Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Soundtrack

    For those of you who haven't discovered the joy and beauty of the movie soundtrack, you can start here and become hooked! The Harry Potter soundtracks are amazing and the perfect study music if you're a student. You won't regret the purchase of any of these CDs!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter

    This is a really good soundtrack with many memorable songs, all of which flow nicely with each other. The only jarring note are the rock songs from the ball at the end of the CD. I like them, but not when I'm listening to classical. I made a copy of the CD without those and mostly listen to that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    First listen, I was very annoyed, but felt guilty for not enjoying it. I listned some more, and discovered that it wasn't to terrible. Harry in Winter and Hogwart's March are highlights. Nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!

    I listened to the CD and thought, OMG!!! The Cd actually makes you want to be in the movie to feel the pain and sorrow, happiness and glee. That's what happened to me. I recommend you to buy the CD, even if you think you won't like the movie. Then you will want to see the movie!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Clearly Partick Doyle is not John Willianms. But Really? It was

    Clearly Partick Doyle is not John Willianms. But Really? It was time for a change! Williams did a great job creating the original Harry Potter Theme but his spin on the music was to giddy to continue into the part of the series where is started to get dark and veer away form simple children's books. His music for the Prisoner of Azkaban did not have the amount of aery darkness required and i id not feel the same chill in the movies that i got in Doyle's music. Doyle did a great job of helping the score grow with the series and the actors and he did an excellent job of keeping the original Harry Potter theme but in the mean time changing it up a bit so it wasn't the same Hedwig's Theme three times in a row.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Ignore the stupid songs at the end and this is one of the BEST!!

    Why they tacked those stupid songs written for the Yule Ball at the end I have no idea. That said, the actual score for this film is fantastic. Doyle created many different haunting and memorable themes for this film. I've heard the scores for the first 5 films and this is definately one of the best! I listen to this Goblet of Fire CD all the time - it's that good (minus the "rock" songs at the end).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a new score by a differnt composer who did the music justice for harry potter #4

    patrick doyle was sent in to score the 4th potter film john williams could not return to do the 4th potter soundtrack due to conflicts of working on war of the worlds and another movie he scored with izak perlman and yo yo ma now this cd is very intresting the best part for this soundtrack which is my favorite part of this soundtrack is snapes theme remixed and tweaked up of course my favorite charecter is profesor snape in the books and films i gotta say patrick doyle made very beauitful music for harry potter and the goblet of fire buy this cd do not miss out on a great movie soundtrack like this one trust me youll enjoy it just as much as me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Doyle way better than Williams

    Doyle's treatment of the score is far superior to Williams'. A must buy, the best of all the HP soundtracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great soundtrack to a great movie

    trust me this score is perfect buy this wonderful soundtrack you wont be sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Totally Worth It!

    I was disapointed that John wasn't doing the score, but I think that Patrick did some awesome work. The music is growing up with the movies. I also thought that the opening music was really good and gave the movie a darker feel, the way it should be as the books go on and the characters grow and experience more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    appreciate it for what it is

    No, it isn't John Williams, whos work I absolutely love. however, I have to disagree with the others. I believe the score goes well with the film. however, What I miss most about it not being John Williams is that he includes everything, every single note. it's all over a different sound, but give it a chance. the pieces are quite enjoyable. the only thing that upset me, was the original theme was altered...but I suppose that's Patrick Doyle making it his, even though it wasn't originally. I really don't know why they let someone else do the score, since John Williams created it. oh well. I liked it anyway, that's why I gave it 5 stars. Patrick Doyle does create good music. Much Ado About Nothing (one of my personal favorites), Sense and Sensibility, A Little Princess, loved all of those. so if you're up for some dramatic music with a good amount of minor chords, this CD is definitely worth buying. it makes driving more fun to say the least... and coming from someone who lives in LA, that's saying something...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Doyle Isn't Williams (duh)...

    Doyle isn't John Williams, so get over it and give the man a chance! To use Williams' signature themes and motifs would be considered THEFT. I've had enough of the standard 'Hedwig's Theme' for the first three CDs and I agree that it was time for something different. I truly enjoyed the sweeping sounds and the crescendos and the full use of brass and percussion. The light sounds of the strings and woodwinds were key in making the music flow, and showed me just how good Doyle is. The soundtrack was different, airy and dark, and it fits the plot of the film perfectly. Patrick Doyle is very talented, and though I do like John Williams' work, even I had to admit it was time for a change. Besides: Williams declined to do the fourth film to work on other projects: namely Star Wars, so it was his call. As for the Yule Ball songs by Jarvis Cocker...I would've rathered the '80s prom songs we cringe to today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best harry potter soundtrack so far!

    Four months ago, I heard that the production would replace John Williams by Patrick Doyle! I was afraid of this idea. But three weeks ago when I litsend the new soundtrack at aol I was surprised. I think that Patrick Doyle has captured the spirit that John Williams gave to the Harry Potter movie series! I like all the tracks, but especially I like very much the new main theme "The story Continues"! I am waiting the movie to come out in cinemas in my country at 24/11/05. Well done Patrick Doyle, you have done an excellent job!:D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    First time I heard a complete soundtrack from any movie. Patrick Doyle is incredibly talented! The music in the soundtrack transports you to the place where everything takes place, put you in the mood according to the tune and makes you want to see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1