Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter Paperback Boxed Set, Books 1-7

Average Rating 4.5
( 3102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2601)

4 Star

(193)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

253 out of 317 people found this review helpful.

Good to Grow On, Or For Those Who Have Already Grown

A series made for everyone 7 and up, the series is fantastic for helping younger readers build their vocabulary (seeing as the characters use a wider vocabulary as they get older themselves), and learn important life lessons.

The series is more than a vocabular...
A series made for everyone 7 and up, the series is fantastic for helping younger readers build their vocabulary (seeing as the characters use a wider vocabulary as they get older themselves), and learn important life lessons.

The series is more than a vocabulary fun fest, though. The characters argue, they suffer from jealousy and anger, they cry. They have a realiztic relationship with one another, and they learn from their arguments what is important, and that's having and keeping each other. The stories have good morals, and endings that are reached realistically (considering that they are wizards, of course).

Rowling certainly shows that life can have happy endings, but at a cost. I think this rings true for most people ... That we have to lose some people along the way. That we can't have the people with us here and now, but we can still keep them in our hearts to help us move forward. That's an important thing that some people forget.

Despite the lose, the characters learn to overcome and do what they feel is the right thing. Yes, they may make mistakes, but so does everyone else, their world or ours.

The writing style helps to get through the books quickly, but maybe too quickly. I've found myself rereading and not remembering some parts. Maybe I was too excited, but it seems better the second time around.

Overall, this is a great series for anyone, young, old, or somewhere in the middle. I highly recommend it for someone who likes adventure, fantasy with a little bit of mystery and romance thrown in. A healthy combination for any reader.

posted by AmandaStockwell on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

342 out of 458 people found this review helpful.

Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books thro

Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books through Barnes and Noble; i read a few of them as paperbacks and enjoyed them very much. i do most of my reading on Nook and would like to own and read them in that format.

As it was, I was redirected to to...
Essentially, I would like very much to purchase these books through Barnes and Noble; i read a few of them as paperbacks and enjoyed them very much. i do most of my reading on Nook and would like to own and read them in that format.

As it was, I was redirected to to a 3rd party site, inputted some CC info, found the payment declined due to my bank's no recognizing the site as secure (they are typically EXCELLENT at protecting internet security) and 30 minutes later had a phone call from my bank regarding a "potentially unauthorized transaction attempt" in the UK. Had i not been home at that time to take the call my ATM card would have been locked.

I will happily order these when they become available directly from Barnes and Noble. Until then, nope, not worth the hassle.

posted by m344 on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2601 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 131
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good to Grow On, Or For Those Who Have Already Grown

    A series made for everyone 7 and up, the series is fantastic for helping younger readers build their vocabulary (seeing as the characters use a wider vocabulary as they get older themselves), and learn important life lessons.<BR/><BR/>The series is more than a vocabulary fun fest, though. The characters argue, they suffer from jealousy and anger, they cry. They have a realiztic relationship with one another, and they learn from their arguments what is important, and that's having and keeping each other. The stories have good morals, and endings that are reached realistically (considering that they are wizards, of course). <BR/><BR/>Rowling certainly shows that life can have happy endings, but at a cost. I think this rings true for most people ... That we have to lose some people along the way. That we can't have the people with us here and now, but we can still keep them in our hearts to help us move forward. That's an important thing that some people forget. <BR/><BR/>Despite the lose, the characters learn to overcome and do what they feel is the right thing. Yes, they may make mistakes, but so does everyone else, their world or ours. <BR/><BR/>The writing style helps to get through the books quickly, but maybe too quickly. I've found myself rereading and not remembering some parts. Maybe I was too excited, but it seems better the second time around. <BR/><BR/>Overall, this is a great series for anyone, young, old, or somewhere in the middle. I highly recommend it for someone who likes adventure, fantasy with a little bit of mystery and romance thrown in. A healthy combination for any reader.

    253 out of 317 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    The Harry Potter Paperback set is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the books from start to finish.

    209 out of 261 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I believe that anyone at any age will enjoy this set. I ended up reading them again and again. Plus, the movies are totally amazing as well!

    191 out of 227 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I love it

    I accidentally stumbled upon the Harry Potter movies one day while sick and watching television. I turned it on after the show I was watching went to commercial. I was unable to return to my previous program because I became so engrossed in the story. At this point I had not read any of the books and, though I was able to follow what was going on, I was somewhat confused. After watching the most recent movie, I decided it was time to finally read the books. I have been unable to put them down since. They are extremely easy to read and even more engaging than the movies. They are also very beneficial in clearing up some of the more confusing aspects of the movies. The first three follow the movies pretty closely but after that, there are many deviations which keep it interesting. I highly recommend these books. The writing lives up to hype and provide a great way to spend a rainy afternoon!

    147 out of 172 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    5 Stars for J.K. Rowlings Harry Potter series!

    In my opinion J.K Rowlings Harry Potter series was a brilliant work of literature. Every Harry Potter book that i have read captured my attention, J.K Rowling did such a great job of absorbing the reader to read more. By the end of the first two books i was craving to read the rest. I finished the last two books in literally 8 days. J.K Rowling has a very imaginative mind, she has ideas in her books that people would never have thought of. Her amazing vocabulary usage, and unbelievable cliff-hanging ability leads many of her books to great eminence. J.K Rowlings Harry Potter books have to be the most extravagant works of literature that i have laid my hands on. Till this day i still wait for the rest of the Harry Potter Movies to come out so i can compare them to the books. I am giving J.K Rowlings Harry Potter series 5 stars.

