BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Classic Books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry: Quidditch through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good read

As a Harry Potter fan, I had to read this. I was not disappointed!.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to...
This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to my Harry Potter collection.

posted by Dumbledore_is_my_hero on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    As a Harry Potter fan, I had to read this. I was not disappointed!.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another collectible

    This is a set of 2 small books which are quite entertaining for the Harry Potter fan. Keep in mind these are not part of the Harry Potter series, so do not expect the same quality of them.<BR/>The only thing I did not like of these books is the front size (small).

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

    This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to my Harry Potter collection.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    0MG!!

    Great book!! I completely recommend this!! It's so funny!! Buy it and you won't regret it!! =D !!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quiddatch was interesting, Beasts was a bore

    Beasts was great for about 10 pages. Then the beasts were detailed and I felt as if I was in a classroom again. Snooze. More illustrations might have helped, and the notes by Harry and Ron were about the best thing in the book. My husband felt the same. Quiddatch was interesting throughout.

    The only good thing about this overpriced purchase is that 20% proceeds go to the ComicRelief foundation.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Prof. Snape Wouldn't Have Anything Bad to Say

    I believe that these two books were extremely informational. I didn't understand Quidditch entirely until I read Quidditch Through the Ages. Fantastic Beasts and where to find them was so great that i've read it 8 times. Some of the creatures in there are so bizzare! I hope you buy the books it will help you in the long run.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    harry potter

    i think harry potter is the best and is my favorite book it has every thing from advanture to love potions

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    potter rocks!

    OMG i love these books!The series itself i've read at least 10 times!Personally i think J.K. Rowling should write most of the books mentioned in the series'The Standard Book of Spells,A History of magic, The Dark Forces:A Guide to Self-Protection etc.' these boooks should definitely be in your purchasing list.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Magical Reading for Muggles and Magic-Folk!

    Simply fantastic. My kids can't get enough Harry Potter material. What can I say...neither can I! I purchased this as a package with a couple of other wonderful books: 1. Twilight 2. Nose Pickin' (and 50 Other Ways to Tickle Your Brain!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Fabulous compared to Extremely Fab.

    I'm a really big Harry Potter fan. I enjoyed reading the books, though Quiddich through the ages was a little dull, but i still LOVED reading about all of the creatures in Harry, Ron, and Hermione's world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    I love All the Harry Potter Books!

    Both books were really interesting. They didn't take long to read at all. Quidditch Throu... tells how Quidditch began and how it got its name. Fantastic Beasts... gives a detailed description of all the beasts in the Harry Potter Books and some that weren't mentioned. They were both great to read if you've already read the Harry Potter Books 1-4. If you are having doubts as to whether you are going to buy them, don't worry because they have interesting and in some cases funny things written in them. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I thought both of these books were very interesting and always k

    I thought both of these books were very interesting and always kept my interest. The notes that Ron, Harry, and Hermione had written in Fantastic Beasts made it entertaining and funny. The Wizarding World that J.K. Rowling has created never ceases to amaze me. I'm happy to have more Harry Potter books to add to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly recommended

    If you love Harry Potter books this is a nice addition to the collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    I read the beast one. It was ok but was just like reading a list

    I read the beast one. It was ok but was just like reading a list and had no thought. Save the disappointment and be happy with the 
    amazing HP novels. This book really isn't worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    As amazing as everything else JK Rowling does!

    I love these books :) They are great, just like everything JK Rowling has done. A great addition to my collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    A Taste of Hogwarts

    I think J.K. Rowling did a fine job with these extra books. It really gave me a something else to grab a hold to in the land of Potter. I loved being able to extend my Potter collection with these fine books. I learned where the snitch originated from and what Harry,Ron, and Hermione talk about during class. A great gift for any Potter Fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Great for anyone that is interested in the wizarding world!

    *I thought these books were truly great because they really give more insight to the world of Harry Potter- things that would be too tedious to read in the Harry Potter books, but perfect as their own books. I don't think these books were boring at all, especially not with the little bits of comic relief thrown in for good measure. Well done , Rowling, well done.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Great, i actually loved it.

    I have both books from years ago, purchased at different times at book fairs while i was still in either elementary or junior high school (i forget, but it was seriously a LONG time ago). The books were lovely, obviously not as exciting as the series because, well, they are meant to be the students' textbooks. When are textbooks ever so exciting? It was adorable how Harry and Ron (I'm not sure about Hermione) wrote in parts of the books, reflecting their teenage boy-ness haha. You should get it if you want to add to your harry potter collection, I guess, but I loved it to just learn more about everything really. Lastly, there's only so much one person can create out of their imagination so please don't be disappointed when a few paragraphs are given to a creature (or something) instead of a whole chapter. The books are meant for light reading, not full, mind boggling analysis of everything. Pardon my grammar! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    For Harry Potter Fans

    I picked up these books after reading Harry Potter 1-7, and Beedle the Bard, and still having an inkling to read MORE about Harry Potter. Although it is fun, it's not as thrilling as the books, and I suppose you can use it as a reference to the Harry Potter books, when some of the creatures are mentioned, but the descriptions of the creatures are only 1 or 2 paragraphs long, which is disappointing. Considering that these should be "Hogwarts" books, i assumed they would be filled with lots more excting concent and not just scribbles from "harry and ron" A tad disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    It was ok.

    The book were in excelent condition obviously. It was fun to read them, but not nearly as much fun as i thought i would, perhaps it was my fault and had my hopes too high after the Deadly Hollows...I think i was craving for more. I would still recommend it though, because it gave another insight to Harry's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9