Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4039 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3147)

4 Star

(569)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book in the series

Great you should read it

posted by 6227598 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I

    LOVE CHEESE MY BUTT

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Least Liked of the 7!

    This book was the least liked out of the 7. I felt like there was no plot, or at least not a well defined one. It made you feel like this book was a bunch of filler. The book was off-track and had no meat to sustain any kind of suspence or excitement. I love the Harry Potter series, but this was the most boring book of all of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Awesome

    It would be cooler if voldermort actually apearead in the bo
    ok!xdddxfxuyfcuxudhduxfuudyffxyffxfxfxhhhhhhcfchccxxxxxxxxxxxxbhhnnvvvvvvvvvvvgvugv uggcuggcuggcuggcuggcuggcuggcgcuggcuggcuggccccviggcyfcufugcgciggcuggcucuffcuffcuffx

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Storyguy

    Not that good most are good but this one did not bring me in to much talking not my favorte

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

    This is the best book ever, I would recommend this book to people who like adventure.The thing that liked about the book is that she has well vocabulary.The part that i Liked the most is that Harry thinks that he is not the chosen one but he is.I read all the Harry Potter books and each one is always mysterious. Not even one book disapointed me in any way.J.K. should keep writing more Harry Potter books. I would like to read more books that are written by J.k.and other people who like mystery books should read more harry potter. Harry potter booke is the king in mystery and adventure

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2005

    A total flop

    The half-blood prince is just an absolute failure in the Harry Potter series. I love the figthing and how the book was written,but it just isnt enjoyable. The book kills off one of the most beloved charecters, Harry looks like an idiot, and this book is just too short. Coming of the pheonix, this book is not impressive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Great book

    It's entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    &star

    LOVED THE BOOK &#9824 WRITERGIRL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    It costs?

    How much does it cost?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    What was wrong with Hermione??

    As a big fan of the Hermione character (she's my favorite), I couldn'e help but feel insulted at how she acts and how she's treated. Harry and Ron treated her like crap in book 3, which everyone was happy to ignore and forget. She was loyal to him in book 4 when Ron was petty and jealous, and now Harry acts like a total jerk to her - not to mention Ron. I've always felt his character to be lacking, but at the same time, not everyone is a hero like Harry or a genius like Hermione. But Ron is so immature and annoying - his only use was playing chess in book 1. Second of all, the romance in this book came out of nowhere. Suddenly Harry is in love - what nonsense! Ginny's character seems to be made up of more hero-worship than anything. I really liked Snape in this book. That was what helped reconcile me to it a little. He was brilliant. Finally, we get to see what explains Voldemort's immortality - really liked that. Anyway, I'm glad that at least for book 7, there was little in the way of romance - stick to adventure, JKR. The book is still good. I only gave it 2 stars instead of 3 since it was disappointing to me as a fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Readers Put Too Much Stress On Ms. Rowling...

    Although people raved book 6 was her best yet, I found it painfully predictable and not filled with as much emotion as she has potential for. I think because the readers are pushing for an ending, it cramps her wonderful writing style and she's rushed by her publishers to finish quickly. If she were given more time, I'd say her last two books would have been much better. I don't know if I'm really looking forward to book 7 like others are anticipating its release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    State of Stony Lonesome

    This book is much different than expected. In this book a girl name Ginerva revisits old memories of her childhood while visiting her sick uncle. The main conflict in the story is that while growing up Ginerva fell in love with her drunk and gambling uncle.I would not recommend this to teens, but a much older crowd. This book was both dule and strange.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Be prepared for something different

    As I was very excited for this book, I was also very disappointed in it. For the size, there just was not enough information or continuation with the story line. Most of the book was more about relationships between students than anything else. The book could easily have been cut by 70%.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    I expected better.

    This book was.. well, not as good as ANY of the others in the series. Rowling really lost her touch. There was hardly any detail. The 'snogging' happened too quickly. The relationships were random. The first chapter was boring and didn't draw you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    The worst so far, I believe.

    Harry Potter #6. Fans may loathe me, but it absolutely lacks plot. The only thing that happens is that we find out all about Voldemort's bland childhood. All in all, it is a bland book, and tells of a bland end to the series. If Rowling is smart, she will finish off in the 7th book with an unexpected twist, for instance, we find out that Voldemort isn't really the enemy. But I am not hoping for too much. The best I think we will see is a hasty tying up of loose ends. Whether you have noticed it or not, Harry's plot is trembling at the edge of a cliff, ready to go crashing down to its doom. Rowling should be pround of her excellent imagination and sense of humor. But her style of writing is lacking something important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Boring!!

