Customer Reviews for

Harris and Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Book.

Harris and me is about a Kid who adjusts from his city life, to a country life and all the wild adventures he goes on. His cousin harris is hilarious. I never wanted to stop reading, it just kept me hooked. this is definatly a book I would re read. i caught myself laugh...
Harris and me is about a Kid who adjusts from his city life, to a country life and all the wild adventures he goes on. His cousin harris is hilarious. I never wanted to stop reading, it just kept me hooked. this is definatly a book I would re read. i caught myself laughing loudly sometimes, the humor is sometimes "innapropiate" this is definatly a must read if you need a laugh.

posted by RyanFord94 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

INAPPROPRIATE for elementary students

This book might be funny to junior high kids, or if teachers edit the content. But I have a hard time recommending a book for kids that has content including descriptions of different levels of drunkkenness, 'dirty pictures,' animal cruelty, a 9 year old playing with a...
This book might be funny to junior high kids, or if teachers edit the content. But I have a hard time recommending a book for kids that has content including descriptions of different levels of drunkkenness, 'dirty pictures,' animal cruelty, a 9 year old playing with a loaded gun, and farm help slamming beers at the bar until he pees on himself and has glazed over eyes. This is definitely not a book for elementary aged kids!

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book.

    Harris and me is about a Kid who adjusts from his city life, to a country life and all the wild adventures he goes on. His cousin harris is hilarious. I never wanted to stop reading, it just kept me hooked. this is definatly a book I would re read. i caught myself laughing loudly sometimes, the humor is sometimes "innapropiate" this is definatly a must read if you need a laugh.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    GREAT! One of my most favorite books of all time!

    I read this book aloud to middle schoolers as well as high schoolers. It kept their interest and we had great discussions. I highly recommend it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Best book ever123454321

    I absouletly LOVED the book! It made me laugh out loud. It was a total page turner, it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

    Harris and Me is a book that was recomened to me from my 5th grade teacher. She reccomened it to me because I love Gary Paulsen and his books.

    Its a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!

    I deffinetly recommend it!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Awesome book especially for farm boys and boys that are just nau

    Awesome book especially for farm boys and boys that are just naughty in general. Hilarious! My favorite Paulsen book so far and I've read several with my sons.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great book

    My class read this as a read aloud and it was a popular book and got everybody laughing. I love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book. My son who is in 8th grade read it and loved it. Would recomment it to Jr. High children. May not be a good book for elementary children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Great book for grades 5-7; good read aloud

    I read this book in the spring of every year I taught sixth grade, to the total delight of my kids. It is funny, yet poignant, and gives a good picture of life in the Midwest shortly after WW II. Both girls and boys found the adventures incredibly amusing, and couldn't wait for each new chapter. I just bought a new copy to have for my grandchildren.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Harris and me rules

    I first herd of harris and me wen my teacher mrs.carlson at chief joe middle school red it to my class and i got it and iv red it teice now. Im in middle school so i dont like reading but gary paulsen changed that for me! Thanks gary!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Superb Book.

    I received my initial copy as a gift and have subsequently bought it and gifted it to everyone I know who can use a laugh. It the reader has any imagination at all, she/he can close their eyes and be transported to a different time and place and live each hilarious moment with Harris.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Scott Kendrick

    Harris and me was a very delightful book. Every chapter had me laughing my head off. Harris and me is a book for anyone to enjoy, and should most certainly have a sequal!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    Harris and me is the most funniest book ever. you should not try the stuff at home. Harris is so funny with the way he thinks stuff is. he is nine and is always getting hit by his sister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    If you like other Gary Paulsen books you will like this one !

    Its funny, advetures, touching(ending), and an over all good book. im in highschool and still like this book Gary Paulsen is my Favorite. and i dont even really like to read !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Hilarious!

    This is one of my favorites. Paulsen's masterful means of storytelling resonated throughout the entire work. How anyone could dislike this hysterically humorous conglomeration of events at the house of Harris (particularly the urination on the electric fence) is truly the best of Gary Paulsen. A classic it the greatest form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I read this book this year in 7th grade. I loved the hilarious Harris, especially the part where he rides the motorized bike and loses his 'bibs.' The only thing I didn't like was the ending. I wished the narrator had gotten to stay with the Larsons. I also wished that the narrator had gotten a name. All in all, I loved the book. I really wish there was a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    You MUST read this book!

    Mr. Paulsen has created an environment to which most of the students in my fourth grade class really wish to visit. I normally start the year off with this book (I have the skill of editing down to an art form). I have taught now for 9 years and this is the book that every class remembers most. They become transported into the story, becoming Harris' relatives themselves. My students (boys and girls) and I love the true expressiveness of Paulsen's writing. Not too many books make me crack-up as I read them aloud to my students. This one does. I laugh at the writing and I laugh with my students. I was given a gift card to Barnes and Noble Bookstore for my birthday, and I am finally adding this classroom and personal favorite to my bookshelves. Read it- you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Funniest book I've ever read!

    Harris and Me is a story of Gary Paulsen as a young boy. Me, as he is known throughout the book, is driven to his cousin Harris' family ranch. Harris Larson a lively nine year old boy who has no front teeth, is sunburnt, and is the most creative kid you will ever know. Throughout the book, Harris talks 'Me' into doing just about whatever he wants, whether it's: playing war with 'commie japs', mocking Gene Autry, or swinging from the barn loft, you name it, Harris will do it. A longtime rivalry with the ranch ruffian-rooster Ernie always seemed to keep Harris on his toes. So come on down to the old Larson Place, drive into town, drink some Nesbitt's Orange Pop, or watch the Gene Autry film strip. Either way, you're bound to have SOME fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Hilarious

    This book is about a young boy who goes to a distant family's farm because his parents are alcoholics. This book is the funniest book ever.The young boy is in a totally different ball game when he moves from the country to the city,and he learns it the hard way.When you read this book you will find some things you proably have never done before like sticking a straw up a frogs rear and blowing so it won't get away. If anyone is looking for a great laugh this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    a great funny book

    Harris and Me. By: Gary Pulsen If you like funny and gross books you should read this book.when Harris gets chased by the rooster is one of the funny parts. Aslo when Harris sticks a straw up a frogs rear thats one of the gross parts. I recommend this book to any one over the age of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    Gary Paulsens funniest book

    It is about a boy that moves to live with his cousen because his mom and dads drinking problem. When he moves in with his cousen it is way different because of their hillbilly ways of life. this book has some realy funny points and some sad parts it was a good book all round because of what they do like when Harris and the boy were playing war with the cows saying they were comey Japs and they had to go wash off in the creek.My favorite part is when they were wrestling with the rooster Ernie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    A LOVED BOOK

    I had choosen to read this book for a school project and I loved it. So I went to Barnes and Noble and bought it. I really recommened this book to everyone. Great Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2