Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

Average Rating 5
( 5111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4344)

4 Star

(479)

3 Star

(138)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(96)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Like children, parents and grandparents, all over the world, I am a cult member. Harry Potter's final saga 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' had been set upon the world. I dare say that no one will be disappointed. Harry's final adventure is a remarkable journey in...
Like children, parents and grandparents, all over the world, I am a cult member. Harry Potter's final saga 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' had been set upon the world. I dare say that no one will be disappointed. Harry's final adventure is a remarkable journey into the world of fantasy. The wedding of Fleur and Bill as it ends in chaos. The escape of our trio from the death eaters and that is only the beginning. And the many subsequent adventures. Finally ending with the final battle at Hogwarts and the defeat of Voldamort by Harry. An adventure froth with danger, fears, laughter, doubts and narrow excapes will have its readers on the edge of their seat. I was!

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

The Feel-Bad Book of The Year

The first three books were an utter joy. Then, along came the other books and death, death, death. Sometimes, those deaths made dramatic sense and carried great weight. But the author herself has admitted she wanted to 'teach children about death.' In the wor...
The first three books were an utter joy. Then, along came the other books and death, death, death. Sometimes, those deaths made dramatic sense and carried great weight. But the author herself has admitted she wanted to 'teach children about death.' In the world we live in today - neither children nor adults need such lessons. We live with them every day. So, Rowling, a brilliant and gifted storyteller went from enchanting us to preaching. In doing so, a joyous world of delight and imagination became just another downbeat, unfair, cruel disappointment. An utter disappointment to this devoted fan

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 256
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

    Like children, parents and grandparents, all over the world, I am a cult member. Harry Potter's final saga 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' had been set upon the world. I dare say that no one will be disappointed. Harry's final adventure is a remarkable journey into the world of fantasy. The wedding of Fleur and Bill as it ends in chaos. The escape of our trio from the death eaters and that is only the beginning. And the many subsequent adventures. Finally ending with the final battle at Hogwarts and the defeat of Voldamort by Harry. An adventure froth with danger, fears, laughter, doubts and narrow excapes will have its readers on the edge of their seat. I was!

    69 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows By J.K. Rowling

    The last enemy that shall be destroyed is death. This is the tone of J. K. Rowling's last book, a gripping story in which Harry Potter and his friends go through terrible struggles throughout their quest to destroy death, in the form of Voldemort. He is a cruel evil wizard that would kill anyone in his way to get what he wants. The book leaves every question answered. This book will be the best fantasy adventure book that you have ever read. This is the classic tale of good versus evil. The major conflict is the battle for a better world without evil.
    The 3 protagonists include Harry, Ron Weasly, and Hermione Granger. Ron is Harry's best friend that he met in his first year on the Hogwarts express and has stuck by him through thick and thin. Ron brings comic relief and the intrigue of romance, as he competes for the affection of Hermione. Hermione is also Harry's friend who also met him on the Hogwarts express and has always stuck up for harry and helps him figure out every problem. Hermione is the real brains of the outfit, and knows what she's doing at all times. As for Harry himself, he is the complete hero: puzzler, brave, true friend, and honorable person. He's the heart and muscle, who brings hope to everyone around the world. Just as every Batman has his Joker, Harry is confronted on all sides, and sometimes from within. Together they are like the Three Musketeers! Or like Ocean's 11, they are Harry's 3.
    The setting is the unimaginable world of wizardry, where everything is a surprise but following the invisible logic of magic. J.K. Rowling's style is both clever and mysterious. She'll draw you in with charm and leave you wondering what happened pages later. Rowling likes to leave clues for us to try to figure things out. Her pages are packed full of big visual descriptions of the atmosphere, the mood, the setting, and all the different creatures. The only thing that let me down about this story was the simple fact that it ended!
    If you came looking for complex characters and mysterious plot twists, then this is the book for you. If not, then go grab yourself a copy of People magazine and go crazy! This is Rowling's Book 7, the last of the series that wraps-up all the questions about what you thought you knew about Harry. She has taken our connection to Harry beyond what we have imagined. My final recommendation to Potter fans and critics is a big "two thumbs up." This book is for anyone to read at all ages and it will want to make you keep on reading until the very end. It looks like the end of the road for Harry, or is it?