    I had been looking forward to reading this book since december last year. I must sadly admit, that is has been a terrible disappointment. The author has definitely lost her touch. The book resembles more to a soap-box opera, than to the original awesome and adventurous H.P. from the first four books. If there ever appears a seventh book, I will definitley not pre-order a copy. I will wait to read the reviews and then decide whether to buy a new one or order a cheap used copy. It hurts to read such a lousy piece of chit-chat. By the way, the third movie was also an insult to Hogwarts and to the magical world of H.P. I´m afraid the magic J.K. Rowlings once had is gone.... she has put an imperious curse on the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Harry Potter 6? Not that great.

    Harry Potter 6? Not that great. In my opinion, Half-Blood Prince is immensly excaggerated. It is almost as if J.K. Rowling was stressed to finish the book in due time, and has spit up the words in haste. A lot of the charecter has suddenly gotten a super behavior. For example, Hermione is suddenly extroadinarily smart. Sure she always was, but this is definitly too much! And Harry has grown to be an extremely strict Quidditch captian, instead of his normal loose, happy self. Ron has suddenly gotten into fights with Hermione for absulotely no reason (I see they like each other, but this is simply to extreme), and suddenly Ron is snogging a person he hardly knows(snogging. I hate that word.), aka Lavender Brown. I see a lot of strange and foreign behavior in charecters, and when does Tonks like Lupin? How could Harry like Ginny? She's your best friend's sister!!! Traitor!!! And by the way, when the Death Eaters come and Harry shouts at Snape, it was strangely fake and stupid. Well, at least I didn't give it a one-star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    waste of time

    I enjoyed all JK's Harry Potter novels until I reached this one. I was very disappointed at how I could not get into the story and I felt the end was rushed severely. In one chapter she went from one thing right into the end of the book. I feel she rushed and made a very unwise decision to make the novel shorter. It was almost like she tried too hard to finish it instead of using her creative mind in a better way like the other 5 novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Harry Potter did not live up to the anticipation

    I totally agree that the author was under way too much pressure. HP 6 was boring, and lack excitment! After reading HP 5, I thought the next installment was going to be the turning point of the story. It was really dissappointing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Dissapointing, Aye, Yes it Is

    I'm an avid Harry Potter fan: I always was, and always will be. I have trailed the series endlessly, reading and reading the first five books so many times that I've lost count. When I heard that the 6th book of the series was being released at midnight on July 16th, I was overjoyed. I got the book as quickly as I could, and I read ALL of it in a single day. Yes, a single day, from 11:00am to 8:00pm. J.K. Rowling is and absolutely fabulous writer. Absolutely wonderful. It was she who wrote the first five books, from the Philosopher's Stone to the Order of the Pheonix, and it was she who made them so... perfect, for lack of a better word. Yet, I feel sorely dissapointed when I finished The Half-Blood Prince. The wonderful atmosphere of Hogwarts was gone. Indeed, part of the reason I so enjoyed the Harry Potter series was the little things she wrote about Hogwarts. Mudane things. Classes, homework, the quirks and personalities of other students. As I delved deep into The Half-Blood Prince, I found that there was less and less of this. Slowly, one of my favorite aspects of the book was dissapearing. And slowly, it devolved, in my way of thinking, to a murder mystery. Except, in this particular murder mystery, we already knew who the murderer was. There was no more charm to Hogwarts and the people within. They were cast by the wayside, and the book spiraled down into the abyss of student's love-lifes, and murder. The murder, I suppose was acceptable, seeing as He-WHo-Must-Not-Be-Named is back... But the charm, as I said before, was lost. I may be one of the few, but honestly... I could care less about who Ron snogs, and why Harry is so in love with Ginny. I really don't care. But J.K. Rowling is happy about how the book turned about, and I respect that. I won't try to degrade her efforts, so if I come across that way, I apologize. So, if you're in the mood for a dark, depressing murder story/romance, then I think you'll find this book highly enjoyable. But me? No... No, I'll just read the first five books, because I know those are good. Very good. I'm not angry at J.K. Rowling. Quite the contrary. Her writing is beautiful, but the plot just shrank away from how I liked it, from the way it was in the previous books. So, if you want to read it, be my guest, and hats off to Rowling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4