Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4404)

4 Star

(485)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(101)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Like children, parents and grandparents, all over the world, I am a cult member. Harry Potter's final saga 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' had been set upon the world. I dare say that no one will be disappointed. Harry's final adventure is a remarkable journey in...
Like children, parents and grandparents, all over the world, I am a cult member. Harry Potter's final saga 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' had been set upon the world. I dare say that no one will be disappointed. Harry's final adventure is a remarkable journey into the world of fantasy. The wedding of Fleur and Bill as it ends in chaos. The escape of our trio from the death eaters and that is only the beginning. And the many subsequent adventures. Finally ending with the final battle at Hogwarts and the defeat of Voldamort by Harry. An adventure froth with danger, fears, laughter, doubts and narrow excapes will have its readers on the edge of their seat. I was!

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 237 people found this review helpful.

The Feel-Bad Book of The Year

The first three books were an utter joy. Then, along came the other books and death, death, death. Sometimes, those deaths made dramatic sense and carried great weight. But the author herself has admitted she wanted to 'teach children about death.' In the wor...
The first three books were an utter joy. Then, along came the other books and death, death, death. Sometimes, those deaths made dramatic sense and carried great weight. But the author herself has admitted she wanted to 'teach children about death.' In the world we live in today - neither children nor adults need such lessons. We live with them every day. So, Rowling, a brilliant and gifted storyteller went from enchanting us to preaching. In doing so, a joyous world of delight and imagination became just another downbeat, unfair, cruel disappointment. An utter disappointment to this devoted fan

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Every Potter Fan must read this!

    So, you've invested loads of time into this book series your friends told you about. It details the life of this one wizard in a harsh society. He comes off as a nerd, yet he is the only salvation for the magical world. You have come to love this protagonist, and his friends always cheer you up. Finally, after the long hours of enjoying 6 books of Harry Potter, you arrive at the finale. A bit apprehensive, you open the book, and instantly your dreams are fulfilled.

    This was the basic journey of many Harry Potter enthusiasts, and all were satisfied by the final installment of the Harry Potter series. Rowling beautifully wrapped up the series with a smart, interesting, touching, and gratifying book. Harry Potter is faced with a decision: return to Hogwarts, or Defeat Voldemort. Ultimately, Harry chooses the logical and necessary path and searches for the fragments of the Dark Lord's soul. On the way, Harry encounters numerous traps, obstacles, and intense situations. Harry is faced with many unnerving tasks, and learns more about his past in anticipation with the climactic battle with Voldemort.

    This book is separated from Rowling's others because of her bravery in this final novel. She seems to have no qualms about hitting the soft points of the reader, killing off numerous vital characters and allowing others to suffer. The reader is instantly heartbroken but cannot help but enjoy the events that unfold. Additionally, Rowling weaves a story that is just as captivating as the earlier stories, constantly reminding you that the end is near. The mood is never too gloomy, and the fear that one has for Harry is always met with the happiness of his friends. In my opinion, this book represents her best writing because it leaves nothing behind and gave me the most closure I have ever experienced.

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Potter, RIP

    So, we all know it wasn't going to be the greatest beacuse it is the last Harry Potter book. It lived up to its standards, being Harry Potter, but the thing that really bugged me was the ending. I really wish there was more . . . I want to know what happens to EVERYONE!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SO GOOD!

    My friends had always wanted me to read the Harry Potter series. I didn't, at first, because it was like a year until the last movie came and I had already seen all the other films. Finally, I decided to read them!!!! I am so glad I did because it really was like the best children's book ever! It's so cool how Rowling makes up fun new words. My favorite thing about this book is the plot. It takes so many twists and turn. The last book was defenatly a page turner. I LOVE HARRY POTTER!!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    A War between Creatures

