Customer Reviews for

Classic Books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry: Quidditch through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good read

As a Harry Potter fan, I had to read this. I was not disappointed!.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to...
This is a good book for any Harry Potter fan. The way J.K. Rowlings uses the books to show us more of the world of Harry Potter. The magical creatures, with Ron's notes scribbled in. The information about Quidditch that was never there. This is a really good addition to my Harry Potter collection.

posted by Dumbledore_is_my_hero on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another collectible

    This is a set of 2 small books which are quite entertaining for the Harry Potter fan. Keep in mind these are not part of the Harry Potter series, so do not expect the same quality of them.<BR/>The only thing I did not like of these books is the front size (small).

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Fabulous compared to Extremely Fab.

    I'm a really big Harry Potter fan. I enjoyed reading the books, though Quiddich through the ages was a little dull, but i still LOVED reading about all of the creatures in Harry, Ron, and Hermione's world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Complete the Collection

    Good book. Only get if you are serious about collecting as much as possible on the HP series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Great, and great quality.

    8.5 year old loves it! A great addition for any Harry Potter fan. It's not of the same quality as another Harry Potter book, but it is great if they can't get enough of Harry and have read all the books and seen all the movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    We were having Harry Potter withdrawal.

    My son went through these in less than 2 hours and then went through them all again. It was nice to have something "Potter" to peruse. He especially enjoyed Ron's written commentaries.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Entertaining and Enlightening

    I would recommend these books if you're a fan of the Harry Potter series, otherwise they're useless. They're written like schoolbooks and have 'graffiti' written in them by Harry and friends for humor. Also, the page numbers don't correspond to the main series and some fantastic beasts are left out, such as thestrals and blast-ended skrewts. Take the books lightly and don't expect them to be comparable to the main books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Very Good.

    Now I have to admit this is no where near the Harry Potter series, but the books are still pretty good. If you're a Harry Potter fan then there is no doubt you'll enjoy them! Both informing and amusing. I loved how the Quidditch through the ages actually had a card at the front that the characters from the books are mentioned. Dumbeldores introduction into the book and what J.K. wrote them for. I reccomend them to die hard Harry Potter fans, I have no doubt that you will enjoy them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    its beyond experience

    it just shows that everything from the mind could pop out if you just allow it to be,, the book triggers everyone's fantasy that just manges to put the heart in it,, outstanding, astonishing and amusing, its just a masterpiece .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Fun additions to the HP world

    A fun extra for Harry Potter fans. These books come complete with notes in the margins, just like real school books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    love it

    I love the harry potter books and dvds. they are so awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    Completing the picture

    I plan to read these now to gather more clues about the deeper mysteries implied in the series books. How were the powerfully magical House Elves enslaved to begin with? Dumbledores hair? The wand-makers eyes? Harry's grandparents? These questions and many more beg answering.......... The Hogwarts Library book I REALLY want is 'Hogwarts: A History' Any hope of that one coming out?......... If I was again a child then I would want to grow up enough one day to 'be' Hermione Granger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    From a (somewhat) adult fan of HP

    Sort of a mixed bag. All though I greatly enjoyed the intro/preface/history in Magical Beasts and Where to Find Them, there were several omissions (Bogarts for one) and the descriptions were irritatingly vague and short. However, Quidditch Through the Ages surpassed my expectations as much as the Magical Beasts fell short. The history and narrative was top notch and added a lot to the (re)reading of the novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2