ann Petry, I recomend it to teachers to make there students read because I am a student and my teacher made me read it. if you are a sixth grader i recomend you read this book and I think you will like it. I also recomend reading Prisoner B3087, it is a historical fiction about the holocaust and is a wonderful book, but has a low lexile score.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    A fantastic description Harriet Tubman and the Story of her lif

    A fantastic description Harriet Tubman and the Story of her life. Harriet Tubman Conductor of the Underground Railroad was a pretty ok book. It’s perfect for a person who wants to learn more about American history with slavery, and the underground railroad, but not so perfect for a person who is looking or a non-fiction book with action and adventure in it. The book is basically about the life of Harriet Tubman , where she grew up, and how she became a huge part of the underground railroad. It tells a story about how she took hundreds of enslaved workers and brought them to freedom. A major theme in this book is religion it talks a lot about how she used to God and prayed to God to get her and her passengers to freedom. The author was huge on descriptions she made me feel like I was right beside Harriet. The book was a little too vague on the adventure she took to help the slaves to freedom and it mostly just stated facts at times so it was a little boring to read. But at some points I would be glued to the book wondering what would happen next. You should definitely get this book if you’re into slavery and american history, but if that stuff isn’t really your thing I don’t recommend reading this book. Overall this book was pretty good, but it was not one of my favorites. Other books I would recommend are Rosa Parks My Story and Freedom Train the Story of Harriet Tubman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    The Railroad that Changed History

    Harriet Tubman was a great summer reading book this year. When I first picked it up I was expecting to be reading a boring non-fiction book. I was proven wrong, when you really read between the lines, you can not only feel, but experience the true meaning of the historical adventure. I really enjoyed how Ann Petry explained the every second of the story. I can only think of one thing that I didn't like, and that was that Ann Petry made the story a little too vague. I was constantly questioning little details all through the story. A lot of it I was able to figure out if I really had to think about it. Ann Petry did a phenomenal job at explaining the emotions of each slave and how Harriet wanted to save anyone she could. She would constantly be going back south to retrieve more and more slaves on the plantations. She has to learn how to get them all the way to Canada without being caught. Of course, there are always obstacles. Harriet learns how to disguise herself and how to blend with the nature around her. She even learns what time at night is the safest to travel. Her motivation is incredible. Every second of the way, you can feel the sweat running down the slaves' foreheads from running. It is a mind blowing story that I would highly recommend. I think that kids between 8 and 15 should read this story because it can really teach the meaning of perseverance. It can also teach younger kids to appreciate what we have today. We don't have to worry about slavery anymore and trying to escape. Harriet Tubman Conductor on the Underground Railroad is an incredible story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Ok

    Harriet Tubman conductor of the under it is a biography. I thought this book is fun to read and as you are by Ann petry, reading this book you learn about slavery and how bad it was. The setting of the book is on the underground rail railroad in the mid 1800¿s stretching from the south all the way to Canada. The major conflict in this story is Harriet is taking eleven slaves up to Canada. The road ahead is very dangerous. She needs to get them there with out getting caught by slave catchers. Some major conflicts in the story have Harriet herself but she can¿t let them know. Some of the slaves might want to go back but she won¿t let them she handles this situation very subtly. If any of the slaves try to run away she might have to do something drastic. The author in this book uses a style of dialogue. I know this because Harriett tells stories of her life as a slave and life on the Underground Railroad. As she told these stories they asked her questions about her life I would recommend this book to young adults who want to learn about slavery and what it was like

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Harriet Tubman: Conductor on The Underground Railroad is a grea

