Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4)

Average Rating 5
( 5285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4507)

4 Star

(559)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

8.99? 2.77? 0.00? .4.87? 1.00? 2.99? 1.99? How muchis it?

I currently still have to read this book but im playing on gramma's nook and she wont let me anything over $1.99. That *****. Bummer this book might be $1.99 and I dont know it, if I buy this book and it was 3.99 im grounded and that *****. I wish this nook was mine. An...
I currently still have to read this book but im playing on gramma's nook and she wont let me anything over $1.99. That *****. Bummer this book might be $1.99 and I dont know it, if I buy this book and it was 3.99 im grounded and that *****. I wish this nook was mine. And F.W.I, gramma says if im spending $3.99 on a book its wasting money.

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 265
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

    71 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    This is my favorite book of the Harry Potter series. The story is very absorbing, and I like the addition of many new characters in the book. Rowling gives us a glimpse further into the world of wizardry with the integration of the other magic schools. In my opinion, a very interesting read, with many twists and turns not seen in any of the Harry Potter books earlier in the series. I can read it over and over again and not get tired of it. I love it!

    65 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    Harry Potter

    In this fourth edition the main character Harry Potter is now 14 years old. Of course, Harry is still that same boy from book one with the lightning bolt scar, only now he is slightly older and he begins to understand the challenges that face him ahead. It seems like just another year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry until the Tri-Wizard Tournament is announced and Harry is mysteriously entered into the tournament as a contestant. The Tri-Wizard Tournament is a magical competition that tests the contestant's bravery, knowledge, and magical skill. Along with the tournament readers are introduced to two other magical schools (Durmstrang and Beauxbatons) and get a rare glimpse of the wizarding world during the Quidditch World Cup. Again, Rowling combines her vivid details of the wizarding world to paint an amazing picture that allows the reader to revel in even the smallest details that make Harry Potter so special. Along with the death-defying Tri-Wizard Tournament, Harry must now focus on the return of Lord Voldamort and his death eaters. Once again, Rowling also introduces a few new characters into the story, both good and evil. A new Defense Against the Dark Arts professor arrives at Hogwarts and some problems are created by house-elves throughout the story. The positive about this book is that they first third of the book spent reviewing the previous three Harry Potter books, so even if you have not read them you can start at book four and have a good idea of what is happening. Also, many points of the plot are left open leaving room for book five.

    54 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Harry Potter

    Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling is about a young wizard tryin to complete his training at Hogwarts School, of witchcraft and wizardry. After seeing the movie and reading the book I noticed that J.K. Rowling and the director had different interpretations on some of the ways the story went. Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to leave the Dursleys home, to venture to be part of the famous Quidditch World Cup with his friends Ron and Hermione. He attends, but something strange happens at the World Cup. Will Harry overcome this? After his adventure Harry returns to Hogwarts to find out that the famous Tri-Wizard Tournament is held at Hogwarts. During the Tournament Harry a young 4th year student must overcome certain obstacles like learning new spells, dealing with people such as Malfoy, and asking his crush to the dance before anyone else does. Harry faces many problems in this latest adventure. like learning new spells and dealing with a persistent. Harry Potter would like to have a normal 14 year old life, but can not due to his lifestyle of being a wizard and all the adventures he has during his years at Hogwarts.

    36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Harry Potter

    Best series ever! I was with Harry all the way through. Good job Harry. Thanks J. K. Rowling for doing what no author mastered before, in fact, you did it better. Thanks for changing the way I read. Thanks for changing the world.

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is one of my favorites!! As soon as i started i couldnt put it down! This book is a must read! Those of you who think the Harry Potter series have to long books dont let that stop you!! As soon as you start you wont be able to put it down!! This book shows how much darker the series is geting which makes it even better!!!! READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    thrilling book

    Even though a lot of the book was centered around Quidditch, I liked this book a lot. As always, the HP books catch my attention at the very beginning. This book was awesome =)

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    By Anonymous on Mar.27,2012

    LOVE IT!

