Customer Reviews for

Harriet the Spy

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Harriet the Spy ROCKS!

I think this book is one of the most interesting books I have ever read in my entire life! I reccomend it to anyone.

posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't you wish you were a spy ?!

The book is great because it makes you feel like a spy. It deserves 3 stars. Also you would wish that you were Harriet. It is the perfect children's book.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    When I was little

    I remember reading this when I was in elementary school. I hated reading then and I was neevr good at it. But my mother made me read a book and I picked this book. Even though it was really thick the cover made me want to crack it open. When I was little this made me want to read more.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Loved!

    This book is awesome!!!!!! I l-o-v-e-d it! Plus if u like it theres a sequel call harriett spies again and then theres another sequel after that called harriett the spy, double agent. I own all three. I luv her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Harriet the Spy

    Harriet the Spy
    Harriet M Welsch, a young girl who wants to be a spy when she grows up, observes people on her street and classmates, then writes down what she sees and her thoughts into her journal. The thoughts she expresses about her peers and people on her street are anything but flattering. One day, Harriet's journal comes up missing, but is found and read aloud by her classmates who become angered and want some type of revenge.

    I liked this book as a child, but didn't quite get the message like I did reading it the second time around as an adult. I believe older elementary school students would be the best candidates to read this book because if they haven't yet, they will experience something similar to the plot of this book sooner or later.


    SNP3301

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Public Library Member

    I got this book from the public library and was stuck to it. I like Harriet's movies but I personally think that the book makes a better picture in your mind and is also more detailed. I recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries and spying. It is really interesting and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    Fun, exciting and filled with adventure!!

    The reason why I picked this book is because my literature teacher suggested it. I saw the movie and remembered how good it was so I thought the book would be pretty good too. Of course the book had many more details in it. This is a fiction book. It is about Harriet M. Welsch who is eleven years old and lives in Manhatten. She enjoys being a spy. She likes to write about her friends, what she sees on her spy routes, and about her family. Harriet loses her notebook while playing a game outside with her friends. What Harriet writes in her notebook is true, but can be hurtful to her friends. Will thay ever forgive her for what she wrote about them? I like spy and mystery books. Also, I like all the characters and how they were so funny and different. I would say that this book is for ages 10 and up. Don't forget to put this book on your wish list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1