Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4)

Average Rating 5
( 5245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4467)

4 Star

(560)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Harry potter as good as it seems? I THINK NOT

Dear Parents, I am here to inform you that my children love harry potter but didnt not like the 4th one at all. They tried to get into the story but it was just to unrealistic so please take my advice and think alittle more before you buy another book that has been ov...
Dear Parents, I am here to inform you that my children love harry potter but didnt not like the 4th one at all. They tried to get into the story but it was just to unrealistic so please take my advice and think alittle more before you buy another book that has been over rated ~Thank You~

posted by Anonymous on May 1, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    8.99? 2.77? 0.00? .4.87? 1.00? 2.99? 1.99? How muchis it?

    I currently still have to read this book but im playing on gramma's nook and she wont let me anything over $1.99. That *****. Bummer this book might be $1.99 and I dont know it, if I buy this book and it was 3.99 im grounded and that *****. I wish this nook was mine. And F.W.I, gramma says if im spending $3.99 on a book its wasting money.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Ehhh Eh

    I like sorcers stone better

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    CASSIDY THE AWESOME

    An ok book. It was not as good as I thought it would be. If you are into Harry Potter books read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Harry potter

    Harry pogter is my favorite book seris but some tines it gets boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Eight

    I didnt think there was enough auction. Its a little slow moving. Id you really want a good book read i am number four my pitticus lore. Youll love is. Thats got some fast moving story line!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    How do you buy it

    Okay so i want to buy the book with my nook gift card but it says i need to go through pottermore or something.... idk how to even buybit plz help

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Harry needs an editor

    This Harry Potter Book needed a good editor. Though it is a good read in general, it should have been tighter, shorter - and the punctuation errors drove me crazy. Let's hope Rowlings, so great a tale-teller has better editing in the future for the 5th book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    WHAT REALLY HAPPENED

    Look. It is my painful duty to disillusion you all. JK Rowling polished the first three books to perfection. She obviously went over the books again and again, which is probably why I could go over them with a microscope and still find more fascinating and witty details. Then the public happened. JK said she would never allow publicity to affect how she wrote. She did. The public hustled her to crank out this book in a year. The result: she fell down on the job. Don't get me wrong. I think this story had the most potential of all three of the books, as evidenced by certain brilliant scenes and characters. (The Egg and the Eye, Rita Skeeter's Scoop, Veritaserum). But to tell the truth the plot was unshaped. If Moody had been polished up as well as Trelawney in the last book, then we would have seen some real fireworks. But JKR did not perfect her work. She once said, "Many trees must die to make a really good book." The public was so ravenous for her to finish that she did the unthinkable. She rushed. Which is why the fourth book doesn't have the finely crafted Harry Potter polish of the first three. But the book rode on the wings of the other three and its raw unformed rollercoaster emotion scenes garlanded lavish support from the fans who swore alleigance to Harry Potter based on the first three books. So JKR never realised what a terrible mistake she made.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Bree

    Never read these books, never will

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Sorry, I Honestly Cannot Join The Lovefest On This One

    After having read all four books, I found this one came up well short of the others. Yes, it had some of the excitement of the others, but, I found about 400 of the 700 pages to be, well ---- boring. And, maybe it's only me, but, it seemed as though I was reading a copycat of J.K. Rowling's style, not J.K. Rowling herself. Still, because books 1, 2, and 3 were great, I'm looking forward to book 5. While I'm waiting for "Harry Potter Book 5" to come out, I have already read another fantasy, but one that is a historical fantasy, called "West Point" by Norman Thomas Remick. I recommend it while you're waiting for the next "Harry Potter".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Wanted to love it

    Sorry didn't care a whole bunch for #4. I really really wanted to but the formula is getting old. I'm having much more fun with the new books I'm reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    Good, but not the best!!!

    I read the first 3 books in 3 days and thought they were brilliant! this one was good too but maybe a little long winded. I found the end with all the explanations a little confusing. I would recomend this set of books to anyone. I normally read much more challenging books but this is quite good too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    HARRY POTTER RULES!

    The best book yet. I really like all of it. It can get you sucked in very quickly. You finally get to read about an adult Quidditch game. The person who puts Harry's name in the goblet is very surprising. J. K. Rowling is an excellent author. I finshed the book in two days because I was reading it all day. I'm the biggest Harry Potter fan in the world and I got this book on the first day it came out. My mom also enjoys the series and my sister is almost on the third book. I recommend this book to anyone of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    HPOTTER IS SOOOOOOOOO COOL!!

    I loved this book soooo much!!!!!!!!!!!! I think that this book should win like, 10 awards!!!!!!!!!!! Once I picked the book up I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!!!!!!! It was interesting and exciting! I don't want to ruin the book but, there is a major twist in the story. If you have'nt read this book yet what are yuo waiting for?! This book deserves the best ratings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    A Magical Series

    It's quite creative. Although honestly, I must say I'm not really impressed. I think that the previous three books were better in various ways. Nevertheless, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is a good book. And is a very educational and entertaining book especially for young readers (although I know a lot of adults who adore the book as well). I still wished that it was better than what it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    not really what i expected

    i didn't really enjoy the book as much as the others... disappointing... i think this was a bit 'boring'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    Not that great, but pretty good

    Definetly not my favorite of the series. It's long, and the plot more intricate than the others, but this doesn't really make it better. The length leaves room for more character development, but the plot is somewhat lacking. It's the traditional 'school boy' story with some magic thrown in. I was expecting much better. Despite the seemingly overwhelming length, the reading is very fast, and the print is big.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    lot of violence than book #1,2&3

    there are many violences in the book. Maybe not violence bu tmany death.i give it a three stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    Review of Goblet of Fire

    Goblet of Fire was a good book, but I do admit that it was not 'great.' The book seemed too long to be a 'children's' book, and seemed to be targeted at the more older audience instead of the younger audience that it was meant to be for. I really enjoyed the former 3 books, and did like G/o/F, but just think that the next book should be shorter. Anyone who is not use to long books should not read this, but anyone who does, well, go to your nearest store and pick it up...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Awesome Book!

    OUTSTANDING! THIS BOOK DESERVES NOT FIVE BUT SOMETHING MORE LIKE FIVE BILLION STARS! This is by far the best book I have ever read, along with the other three, and I HIGHLY encourge it to other readers who enjoy reading! This book has mystery, adventure and humor all stirred up into one big couldron making the perfect potion! J.K. Rowling is the best author I have ever known, and I hope she writes more than a billion books on Harry Potter, although I don't think there should be a movie on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7