Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Bible: The Menace behind the Magick

Average Rating 2
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    I Love Harry Potter!!!

    You don't have to read this book to know it's ridiculous, the title says it all. Harry Potter is a fictional character and like previously stated, NOT real. People always fear what they don't understand and the author of this book is a perfect example of that kind of person. For the person that wrote they were appalled by the Harry Potter Books, I am appalled by you! How can you sit there, criticize and judge a Fictional novel and the author? The Bible is filled with stories of the devil, murder, and betrayal. Didn't Adam eat from the forbidden tree after he was told not to by God? Didn't Cain murder his brother? Didn't Abraham murder his son? Didn't Judas betray Jesus? Didn't Jesus turn water into wine, is that a miracle or magic? The Bible is real. Harry Potter books are not, they are just fictional books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    OK. So, you're going on about rule breaking to do good things. If you have read any of the Bible...there's many stories where what they did, broke laws in many lands. They did it for greater good, though. Just because something is a law/rule, you say we obey it? OK. So, say we had another leader go, 'Hey, kill off so many of this race!' It would be good to listen to them because it's a law????? You need to look into things a bit more, before you start critisizing. Nothing in the book, teaches you to do magic. It's all fictional stuff. God works in mysterious ways. He's reaching out to those with big imaginations, that wont be interested in dull books. i.e. Look at The Lord of the Rings. Say, because there is monsters, witchcraft going on, LOTR is evil? No way, there's so many biblical refrences in there. There's evil in the world and there will be till the end. Books in the Christian stores talk about evil. Both books talk about defeating that evil! Everybody is right, we all want the Greater Story! God-fearing and people of all religions! Don't judge before you look into things alot deeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Three Things To Think About

    This book is really sad, and I am quite disappointed at the way some Christians view the Harry Potter book series. First of all, it goes without saying that Harry Potter is FICTION. It is NOT real. Second, the thought that some of the so called 'sins' in the series are glamorized and made to encourage bad behavior in children is absolutely absurd. It is common in almost every children's book out there to provide some harmless mischief, i.e Fred and George's pranking ways. Also to be pointed out, when people break the law in the wizarding world, they are moving against the Ministry of Magic, which to those who have read the book know that it is a corrupt organization. And how in the world can you classify minor sins as pure evil? Thirdly, I'd like to point to what the book is based on, and it has been said before, but this whole book is a classic representation of good vs. evil. The fact that Voldemort's character is based on Adolf Hitler should be enough to convince you where the ultimate evil threat in this book is located. He supports the killing of innocents and destruction of lives for either personal gain or simply the JOY of it. Harry Potter is the one who feels compelled to kill Voldemort because he takes a firm stance against everything that represents evil. He inspires hope in the lives of the characters in this book who have felt the evil of Voldemort, and the pain and suffering that comes with it. To put it simply, Harry Potter is nothing short of Inspirational.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Outrageous!!!!

    The author has no idea what he is writing about. Have we reverted to the ages of old where even the word witch makes people think of old women with warts and people dancing naked in the woods at night. I mean, this book is completely one sided and the author has no concept of enjoying a book for what it is. Instead he is just another person that wants to complain about something they don't understand and make money in the process. I would not suggest this book to anyone, except maybe the Salem witch hunters of the past, for they are the only ones foolish enough to believe this garbage. -A Christian Mother of 3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Has it gone too far

    Excuse me but the last time that witchcraft and religion bashed heads was in the 1600's! Rowling brought Harry Potter to life so that the 'non-magic' folk could have a rare look into a different place where they are not aloud. She was and is not trying to seduce all children into becoming satin worshiping freaks. It's utterly outragous how the religious community has acted. I'm catholic and I happen to love to read Harry Potter. So, all said and done this book is a slap in the face to people who accept thier religion and love to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    J.K. Rowling is APPALLING!

    I was APPALLED at the things I read in that book! How could J.K. Rowling have the AUDACITY to do what she did in her books??????? The morales alone are shocking, but when you add the Occultism (a.k.a., Satanism), it's just too much! It's SCARY to think that six-year-olds could be developing an interest in witchcraft and Occultism! I'm going to recommend this book to all my friends and family, but have already gotten a few people to read it. But my gosh, I am just appalled at what J.K. Rowling has done.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Oh please

    This is the most one sided book i have ever read. You can tell the author went into this one without even a thought of giving harry potter a chance. Not only that, but when the author tries to describe the plotlines of harry potter and tries to delve deeper into them, he is way off. It makes you wonder if the author even read the books or downloaded an essay online instead. Highly unrecommended not only for Harry fans, but even for non Harry fans since it will only mislead you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    A MUST FOR POTTER FANS AND THE PARENTS OF THEM

    A comprehensive review of Rowling's series dealing with the morals presented, and the influence, though subtle to the average person, that it has on readers. Well written, easy to read, and shocking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Full of Logical Holes+

    I bought this book out of pure curiosity, thinking that in spite of my liking of the Harry Potter series, that the author might have a few good points. Alas, it was not to be. He goes on and on about how Harry is a nasty little rule breaker who breaks rules for fun and shows no remourse for his actions. He neglects to mention that a few of these rule bendings are done with a legitimate reason(such as the going after the Socerors Stone, in which they try to alert a teacher first but no one belives them) and that when Harry and Hermione are caught out of bed after sending off Norbert the dragon they both feel that they deserve the punishment that they get. He also insists that the magic practiced in Harry Potter is occultic magick rather than mechanical magic. But occultic magic involves summoning someone(thing) else to do your bidding. Brewing up potions and saying Latin words while waving a short piece of wood hardly qualifies as occultic magick. Also the last 4 or 5 chapters hardly even mentioned Harry Potter, discussing instead the rising popularity of occultism in America. I really don't see why so much space should have been given to that subject when the main subject was the Harry Potter books. This book, in my opinion, had many logical holes that didn't take much effort to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    Paranoia??