    Introduction The author's purpose is to entertain her readers with a story about friends who go to a wizard school. I wanted to write a review about this book to show readers that the author met her purpose. Description and summary of main points The seventh book in the series follows the main character, Harry Potter, on a journey with his friends to find and destroy the Dark Lord. A war has started between a magical world hidden in London. The Dark Lord, or Lord Voldemort, has taken over the Ministry of Magic making the once pleasant place like a dictatorship. Harry and his friends risk their lives to save the wizard world and our world too. Evaluation I thought the book was very interesting and full of action and excitement. It was full of thrilling adventures that all took place in a single year of someone's life. The author definitely met her purpose by entertaining her readers with a well thought out story. The readers can relate to the characters in the book but some of the characters were rude to others and caused trouble. The book can get boring at times because of the book's length and detail but overall it is an excellent book. Conclusion One should read this book because it's full of adventure and it's a thrilling book. The author meets her purpose and the characters are very relatable to the readers. Harry and his friends feel almost real after reading this very detailed book and I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Most Superior Book Ever!

    This is the best book ever!!! You should read it! It is a very interesting book. Harry Potter needs to face You Know Who or He Who Must Not Be Named or Lord Voldemort. He needs to find and destroy all the Horcruxes so the dark Lord will be gone. Harry `s friends help him. The Death Eaters are on their way to capture Harry, Hogwarts is in danger too. Harry must save Hogwarts and himself. Professor Dumbledore is already dead, so he can`t help him. Harry finds the secret of his Potions Master and Headmaster, Severus Snape. Will Harry survive or he will die? Hope he survives. Harry also has to save his classmates and friends. Harry is on a mission that Professor Dumbledore left him with his two friends, Ronald Weasley, and Hermione Granger. He finally Albus Dumbledore `s brother, Aberforth and Aberforth gave him some tips. He reads "The Tale of the Three Brothers "and the Deathly Hallows. He learns what the Elder Wand, Resurrection Stone, and the Cloak of Invisibility does. It is a very scary story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Loved it till the end!

    I thought the Harry Potter series was vastly entertaining, until I got to the last book. I felt the last several chapters of this book were rather contrived. I especially did not like the epilogue, I felt Rowling tried to make too many ends tie together. I teach 7th grade and reccomend the series to my kids all the time, Rowling really got a whole new generation of readers into the love of books, so I can't fault her too much!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Hey catie

    Stop using this as a dating post stupid! Why dont you get s boyfriend in real life instead of ruining our review column because you want to have fake sex?! Gosh you sre such a jerk

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Book title and author: Harry Potter and The deathly hallow Title

    Book title and author: Harry Potter and The deathly hallow
    Title of review: My Review of this book
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4.5

    Introduction
    This was the last book of the Harry Potter series and it was a thriller. It involved harry killing Voldimore the most feared wizard ever. Harry is also dating Ron’s Sister so this book is action packed and a romance at the same time.
    Description and summary of main points
    There are many points to this book the main points are how to kill Voldimore and how to find ways to kill Voldimore. There is also Ginny to worry about. The way to kill Voldimore is, well you have to destroy all seven pieces of his soul Harry killed one when he was a baby and the spell deflected off of him. Now there is one part in Voldimore and Harry has to find the others and destroy them to. He finds and destroys them he comes to Hogwarts where he went to school and where Voldimore is trying to find Harry and kill him. Harry finds him in the grand hall and they fight Voldimore casts a killing curse Adavra Kadavra and Harry reflects it and it kills Voldimore.
    Later on that day he finds Ginny. In the Epilouge they get married have three children they Name them Dumbledore after Harry’s once head at Hogwarts he names the other two James and Lilly after his dead Parents who were killed by Voldimore a long time ago
    Evaluation
    This was a great book. I would personally recommend this book for anyone who wants a good thriller. You would have to read the other books though. This book was long I will tell you that but if you can hold on its well worth it.
    Conclusion
    Harry had to go through many things to get where he is but he did it well and I think it was a great book. This book is a thriller for a book. It’s a great book for the end to a phenomenal series. I would read this series over and over if I could but I know what would happen in the end. I guarantee you will like this book.
    Your final review
    This book was action packet and romance was there but on the side. This book was tragic and thrilling at the same time. Ron loses one of his brothers in this book. There is also a wedding in this book. It has a good mix of everything I highly like this book and would read any series J.K. Rowling wrote about harry or any of these people again.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Loved it

