Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter Paperback Boxed Set, Books 1-7

Average Rating 4.5
( 2960 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2491)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(172)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

239 out of 296 people found this review helpful.

Good to Grow On, Or For Those Who Have Already Grown

A series made for everyone 7 and up, the series is fantastic for helping younger readers build their vocabulary (seeing as the characters use a wider vocabulary as they get older themselves), and learn important life lessons.

The series is more than a vocabular...
A series made for everyone 7 and up, the series is fantastic for helping younger readers build their vocabulary (seeing as the characters use a wider vocabulary as they get older themselves), and learn important life lessons.

The series is more than a vocabulary fun fest, though. The characters argue, they suffer from jealousy and anger, they cry. They have a realiztic relationship with one another, and they learn from their arguments what is important, and that's having and keeping each other. The stories have good morals, and endings that are reached realistically (considering that they are wizards, of course).

Rowling certainly shows that life can have happy endings, but at a cost. I think this rings true for most people ... That we have to lose some people along the way. That we can't have the people with us here and now, but we can still keep them in our hearts to help us move forward. That's an important thing that some people forget.

Despite the lose, the characters learn to overcome and do what they feel is the right thing. Yes, they may make mistakes, but so does everyone else, their world or ours.

The writing style helps to get through the books quickly, but maybe too quickly. I've found myself rereading and not remembering some parts. Maybe I was too excited, but it seems better the second time around.

Overall, this is a great series for anyone, young, old, or somewhere in the middle. I highly recommend it for someone who likes adventure, fantasy with a little bit of mystery and romance thrown in. A healthy combination for any reader.

posted by AmandaStockwell on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

271 out of 370 people found this review helpful.

Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books thro

Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books through Barnes and Noble; i read a few of them as paperbacks and enjoyed them very much. i do most of my reading on Nook and would like to own and read them in that format.

As it was, I was redirected to to...
Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books through Barnes and Noble; i read a few of them as paperbacks and enjoyed them very much. i do most of my reading on Nook and would like to own and read them in that format.

As it was, I was redirected to to a 3rd party site, inputted some CC info, found the payment declined due to my bank's no recognizing the site as secure (they are typically EXCELLENT at protecting internet security) and 30 minutes later had a phone call from my bank regarding a "potentially unauthorized transaction attempt" in the UK. Had i not been home at that time to take the call my ATM card would have been locked.

I will happily order these when they become available directly from Barnes and Noble. Until then, nope, not worth the hassle.

posted by m344 on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books thro

    Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books through Barnes and Noble; i read a few of them as paperbacks and enjoyed them very much. i do most of my reading on Nook and would like to own and read them in that format.

    As it was, I was redirected to to a 3rd party site, inputted some CC info, found the payment declined due to my bank's no recognizing the site as secure (they are typically EXCELLENT at protecting internet security) and 30 minutes later had a phone call from my bank regarding a "potentially unauthorized transaction attempt" in the UK. Had i not been home at that time to take the call my ATM card would have been locked.

    I will happily order these when they become available directly from Barnes and Noble. Until then, nope, not worth the hassle.

    271 out of 370 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    While I love the book series, I don't care for the hoops I have

    While I love the book series, I don't care for the hoops I have to jump through to purchase them. Based on need to set up a Pottermoore account, I have decided against making the purchase. It's too much of a pain. Sorry B&N and JK Rowling... you've missed out on $60.00 in digital purchases.

    195 out of 253 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Why is the eBook version so expensive?

    The 7 books are available in paperback for less money than the eBook version, why is that right? There is nothing in the eBook format that justifies it costing MORE than the physical medium, after all there's no paper, ink, printing costs, etc. So, why is it about $7 more?

    156 out of 197 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    love the books don't like the payment plan. purchased a gift car

    love the books don't like the payment plan. purchased a gift card for nook to purchace these books and then cannot use it need a major credit card.

    123 out of 168 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Was so excited when I found the author finally agreed to make the Harry Potter books available in e format. But after finding out I would be redirected to Potterville just to buy, couldnt use my gift card, personal major credit card required, and would have to agree to a bunch of this and that, But the biggest deal breaker was learning she keeps electronic tabs on every set sold by hidden incription. Meaning if the books were to be shared, the buyer could get sued. This convinced me not to buy her electronic books. Pretty sad.