    I read this book a while ago while under fire from my family about my love of the series and its characters. I bought the book myself, they did not give it to me, and I read every word of it. It is true that author brings out good points but they lack strength because the author sounds fearful...almost desperate to get his convictions across. I also found that some of the quotes he uses from the books are incorrect. It made me wonder if he really paid any attention at all to the stories or was just looking for any and everything to use to bolster his opinion. All in all it is an interesting read if for no other reason than to find out the views from the those that so harshly critique the series. I read everything I can about Harry Potter and have loved most of it. I suppose I would recommend this book to anyone who is need of entertainment or just curious to find out what some people think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Stupid Book

    THERE IS NOTHINKG WRONG WITH HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    oh please spare me

    this is terrible- it badmouths the harry potter series and twists it like something evil- lemme tell you somehing, the only evil thing in the harry potter books is voldemort. the magic makes it a very interesting book. also the review by tim is somewhat inaccurate, in saying it is lesser evil vs. greater evil- the 'lesser evil' is a side effect of fighting for good, because the rules kept them from doing what is right so they had to break the rules and sometimes thats what u have to do so get over it. also they would have done it without lying if it wouldnt have stopped them from doing good... theyre really good people but they have to break rules to do good. and besides, if they hadn't done all that,theyd be under voldemorts heel and THAT would be much worse than breaking a few rules, now wouldnt it???? if u have any problems with this, just email me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    This book should be torn off the market!

    I hate this! It's wastes the minds of readers of harry potter aka: the greatest book on earth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    disgusting

    if you this author doesn't like harry potter, he can keep it to himself. So we're being brainwashed by JK huh? I think somebody else has been brain washed... If you don't like magic, you're gonna have to clear out half the kids section. How is this book any different from so many other fantasy stories? I highy suggest you don't waste your money on this book, and go out and buy the latest instalment of the HP series instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Harry Potter is an escape

    I have read all the harry potter books many times, i love them. the harry potter are escape for children and adults.we children are faced with so much peer pressure, tring to succeed at school and in life. now especially because of whats going on in our world now we need something to take our minds of it. they are escape you read them and you feel free like you can do anything. they are so fun and exciting to read you love them and you cant put them down. everyone should read the books. you will experience a new world a world were everything seems so good and free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    OH MY GOODNESS WHAT'S THE PROBLEM!!

    I feel that this book is just criticizing the books written by JK Rowling. Millions of children all over the world love the Harry Potter Series. If they come online and search Harry Potter and find this book, it is crushing the joy they get from reading it. The Harry Potter books do not teach Magic to its readers. It enchants them and makes them love reading books in general. By spamming the Harry Potter books, the author is just extinguishing the light that burns brightly inside the minds of the children who read the books. And if anyone has a problem, send me an email

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Fear

    In an age where there are terrorists who are willing to destroy themselves and others to have their beliefs heard, when fear has so gripped the American way of life, It does not for a moment amaze me that people return to the comforts of that which they were taught as children. The tenants of the Bible, the Koran, the Torah, Tao Te Ching, Bhagavad Gita, and the Dhammapada still remain pillars of what our society is, and guide the way we live our lives. Harry Potter, by contrast is great entertainment. If you want to learn a lesson, read 'To Kill a Mockingbird.' Harry Potter does carry a message, though, of courage in the face of treachery, loyalty to friends, and belief in the goodness of self in the face of evil. It is truly unfortunate that these three most important tenants, taught in the scriptures of all religions, have been overlooked by those who fear something they most likely did not take the time to read through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2002

    Thank you so much!

    I'm 13 years old, and I'm from a good christian family. Obviously the Bible says clearly its WRONG, but most of my church friends love Harry Potter. Thanks to this book, I am now better equip to deal with the arguments that spring up over this. Hopefully more people will read this book and see the truth about Harry. Thank you Richard Abanes for making my life easier!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Tim is it?

    After reading you review, I pitty those who are so narrow-minded that they cannot see what is right in front of them. You fail to realize the fact that Harry is ALWAYS punished whenever he breaks a rule at Hogwarts. Hagrid cried at the end of the first novel claiming that he would never drink again (he felt as though he almost got Harry killed...IE: Consequences of drunkeness ARE portrayed, and looked down upon, in the novel). Harry did not defeat Voldermort on his own; he had the help of his friends and, furthermore, his mother's love. Aside from nothing bad there are good themes in the novel aswell, friendship and sacrificial love are two I'd like to point out. --Dr.MUR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Interesting...

    Though I haven't read this title as of yet (I intend to, and I gave it 4 stars because it seems to be throughly researched and well-written), there is something I would like to say. There isn't any cause for alarm for books such as Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings. They are, simply, fiction. Make-believe. Fantasy. Pretend. For those people concerned about their children practicing magick, trying to get into Hogwarts, or whatever else, if your child can't differentiate between fantasy and reality, then maybe it isn't appropriate for them to be reading at all. Children do like to play, and pretend, but that should not be mistaken for a blurred sense of reality. There isn't anything in the bible that says that being creative is wrong, and certainly nothing that says doing something one enjoys (such as reading fantasy novels) is wrong. It shouldn't be such a giant problem if the readers of fantasy books are able to understand the difference between reality and fiction. I'll admit, I'm not a big Christian, so perhaps that's why I'm having such a hard time seeing where you people are coming from. However, it's frustrating and upsetting (at least to me) that people's ignorance and closed minded ways are costing them the experience of great pieces of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2