    I REALLY liked the Harry Potter books, J.K. Rowling is definetly a great writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Why...

    is this book and the rest of the series NOT available in Ebook format?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    A Fantastic Way To End The Series

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling, was the seventh and final installment of the Harry Potter Series. In this, Harry is still mourning over the death of their beloved headmaster, Albus Dumbeldore. With Harry's 17th birthday coming up, everyone in the order must help keep Harry safe, before he becomes of age. Harry, Ron, and Hermoine are still o the mission of finding all of Voldemort's horcruxes. With an ending that everyone was waiting for, but with twists and turns throughout the whole book, this book is a really great closer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Exquisite!

    This is outstanding! Harry Potter makes me feel safe, secure, confident, and positive. It also gives me a laugh once in awhile.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My daughter just finished this book

    She is a Harry Potter fan and yes, she really liked this book- She likes action adventure stories.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's good, but has not lived up to expectation (Spoilers)

    Ok, overall I had enjoyed this book. It sucks you in and makes you want to keep on reading. Infact I think I failed a couple of quizzes because I was reading this book and not studying :) But there are two problems with the book 1. Way longer then it needs to be 2. The ending makes no scence at all.

    First it goes so slowly at parts. Hermoine and Ron spend half the time fighting in the tent while harry was busy feeling bad for himself. Because of this it makes you want to read on but gets irritating after a while.

    Now the ending. What the Heck?! He goes to heaven I guess, and has a whole conversation with a dead guy and returns right back!? I don't get it. Definitely not the ending you expected or wanted. I am extremely disappointed.

    I would give all the other books 5 stars. If I could I would give the 6th book 100 stars. But this book was just not as good. I mean there are good parts and the romance and epilouge are pretty good but thats all I can say really. Good read just don't excpect anything amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An Unforgettable Finish

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was not my favorite of the Potter series, but it was still amazing end. J.K. Rowling is definitely a fantastic author, and I applaude her for how well put-together the entire series was. Her writing and storytelling throughout the series improved tremendously, turing a fun children's story into a series awed by all ages. Her foreshadowing and little clues and side-plots left in previous books were all too clever, and by pulling them all together in this final book, it made it all the more exciting for me to pick them out as I reread the series again and again. Rowling also has an incredible talent for creating real characters, even in a fantasy world. Even the most trivial characters each had their own different personalities, and the flaws, weaknesses, and emotions displayed by all characters are factors many other authors fail to include in their books. <BR/>The overall plot of The Deathly Hallows, as well as all the side-plots, were extremely suspenceful, hooking you on and not letting go until you turn the final page. So many questions left unanswered, so many crucial moments we do not yet understand, this book covers them all, closing all gaps and leaving us breathless in amazement. Although we are drawn in by the imaginative world Rowling creates, there is so much more to this book, and series in general, than just a fantasy story. Deeper meanings are hidden along the lines, showing the very worst of human nature, as well as the very best. To those who have not yet read Harry Potter, this may be difficult to understand, considering that you only know the summary of this series, and may or may not be intersted in it. But let me tell you that this series is great for fantasy lovers, fun for book readers, and magnificent for anyone with an open and understanding mind. It's not just another fantasy series afterall, and it will truely capture your heart and mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    I know who kil ( you know who)

    People though it was hp but it was neil and himself Neil because the snake was part of him and himself by kill him which is in hp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2015

    Bruh

    Bruh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2015

    bruh

    Yall are cray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Super pie day Good but sad book

    Dobby, fred and that wand-making dude (no not the guy who made harrys wand, the other one )dies. So sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Percy Jackson is better

    OKAY SON, YOU GOT IT?

    P.S. Eskisehirspor rules

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25