Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter: The Story of a Global Business Phenomenon

Average Rating 2
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Obviously Targeted for a Specific Audience

I have a growing collection of Harry Potter analysis books and this is one that I heard about from the Azkatraz 2009 website which stated that the author would be giving a lecture off-site at that conference. I looked up the book and ordered it after some thinking.
...
I have a growing collection of Harry Potter analysis books and this is one that I heard about from the Azkatraz 2009 website which stated that the author would be giving a lecture off-site at that conference. I looked up the book and ordered it after some thinking.

This book is good if you like to read about the entire Potter phenomenon - not just the books. So if you like analysis of the canon and Rowling's interviews, this book is not for you. Also, it is published by palgrave-macmillan and has the tone of a textbook (I can see it being used at the college level), and so passages are redundant to drive home points in a student's mind.

Other than that, let me tell you some good thing about this book: it presents pretty up-to-date information on Harry Potter as a brand and its sales records. Instead of focusing on the actual releases of books, it looks at sales strategies: how the embargos worked, the release dates of movies/books/video games, Rowling as brand guardian, etc. However, this is just the latest information. For example, it only has the status of the Potter brand up through the fifth movie release and the Deathly Hallows book release. No doubt this will have to be expanded for a second edition after the release of all eight films based on the seven books and the Deathly Hallows paperback release, as well as the opening of the theme park. The theme park is mentioned, but at the moment it's still being built, so a lot of that information will be needed for another edition. Luckily that will make this book longer than it's 150 pages or so of actual text (there's a long bibliography).

I don't know if you'd want to wait for a newer edition in 2011 after the opening of the park and the release of the last film, but who knows if there will be one. At the moment, hardcover is the only format, and so the book is pricey, but to those of us who just can't get enough of Potter, we know that some of these books are just going to be expensive and that's the way it is.

As a couple of side notes: the author has a video up on youtube.com (just search "Susan Gunelius") in which she talks about this book, and the editing on this book is very well done.

posted by Demarest on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

I think this book offers interesting tidbits about J.K. Rowling, but that's about all it can garner for praise. It is extremely repetitive, particularly on interrelated entries about Rowling. Half of the a-to-z list comprises of non-magical entries (such as "Scholasti...
I think this book offers interesting tidbits about J.K. Rowling, but that's about all it can garner for praise. It is extremely repetitive, particularly on interrelated entries about Rowling. Half of the a-to-z list comprises of non-magical entries (such as "Scholastic" or "Jessica"). It's pretty skimpy when it comes to actually explaining the things mentioned in the Harry Potter books (such as descriptions of different spells; they rarely get a comlete sentence). At times, it was even painfully inaccurate; I cringed when Professor Sprout was consistently referred to as "he." As an avid Harry fan, I bought this hoping for a detailed list that could perhaps teach me more about the world of Harry Potter, but I think I should have saved my money, as I felt that I knew more about the things on the list than the author of the book did.

posted by 9455503 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Save your money

    I think this book offers interesting tidbits about J.K. Rowling, but that's about all it can garner for praise. It is extremely repetitive, particularly on interrelated entries about Rowling. Half of the a-to-z list comprises of non-magical entries (such as "Scholastic" or "Jessica"). It's pretty skimpy when it comes to actually explaining the things mentioned in the Harry Potter books (such as descriptions of different spells; they rarely get a comlete sentence). At times, it was even painfully inaccurate; I cringed when Professor Sprout was consistently referred to as "he." As an avid Harry fan, I bought this hoping for a detailed list that could perhaps teach me more about the world of Harry Potter, but I think I should have saved my money, as I felt that I knew more about the things on the list than the author of the book did.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Waste of your frecen money and time

    H

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    43$ really

    So much money

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Not a good price

    Bad!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    :(

    :(

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    ....

    I find it sad that there are more harry potter analysis books than harry potterbooks themselves. They are making it difficult to find a decent harry potter book of your nook :(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    To what...

    You should not sware. No offence. But a book is a book and there is nothing you can do about it. You may not like it but it's there and there is nothing you can change to it. P.S. what in the word is the point of swaring. (This is not a retorical question and if you answer my question refer to me as the seahorse)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    E

    S

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Hi

    Two words: RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Retarded!!!!!!!

    Stupidets book on planet

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Sucked

    Sucked hated the price

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Suckage

    seriously

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    too spensive

    book suck big time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Obviously Targeted for a Specific Audience

    I have a growing collection of Harry Potter analysis books and this is one that I heard about from the Azkatraz 2009 website which stated that the author would be giving a lecture off-site at that conference. I looked up the book and ordered it after some thinking.

    This book is good if you like to read about the entire Potter phenomenon - not just the books. So if you like analysis of the canon and Rowling's interviews, this book is not for you. Also, it is published by palgrave-macmillan and has the tone of a textbook (I can see it being used at the college level), and so passages are redundant to drive home points in a student's mind.

    Other than that, let me tell you some good thing about this book: it presents pretty up-to-date information on Harry Potter as a brand and its sales records. Instead of focusing on the actual releases of books, it looks at sales strategies: how the embargos worked, the release dates of movies/books/video games, Rowling as brand guardian, etc. However, this is just the latest information. For example, it only has the status of the Potter brand up through the fifth movie release and the Deathly Hallows book release. No doubt this will have to be expanded for a second edition after the release of all eight films based on the seven books and the Deathly Hallows paperback release, as well as the opening of the theme park. The theme park is mentioned, but at the moment it's still being built, so a lot of that information will be needed for another edition. Luckily that will make this book longer than it's 150 pages or so of actual text (there's a long bibliography).

    I don't know if you'd want to wait for a newer edition in 2011 after the opening of the park and the release of the last film, but who knows if there will be one. At the moment, hardcover is the only format, and so the book is pricey, but to those of us who just can't get enough of Potter, we know that some of these books are just going to be expensive and that's the way it is.

    As a couple of side notes: the author has a video up on youtube.com (just search "Susan Gunelius") in which she talks about this book, and the editing on this book is very well done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    The price and book are not ideal

    I got the sample thinking this would be a good, or at least decent, Harry Potter analysis book. I Was wrong.
    Some things wrong with this book:
    - the 40-page sample wasted19 pages of copyright, dedication, title page, etc
    -The only part of the sample that wasn't title page and all of that was ackmowledgements and preface
    -The book itself costs FOURTY-THREE dollars! Some things are worth $43, but this book is not one of those things.
    -The writing itself was not very exciting.
    I am sorry to say that I won't be wasting time and money on this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    LOTS

    Way to much$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    My mom

    Hi mom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Give me ur nook!!

    Pls? I need to talk to ppl... im a girl btw. So guys... i need u!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Cloudpaw bio by Sunfury

    Name:cloudpaw gender:female mate:WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU IM STILL AN APRENTICE IN OWLCLAN crush:russetpaw description:im a jet black she-cat with teal paws personality:kind loving caring loyal honest mishevious and very smart history:too long ask waterpaw in the reveiws of darke toad favorite prey:mice

    -the all mighty Sunfury

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Harry potter is not the best selling book " in the world"

    Harry potter is not the best selling book in the world. That is just your opinion. The movies of harry potter suck too. READ LORD OF THE RINGS! The movies and books of lord of the rings is magnificient! It is considered to be a classic! You are always on the edge of your seat. You will instantly fall in love with lord of the rings plus the hobbit. I HIGHLY recommend lord of the rings!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3