Customer Reviews for

Classic Books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry: Quidditch through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good read

As a Harry Potter fan, I had to read this. I was not disappointed!.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to...
This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to my Harry Potter collection.

posted by Dumbledore_is_my_hero on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

    This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to my Harry Potter collection.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quiddatch was interesting, Beasts was a bore

    Beasts was great for about 10 pages. Then the beasts were detailed and I felt as if I was in a classroom again. Snooze. More illustrations might have helped, and the notes by Harry and Ron were about the best thing in the book. My husband felt the same. Quiddatch was interesting throughout.

    The only good thing about this overpriced purchase is that 20% proceeds go to the ComicRelief foundation.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    It was ok.

    The book were in excelent condition obviously. It was fun to read them, but not nearly as much fun as i thought i would, perhaps it was my fault and had my hopes too high after the Deadly Hollows...I think i was craving for more. I would still recommend it though, because it gave another insight to Harry's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter Books 8 & 9 These are Not....

    The Harry Potter series proper (Books 1 - 7) and even the Tales of Beadle the Bard are engrossing and enjoyable to read. These very short supplemental works, while not horrible, simple lack the magic of the others (please pardon the pun). Rowling wrote these quickly for charity, and I applaud her devotion to the honorable cause the proceeds support. What is not as laudable is the haphazard feel these books posses. The very thought that these incomplete, barely-scratch-the-surface works could be thought of as part of a standard Hogwarts education is dubious at best and impossible at worst. If we are to believe these two books really represent the academic rigors of that school, it's a wonder everyone doesn't gets perfect N.E.W.T.S. These two are worth reading only for the Harry Potter fanatic who can't get enough of that world. Unfortunately, even that fan base in unlikely to walk away happy after finishing both of these meager volumes in 1/2 an hour. Save your money, don't invest in these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    They're not the greatest

    I am a big time harry potter fan. i think that these books are a kind of cool idea on jk's part but there not absolutely wonderful and a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2