    21 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    J.K. Rowling is Brilliant

    I cannot give enough praise to do this series justice. So, here is how I have summed it up: Harry Potter makes my world a better place. This series will become a classic that will transcend time. And to J.K. Rowling: You are brilliant and do not just write young adult books - you write with true literary flair & you create characters that grow close to your heart. THANK YOU!

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Awsome book

    Best book ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You must read!!!!!!!

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    WARNING: This Book Contains TOTAL AWESOMENESS

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is a fantasy novel written by J. K. Rowling. This an outstanding and extraordinary book due to its major plot twists and vividly described characters. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire takes place in London, England, at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, during modern times.
    Harry Potter, the protagonist, was suspiciously elected to take part in the Triwizard Tournament: an event so dangerous that it did not take place for almost 100 years. Despite his young age and lack of experience, Harry must do three treacherous tasks with three other wizards while staying alive. Harry, at first, attends the Quidditch World Cup with his friends Ron and Hermione. However, the Dark Mark appears in the sky, signifying that Voldemort, the Dark Lord, is out there, and most likely wanting to kill Harry. At Hogwarts, Harry's name was purposely put into the Goblet of Fire with dark intent, making it mandatory that he takes part in the Triwizard Tournament. Ron does not approve of this, because he thinks that Harry did this to become famous. But after the first task, he and Ron make up, after Ron realizes that Harry wouldn't want to risk his life to get attention.
    J. K. Rowling writes Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire in a third person limited point of view, so the reader only knows Harry's thoughts. She uses many important ways of describing characters, besides descriptive paragraphs: for example; the usage of the other characters' opinions to describe someone. I, for one, highly recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy. However, in order to get the full thrill out of this book, one should read the first three books of the Harry Potter series. After you pick this book up, you will not be able to put it down.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    By Anonymous on April 8, 2012

    Harry Potter is one of my favorite books fallowed by Twilight and The Hunger Games. It tells the sad yet amazing story ofThe Boy Who Lived and all of this friends and allies. Harry, with friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger cheering him on, accidently enyers the Triwizard Tournament. A tournament being held at Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry enters alongside famous quidditch seeker and Durmstrang student Viktor Krum, part veela and Beauxbatons student Fleur Delacour, and Hufflepuff Cedric Diggory. Read the rest of the book to find out who wins the Triwizard Cup.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Amazing!!

    I have read all the books and by far this is the best.
    J.K Rowling brings magic to the world with still keeping the insight on friends and how they always come back togeth in the end.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Amazing!

    My mom bribed me to read the HP series. At first I was skeptical of this series. I thought it would be a boring from the first page and that it was a waste of paper. Then I read the first book. It was not what I expected. I amazed how fast I changed my mind about the series. It was amazing!In this book Harry does a lot of amazing things. He goes to the Quidditch cup,mysteriously enters the Triwizard tournament, and watches a dark wizard return. I liked this book a lot because it was like being along side with someone in my boring, predictable life. Also it was very well written. I think anyone looking for a great book about magic, bravery, courage, and friendship should read this. It is truly an amazing book. Read it!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is a tale of a young teen that has a pretty rough life. His parents gone and is living with other relatives who pay him little mind at all. Oh, and of course he can preform magic. He goes to school at a place called "Hogwarts" and is constantly faced with vigorous challenges. He is being hunted down by other people of his sort, referred to as outlaws. Eventually he is going to have to find his way around undetected, as not to be seen or heard. And then is faced with a corrupted man and nearly kills Harry, but Harry manages to escape by his wits and skills far from the grasps of any other wizard.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Very nice story I want to say hello to Emma a big fan of the book

    I 'ts good. Read it today!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Superb to higher than highest level

    Splendid! You will not be dissapointed. Thisisthe best Harry Potter ever!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    The best!!!

    I just want to say, Joanne,you are the best writer ever!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    HP rocks!

    Get this book!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Harry potter 4

    This book is great i love it i am currently reading the harry potter sires im almost on the 5 one . I <3 harry potter

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 265