    47 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

    33 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    The Feel-Bad Book of The Year

    The first three books were an utter joy. Then, along came the other books and death, death, death. Sometimes, those deaths made dramatic sense and carried great weight. But the author herself has admitted she wanted to 'teach children about death.' In the world we live in today - neither children nor adults need such lessons. We live with them every day. So, Rowling, a brilliant and gifted storyteller went from enchanting us to preaching. In doing so, a joyous world of delight and imagination became just another downbeat, unfair, cruel disappointment. An utter disappointment to this devoted fan

    30 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HARRY (AMAZING) POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HOLLOWS

    this book is so amazing
    it had my crying out of happiness and sadness
    would make you want to stuff your face in a pillow and yell your heart out
    would make you want to start happy dancing and jumping when you see who dies(the bad people of course)
    it's gonna have one twisting surprise involving Snape that's going to make you feel sorry for him

    29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    The Last Piece of the Puzzle...

    I have been a fan of Harry Potter ever since I saw the first movie. After I saw it, I knew I had to go get my hands on the books. The last piece of the Harry Potter series was perfect. J.K. Rowling knew exactly what she was doing. She tied up all of the loose ends and she had an answer for everything. Some may say that this book had too many deaths... I just want to let those people know that, if they hadn't noticed, they are in a WAR. With war, comes many deaths obviously. Anyways, this book kept me on the edge of my seat for most of the time I was reading it, and I know that this book gave me what felt like a real ending to a great series.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Every Potter Fan must read this!

    So, you've invested loads of time into this book series your friends told you about. It details the life of this one wizard in a harsh society. He comes off as a nerd, yet he is the only salvation for the magical world. You have come to love this protagonist, and his friends always cheer you up. Finally, after the long hours of enjoying 6 books of Harry Potter, you arrive at the finale. A bit apprehensive, you open the book, and instantly your dreams are fulfilled.

    This was the basic journey of many Harry Potter enthusiasts, and all were satisfied by the final installment of the Harry Potter series. Rowling beautifully wrapped up the series with a smart, interesting, touching, and gratifying book. Harry Potter is faced with a decision: return to Hogwarts, or Defeat Voldemort. Ultimately, Harry chooses the logical and necessary path and searches for the fragments of the Dark Lord's soul. On the way, Harry encounters numerous traps, obstacles, and intense situations. Harry is faced with many unnerving tasks, and learns more about his past in anticipation with the climactic battle with Voldemort.

    This book is separated from Rowling's others because of her bravery in this final novel. She seems to have no qualms about hitting the soft points of the reader, killing off numerous vital characters and allowing others to suffer. The reader is instantly heartbroken but cannot help but enjoy the events that unfold. Additionally, Rowling weaves a story that is just as captivating as the earlier stories, constantly reminding you that the end is near. The mood is never too gloomy, and the fear that one has for Harry is always met with the happiness of his friends. In my opinion, this book represents her best writing because it leaves nothing behind and gave me the most closure I have ever experienced.

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The number one Harry Potter Fan in 6th Grade and Glendale, Arizona

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was written by J. K. Rowling. The main character is Harry Potter. So far, he has escaped Lord Voldemort 5 times (before this book starts). In the beginning of the book Harry is being moved to a safehouse. He meets Lord Voldemort when he has almost finished his journey ( to the safehouse).In the main part of the book he is looking for and destroying horcruxes* with his best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. At the end of the book Harry meets Lord Voldemort yet again for the final time. It ends at the only place Voldemort and Harry both could ever call home, Hogwarts. Save your fears, Harry does survive. But does Voldemort? This book takes place mostly in Britain. The time it takes place is+ 1997-1998. I think the underlying message is that good can always defeat evil even if the chances seem that the chances are 0.01 to 99.99. I really enjoyed this book. One of the things I liked most about it was that you never really knew what would happen next, and like all the Harry Potter books it left you wanting more. This book reminded me of our economy today. The economy is affecting everyone and for most people it's not in a good way. There are a lot of people working to make the economy better. Voldemort has quite a few followers and those are the only people his power is helpful to. Everyone wants Voldemort's power diminished (except for the Death Eaters (Voldemort's followers)) and everyone is doing their personal best to work against him. *horcrux= An object in which a piece of a dark wizard's soul that he/she has put there that can only be destroyed by putting it beyond magical repair

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Book of my First Favorite Series

    A lot happens very quickly in this book but it's still easy to follow. The struggles, internal and external, are interesting to read, to think about, and they keep you interested. It also has the excitement of knowing that the enemy is being weakened while they believe that they are gaining power. The siege of Hogwarts adds tension and there are some exiting moments that you'll just have to read to learn about. It's really a good book with a good conclusion that could lead to more but probably wont.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Greatest HP Book Ever!