    Harriet Tubman: Conductor on The Underground Railroad is a great book that I would highly recommend to everyone. This book highlights and retraces the journey of the fearless Harriet Tubman through her journey of rescuing captive southern slaves and leading them to the free northern part of America. Harriet was a young African American who was born into slavery and with the help of the underground railroad escaped and made a new life for herself in the freedom of North. Because of her incredible journey she felt the need to give back and to help others who were in the same position as she once was. By her unfailing compassion and bravery she managed to help save many African Americans from the chains of slavery. I enjoyed reading this book because it was a suspenseful and entertaining novel that contains many life lessons including: the impact one human can have on a society, the importance of compassion and selflessness, and that we are all equal no matter what race, age, or abilities we may have. The main theme in this book that I thought was most important was the impact that one person could have on a whole society or race in this case. Harriet who was just one person in a group of many managed to help abolish slavery and save many people. This book also did a great job giving an overview of this historic time period without boring the reader or confusing the reader. However, my only complaint is that the character description was brief and somewhat hard to follow. All in all, I would suggest this book to all children and adults because we could all learn a great deal from it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Harriet Tubman was an incredibly inspirational woman whose life

    Harriet Tubman was an incredibly inspirational woman whose life struggles and accomplishments were captured perfectly through Ann Petry’s rendition of Harriet Tubman: Conductor on the Underground Railroad.
    From the day that Harriet was born as Araminta Ross, she lived through the tragedy of slavery. She watched people be sold off to work for another owner. She watched fellow slaves dream about someday becoming free. She watched people try to breakthrough and overpower the white slave owners for their freedom, only to get caught and executed. She was a slave for the first 28 years of her life. She had worked on 3 different plantations doing 4 different jobs, been whipped until her back was completely scarred, developed bronchitis which left a permanent huskiness to her voice, and had a weight hurled at her head leaving a scar and permanent head injuries, not to mention being betrayed by her husband who refused to escape with her. Harriet’s only option was to run away or be sold south, so run away she did. She went to this white lady’s house who had offered to help her if she ever needed it. This led Harriet to the Underground Railroad- a network of houses that sheltered runaway slaves until they could make it to the next stop. Harriet managed to lead more than 300 slaves to freedom via the Underground Railroad, becoming known as “the Moses of her people.” After this, she went on to work as nurse for a contraband hospital, then for the army as a spy.
    This book shows the hope, courage, faith, strength, selflessness, and positive attitude she needed to have in order to bring all of those slaves out of slavery and into freedom. It definitely should make the reader realize the pain that many Americans had to go through. Everything comes at a cost, and freedom was worth it to Harriet and hundreds of other African-Americans. It wasn’t fair how people were treated; they wanted so badly to have the rights of everyone else that lives were put at risk. Many saw it better to die than be a slave. The reader just begins to grasp the concept of how hard it actually was for these people, how much pain and torture they had to endure. I liked how strong Harriet was. She never gave up and never let anyone down. She put so many others before herself, learning from every moment. I also liked how much power she represented as a women. She was so motivational to so many people, so inspiring. There’s nothing really I can think of that I didn’t like about the book. I thought it was interesting and captivating.
    I would definitely recommend this book. It was eye-opening and thought-provoking. It really made me realize how in the midst of all the bad and evil, there really is a lot of good. It only takes one bad person to bring down so many people, but out of those bad experiences rise the good people. It’s a story of hardships powering the strength needed to be a leader. I would recommend any other books with the same concepts, as they only make you want to get up and go help too. I definitely give this book 10 out of 10.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    most appealing book on a fascinating character

    Ann Petry's writing reads like a suspenseful novel, yet it is so much more, it's a well researched introduction to a critical period in our nation's history. There are many books on Harriet Tubman, this is the best I have ever read. The author's passion shows clearly in her writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Touching,gripping and made me thanful to be white

    I 'drank' this book I have read the smaller books but this one realy it's mark on me I'm going to try to start a book reading club at out local nursing home. Bernadette Harper Chantilly, VA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    Just plain and simple, a quality book

    I read this book in my 7th grade reading class. It is really a good non-fiction book. One of the best things about it is that it is written like a story, not like a uniform biography with an endless feild of boring facts. Another good thing about it was, that at the end of every chapter, there are footnotes telling what was going on in America at that time. Great insight of the Underground Railroad. A wonderfully written triumph for Ann Petry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    What a Great book

    If You want a good book,a thirlling book,and an adventure book.read this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1