    102 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Harry Potter series

    These are great books for children and adults to read. They lead you into a wonderful exciting world of wizards. A must read for all.

    91 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT !!!!!!

    The Harry Potter boxed set is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the books from start to finish.

    59 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a great book set

    I received this for my birthday. I am a big Harry Potter fan! I can read these books over and over again. Never get tired of them. It was a wonderful gift!

    56 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!!!1

    The first book came out when I was in the second grade and ever since I've been hooked. I've pre-ordered over half the books and seen every movie except one the day it was released. This series grabs you from the very beginning and keeps pulling you along till the very end. The characters are believable, the good guys lovable, and the villians absolutely dreadful. Rowling's writing wraps you up in the emotion and action of the story and makes your heart beat and tears come to your eyes. This is the only series of books and Rowling is the only author that has every made me cry. The Harry Potter books were my first all-time favorites and they will always be some of my favorites. I recommend everyone to read these books because they have something for everyone: fantasy and magic, action and adventure, duels, monsters, romance, struggles both inside and out, and laughter. These books are truly amazing and must reads.

    42 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Potter okay, It Rocks my Socks!

    I was skeptical. But a few years ago these books sparked my love affair with reading. Everything about them the thrill, the suspense, the friendship, the lessons, and well you get my drift. The books definitely pull you in and absorb you into this world that can't possibly exist. J.K. Rowling keeps her character so alive and with each book comes a new story. Unlike other series which seem repetitive and barely vary. With the stories came growth withing them and it was like I transitioned with them as well. From middle school to high school. I even know adults who love these books and well I love them.

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Harry Potter series

    I guess that almost everyone loves this series, so my loving it is nothing special, but I really was obssessed with it. These books were THE BEST - with action, suspense, and humor. But I think what made this series truly magical for me was how real it all seemed, the characters, their feelings, their actions, even the magical world they lived in.

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Harry Potter Box set

    We had owned these books in paperback, but when my 3rd grade son was starting to read them for school, I decided that I would get him hardbacks with the case. He displays it and loves that his books have there own box. I love these books and now that I share the passion of reading with my son, I think no book is too much when it gets my child to read and enjoy it. He has read the first 2 books and is know on book 3. These are 6-7th grade reading level so for him to read and take tests on them I am very proud that he enjoys this. He will read 3 and 4 over the summer and I know if you were to buy them you would love them too.

    32 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's Harry Potter, DUH!

    The box set is so much fun, my husband and I are both Harry Potter fans and we decided to buy the box set. It's not only a good place to keep the books, but it's cute the have on our book shelf.

    31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love the books but hate that the ebooks aren't available through

    Love the books but hate that the ebooks aren't available through B&amp;N they redirect you to the potter site to purchase. Sucks when you have a gift card to use...

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOKS! LOOKS GREAT!

    There is nothing left to say about the books themselves since their popularity even years after their publication has hardly diminished. The books are timeless. I started reading book 1 when I was twelve. I am STILL hooked. My parents have read them and I know several grandparents who have too. Anyone can enjoy these AMAZING books. I bought the trunk because it looked so adorable. I LOVE IT! The books aren't so tightly packed inside the trunk that you have to flip the box to get one out. They aren't too spaced out either but it's enough to semi-grip a book.
    It is also cheaper to buy the trunk than to buy all the books individually. I got the trunk for about as much as it would cost me to get books 1-5
    The little lock it has in front is a bit frustrating to open, but I won't pass judgment on the yet since I got my nails done and they don't fall off.
    UPS took good care of it. It arrived in great condition. The trunk was in a huge box so that it didn't get scratched or beaten. That was one of my concerns before ordering it. I didn't want the trunk to get damaged but it came in a box.
    I recommend this trunk to everyone :)

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ADDICTING.

    For anyone who hasn't read the series and has just watched the movies, the books are a MUST! The movies are awesome as well but they leave little details out. Rowling does a fantastic job weaving the various subplots into a very intricately written story. Every book from 1 to 7 ties in all the stories into one. For people who think that it is hard to understand the vernacular created from this series, obviously hasn't read the books from the start because all terminology is explained throughout the series. Absolutely one of my FAVORITE series of all time.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sheer Genius...

    Since the beginning, I have diligently followed Harry's seven year journey though Hogwarts. I appreciate J. K. Rowling for giving us such a great series to dive into and fly through the pages beside our favorite characters.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Reading rebal

    ANY BODY THAT CALLS HARRY POTTER GAY, IS GOING DOWN!

    19 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Harry

    Shut up everyone, Harry Potter is awesome




    18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!

    I started the series when I was about nine, and fell in love with it. I have always been a book worm- the kind that stay up all night to finish a book- but this series really got me started. I finished the series over a course of three years- waiting for the new books- but in all, I really read it in approximately two and a half weeks, and read the last one in two days. I adore long books, but hate to see a book not started or not finished,so these books were finished quickly, and since then I have reread the series three times! I have read more books than all of my friends, thanks to JK Rowling for getting me started.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2601 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 131