    This book is a great finish to the Harry Potter Series. It was the most exciting of all the books. Anyone ages 9 and up would like this book.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Harry Potter

    Best Harry Potter of them all! What an amazing series! I am so sad its over, but so glad all the books are out so I can reread them all the time. I love me some Harry Potter!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Conclusion!!

    I really liked how it ended. The book was very enjoyable to read! I recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy!! The book i must admit was a little slow sometimes but other than that it had a little bit of romance comedy and action!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    This book is by FAR the best in the series. I read it last year and I can't wait to forget everything so I can read it again. I couldn't stop reading the book and I really hope J.K. Rowling make a new series. Harry Potter: Next Generation?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Amazing Book 10/10

    I have grown up with the Harry Potter series. I have read them many times and everytime I reread them i find something new that I did not notice before. I hope that I can continue reading these books and finding things out about them that I did not notice before. The way that J.K. Rowling wrote the book made it very interesting. There were a lot of plot twists and also romances put into it. There was a lot of action but there were sweet moments put in as well. I wish there was another sequal to this book because I would love to read more from J.K. Rowling. The characters all have very distinct personalities that give the book a good variety. I would deffinatly rate this book a 10/10. I can't wait for the 2nd half of the movie to come out, I hope it is going to be as good as the book.

    -Amelia R

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    LOVELOVELOVELOVE IT!!!!!

    I love this book! I cried at the end!! *spoiler alert* my fave parts are when Ron stabs the locket with Griffendores sword bc he's was so sweet! and another one is when the Death eaters capture them and the were torchering Hermione (bc, again, Ron was being sweet), and......well I just loved the whole book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    OM FREAKY-FREAKIN G

    if you like harry potter, this is the book for you! It has adventure, romance, and most awesome of all-MAGIC!!!!!!!!! this book is a must-read... i have a copy and i have read it over 15 times! i love it, andit is epic!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The best ending of a series EVER!!!!

    This was the best book I have ever read!!! No book will ever match it. There are some sad parts in it but the greatness of it overlaps it! It made me so sad that its the last one but at least we have the movies!!! I'm gonna reread the whole series soon... I recommend this series to anyone who hasnt read it. Thank you j.k. Rowling for introducing the world of Harry potter!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    A sad book

    There are spoilers below so please stop reading is you don't want to know what happens.

    I first read this final book in the Harry Potter saga the day it came out. Read it in one sitting. Needless to say, I don't remember much. It was a late night of reading. So I've read it again. I remember Rowling stating that 3 main characters would die in this book. However, I felt there were more. Death hits right of the bat with Hedwig, this was very sad, poor owl. Then Mad-Eye, Fred Weasly, Tonks, Lupin, Snape, Voldermort, Dobby, and Harry. The Horcruxes were much more understandable and Albus' black hand was explained as well. I recommend you read the books one right after the other. All the Horcruxes and other little things from the previous books come together in this book. It's a very moving book as Harry has to face his own death. Once the story of Snape is revealed, it's hard to hate him completely. Everything he did for love of a woman. Rowling did a great job with Snape; nasty as he was he turns out to be a bit of a hero.

    Once Voldermort is killed, the book then shifts into the Epilogue which takes place 19 years later. I wish there was more to this. Draco and his family survived and he and Harry meet each other on platform 9 ¾ when sending off their children. However, all that is exchanged is a nod between them. I'd like to have seen more, after all, a big part of the last book and this book revolved around him appointed to killing Dumbledore. It would have been nice to know what exactly Ron and Harry do now that they are adults. Who's the new headmaster of Hogwarts, and what of Luna?

    I've read on the net Rowling is going to write another book in the series, but it could be 10 years from now. I'm eager for another book on Harry Potter as I do truly love these books. Movies are pretty good too, although the books are better (but that's normal for movies made from books).

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

    The author has never been able to re-capture the magic of the first book in the HP series, and the books have steadily declined until this book was horrible and unreadable. So I bought the book on CD and even Jim Dale sounded bored reading it. I can't imagine 2 movies on this book unless one of them is completely about Harry camping, because he did more camping than anything else. This book wins the award for the worst final book of a series.

    7 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Potter, RIP

    So, we all know it wasn't going to be the greatest beacuse it is the last Harry Potter book. It lived up to its standards, being Harry Potter, but the thing that really bugged me was the ending. I really wish there was more . . . I want to know what happens to EVERYONE!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 256