Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3979 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3093)

4 Star

(568)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book in the series

Great you should read it

posted by 6227598 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3979 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 199
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Potter never learns : ( matthew montoya

    HARRY POTTER NEVER LEARNS TO STAY OUT OF TROUBLE THATS WHAT IT MAKES IT FUN TO READ: )

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Anubis

    I'll have to say at first I hated Harry Potter I hated the Movie too, Then one day I thought I would give the book a try. At first I didnt really understand it but then I loved every Harry Potter book J.K. Rowling wrote.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking but wonderful book!

    I love this entire series. If you haven't read any of the Harry Potter books you are missing out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    To the guy that thought i was a dumb***

    Hey buddy do not say stuff like that i think u are the dumb one

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    So sad

    I re-watched the movie and I always cry when everyone raises their wands after Dumbeldore died! :(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!! you have to read it!!! i am sure you wil

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!! you have to read it!!! i am sure you will love it as much as i did :)))

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    I think it is the BEST book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(other than the 7th)

    Harry Potter 6 is one of the best books in the series,yet at the same time the saddest.What makes it the saddest is the fact that the others aren't even sad!After you finish this one you should the last and best book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Harry Potter

    I really loved it.I think it was the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    The Ministry of Magic has finally admitted that Voldemort has re

    The Ministry of Magic has finally admitted that Voldemort has returned, and Dumbledore has returned as Hogwarts Headmaster. Furthermore, Dumbledore has realized that it was a huge mistake to leave Harry in the dark for so long. He and Harry become much closer in Harry's sixth year at Hogwarts, as Dumbledore reveals much of what he knows of Voldemort's history and motivations to Harry. Harry is also kept busy with his new obsession that Draco Malfoy is up to new levels of "no good." Ron and Hermione poo-poo his suspicions and keep themselves busy with escalating romantic tension. 




    Altogether, this book has a LOT going on, yet it's more compact than the previous two books. Overall, I think this is Rowling's best written book in the series, even if my favorites are the first four. I really enjoyed this re-read of the 6th book in the Harry Potter series - it's only my second time reading this book, and I had forgotten a lot of it. The romantic tension between Ron and Hermione is my favorite part of the book, since it'd been building for SO long and was finally let loose terrifically.  




    Jim Dale's reading, as usual, is excellent. It took some getting used to, but after the first or second book it really grew on me. I know all his voices for the characters, and that really ads to my enjoyment of the story. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of the biggest clifhangers of the series. The love bug strik

    One of the biggest clifhangers of the series. The love bug strikes heavily. It made me anxious to read the last book to find out what was next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I

    LOVE CHEESE MY BUTT

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Good

    I LOVE Harry Potter

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great

    Great

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Erps ONE DIRECTION

    Omg harry potter is the best series of books i have ever read for realsies though aerkward siwernce One Direction is soooo amazing and they have read harry potter harry styles liam payne louis tomlinson niall horan zayn malik 1D is the best band ever

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT

    Dumbledor dies on page 596.
    OH MY HAGRID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    poor poor dumbly-door...
    DRACO DORMIENS NUNQUAM TITILLANDUS (never poke a sleeping dragon) -Hogwarts motto
    "AVADA KEDAVRA!" to you all!!!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps Gettin' Better!

    The Harry Potter series is my FAVORITE series ever! the books build in suspense as they get closer to the last book. Definately a MUST read!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ!

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Annabell Cadiz

    Voldemort and his Death Eaters are wreaking havoc all over Britain. Everyone in the magical world has caused for Cornelius Fudge, the Minister of Magic, to resign since they all believe he has grossly mishandled the situation and truth about Voldemort. Rufus Scrimgeour has taken over in his place. Just as that change occurs, Snape is at his home. Draco Malfoy's mother, Narcissa and her sister, Bellatrix Lestrange have come to Snape to ask for a favor. Narcissa needs Snape to help Draco in the mission Voldemort has given to him. Snape at first hesitates but soon agrees to the Unbreakable Vow. If Draco should fail then Snape will have to complete the mission. If Draco dies, so does Snape.

    Meanwhile back at Hogwarts, Harry is in a bind. He has realized he has feelings for Ginny but she is dating Dean Thomas. Dumbledore has been secretly teaching Harry to use the Pensieve to view his collected memories of Voldemort's past. Snape has become the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher (much to Harry, Ron, and Hermonie's horror). Odd things are happening: Katie Bell, a Gryffindor student, is hit by the Imperius Curse when she comes into the possession of a necklace that was cursed and meant to be given to Dumbledore; Ron ends up drinking mead that is poisoned and meant to be given to Dumbledore.

    Harry knows Draco Malfoy has something to do with everything that's been happening but has no way of proving it. The darkness from Voldemort and his Death Eaters is beginning to seep through the walls of Hogwarts and Harry must try to find a way to stand against it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    harry potter is back again in the 6th installment of this amazing book series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    great for all ages harry potter = the best of the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Never Trust anything that thinks for itself, if you cant tell where it keeps its brain.- Mrs. Weasley

    This sixth book in the Harry Potter series was of course excellent. I think that it might even be my favorite after Goblet of Fire. I enjoyed how the story grows with each book but it never feels rushed or like an idea was just thrown in because it was cool. I liked this book because it tied up some loose ends in the story and made me excited to start reading the last Harry Potter book. The surprise, even sad ending to this book I thought was excellent. I look forward to continuing with the series and seeing where the last book takes the reader in the magical world of Harry Potter.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3979 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 199