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Not worth the buy

    I'm a huge harry potter fan, read all the books and i loved them. My only problem is you dont know how much you are paying, and to me its a big risk, a red flag warning saying not to buy straight from your heart, and your integrity sancified inner consequence. I rather not blow my money, saving is the best thing and a good thing. The books are 57.54 dollars, and i've paid way less around 10 dollars. You can always find harry potter books at thrift stores, so whats the point in buying them if you are going to pay more. Save your money please, its not worth it and knowing its a big chance of buying it, a good opportunity their are going to be complications or issues trying to read it. Even though its tempting to buy, in your inner soul and your integrity you know it wont be right and waiting is the best thing even though you despretly want it badly, but it can wait because its not nearly as important to worry about or depriving your moral qualities. Take it from me, just listen to your gut and believe in your actions. Be proud of what you got and dont take anything for granted.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Not sure I trust this ?

    Was thinking of purchasing but they won't tell you how much it costs, (first red flag). Then it tried ro take me to another site that I don't know if it is secure (second red flag). Third my Nook color could not load the page, first said it was not there then gave some certificate issues, that was the last straw. My husbands Nook HD+ was finally able to get the apge after 3 tries but it locked up his Nook and he had to shut it down.

    I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TRY THIS PURCHASE BECAUSE IT JUST DOESN'T SEEM RIGHT! NOT LIKE B&N AT ALL?

    BN, if this is legit, why are you sending us somewhere else? Are you not a mega bookseller?

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Does not accept all forms of payment......

    Does not accept all forms of payment......

    20 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I loved the serise.

    But they dont tell you how much it is they just lost a sale

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Bkkd

    How much is this? $$$$

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Ummmmmm... I don't think so. That is a lot of money for the e-se

    Ummmmmm... I don't think so. That is a lot of money for the e-series of
    something that has been out a while especially when I already own the
    print books. I got a Nook so I could carry my library with me when I
    travel. Having to go through Pottermore concerns me. Who will
    "own" this edition? What if something happens to Pottermore?
    Will I still have my books? I guess Harry Potter will have to stay home.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    the books of course are fantastic, unfortunatly I can't get them

    the books of course are fantastic, unfortunatly I can't get them on my nook through the pottermore shop. I will purchase them happily once they come through B&N

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Really!?

    So i get that there are some Harry Potter fans. But it doesnt tell you how much it costs. Its an open sale, so its nit free. It most likly costs so much, it takes from your credit accounf....unlees your only using your credit. But if you had a gift card, it takes away unwanted. So i wouldnt recomend buying this. EVEN if your z true fan.

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have been looking to purchase the Harry Potter collection via

    I have been looking to purchase the Harry Potter collection via e-book for many months on Kobo, Amazon even Nook. I have given up. Everyone goes through Pottermore and well when that website tries to steal my personal information to buy several lap tops you can forget getting my money. I think I will just buy the paperbacks and kill a tree. Thanks A Lot!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Absolutely stupid//

    Totally stupid that you cant buy the books through B&N . I have gift cards for the purchase but have create a pottermoor acct to buy them, not letting me use my BN gift cards. Sorry JK and BN but you just lost a $60 sale to a person who will borrow the books from a friend just to read them instead of jumping through the hoops you want.. Make it easier to buy the books in one step rather than many!!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    If and or when I can make the purchase thru B&N as I did the

    If and or when I can make the purchase thru B&N as I did the original books I will buy them then. Not willing to go thru the hassle of signing up for yet another portal on the computer. B&N or no deal!!!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Thank you for speaking up

    People, these are not chat rooms. They are book reveiws!!! AS YOU CAN SEE, THIS IS NOT A CELL PHONE!!!!!! NOOKS ARE NOT CELL PHONES!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    ??

    Can anybody tell me how much this is worth???$

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Boring.....

    I hate harry potter hunger games are better

    9 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Too much money!!!!!

    Only a rich person would buy that$$$$$

    9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9