Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3979 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3092)

4 Star

(568)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book in the series

Great you should read it

posted by 6227598 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Dissapointing, Aye, Yes it Is

    I'm an avid Harry Potter fan: I always was, and always will be. I have trailed the series endlessly, reading and reading the first five books so many times that I've lost count. When I heard that the 6th book of the series was being released at midnight on July 16th, I was overjoyed. I got the book as quickly as I could, and I read ALL of it in a single day. Yes, a single day, from 11:00am to 8:00pm. J.K. Rowling is and absolutely fabulous writer. Absolutely wonderful. It was she who wrote the first five books, from the Philosopher's Stone to the Order of the Pheonix, and it was she who made them so... perfect, for lack of a better word. Yet, I feel sorely dissapointed when I finished The Half-Blood Prince. The wonderful atmosphere of Hogwarts was gone. Indeed, part of the reason I so enjoyed the Harry Potter series was the little things she wrote about Hogwarts. Mudane things. Classes, homework, the quirks and personalities of other students. As I delved deep into The Half-Blood Prince, I found that there was less and less of this. Slowly, one of my favorite aspects of the book was dissapearing. And slowly, it devolved, in my way of thinking, to a murder mystery. Except, in this particular murder mystery, we already knew who the murderer was. There was no more charm to Hogwarts and the people within. They were cast by the wayside, and the book spiraled down into the abyss of student's love-lifes, and murder. The murder, I suppose was acceptable, seeing as He-WHo-Must-Not-Be-Named is back... But the charm, as I said before, was lost. I may be one of the few, but honestly... I could care less about who Ron snogs, and why Harry is so in love with Ginny. I really don't care. But J.K. Rowling is happy about how the book turned about, and I respect that. I won't try to degrade her efforts, so if I come across that way, I apologize. So, if you're in the mood for a dark, depressing murder story/romance, then I think you'll find this book highly enjoyable. But me? No... No, I'll just read the first five books, because I know those are good. Very good. I'm not angry at J.K. Rowling. Quite the contrary. Her writing is beautiful, but the plot just shrank away from how I liked it, from the way it was in the previous books. So, if you want to read it, be my guest, and hats off to Rowling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Questions Answered but Details amiss

    I was rather disapointed with this book. I too had anticipated it's release, and of course wondered who would pass, even though from the start it seemed obvious to me. The twists and suprises were not all that suprising, as it seemed that it had been set up to go this way from the very start. Many details were left out, normally I stay up all night and finish the book, but this one just didn't keep my attention. Hagrid was not in this one nearly as much, and Harry and his friends seemed almost cold to him- as they did not have the time for him. Hermonine spends almost the entire book ignoring Ron, I was disapointed with the adrupt death also and the carrying out of the funeral. I'm hoping that the next book plays out a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Ehhh....was this a fan fiction?

    Wow....this was definitely not up to par to JKR's previous novels. I understand that at this point she has so much money that she could write anything and fans would still buy the book...but honestly! Half-Blood Prince was simply a filler for book 7, and I was surprised when at some places, I felt as though I could have run some errands, finished chores, etc. and that I wouldn't mind a break from the book. While reading the other 5 books, I could not put them down, but with this one....something had changed. JKR's writing style and attention to the little things like holidays, Harry's birthday, presents, etc. were not paid attention to. The student's classes were almost nonexistant, and to top it off, after one or two trips into the pensieve, I considered skipping all of these scenes. I feel that JKR could have introduced this info in another manner instead of boring (some of us) silly. Also, Harry's relentless fixation on Malfoy was getting a tad annoying. Perhaps it would have been better if someone had chosen to believe him-possibly his friends, but I suppose that would have been too much to ask for as the chartacteristics now associated with Harry are sulky, paranoid, broody, and unfortunate. To top it off, quidditch, which has grown to be one of my favorite parts of the books did not have a big part, and most of the time Harry was in detention (what IS it with Harry and detention?). I suppose this book is needed to read for the seventh, but I'm hoping the next one will be a bit more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Well this is nothing new...

    I must say that i have read a lot of books, some like this series some completely different. Now I am not a Harry Potter fan, but I am also not baised. I have read the other books regardless of what I tell others, so as I may know what is going on, even if I dont really enjoy them. Now, I will also admit that the first Harry Potter book was indeed a good book. The development of the plot, storyline, and characters was all done in a great fashion. However, J.K.'s books have been going down in quaility ever since the first one. This one is no different. There is really no relevence as to some of the things that happen in this one and I find that a lot of the questions that were set up in the previous book were not answered or not even begun to be answered. The one thing I will say though is that J.K. is setting up Potter for a load of trouble. The character she killed off in HP 5 was rather predictable, the same is so of the character she kills off in this one... the one thing I will say before I go is that Potter better not get into to much trouble becasue there is now no one to jump in and save him. Im only giveing this one two stars because she actually wrote it, which is a feat in itself. This last book better be one hellofa good one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Anticipated, but disappointing...

    Although the plot of this story was well developed, Rowling strayed from the details that make a quintessential Hogwarts. Quidditch, although present, has a very small role in the story. The determination and the struggle of Harry's team's quest for the Cup are missing from the novel. Rowling also misses the burden of homework received by the N.E.W.T. students. In book one, she showed a lot of detail: the exams, studying for the exams, the homework, the sneaking out at night and so on and so forth. The security at Hogwarts is raised, but that didn¿t prevent Harry from sneaking out during the time when Sirius Black was loose from Azkaban. The story is rushed and it is very apparent. Noticeably absent from The Half-Blood Prince are Harry¿s birthday, Halloween and Easter. She avoids much detail through the Christmas holiday and is very abrupt even on the presents. I recall from book one that Harry opened each of his presents separately and she described them in great detail. In this latest edition, however, Harry [and Rowling] passed over them without much effort or though. Harry's school life is near irrelevant. She puts the most emphasis on the Half-Blood Prince, Malfoy and Harry's lessons with Dumbledore. It seems simply that Rowling forgot that Harry was at school. His classes and homework are mentioned only a few times, during which, are brief and not descriptive. She rushed the school year. There are very few remarks to the weather or the season which left me very confused as to what time of year it was. If she had written this latest book with the skill and detail that she is capable of, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince would easily be twice as thick as it is now, if not more. Rowling seems not to be making money off of her writing skill anymore, but instead, off of her fame. She builds up the anticipation to her new book and everyone gathers at the nearest bookshop to wait for the release at 12:01 AM. Since so many people buy her book within a day or two of the debut, most of the money earned is off of opening sales. Because there are so many people that buy so soon, no educated customers have a chance to review it and advise their friends. As she gains more and more fame and money, she does not pay attention to the details of Harry Potter anymore. It is with all my heart that I hope that she will write the seventh book with the dedication and skill that she put into the Philosopher's Stone. This book was a big disappointment based solely on the lack of effort and detail. Although it has a great plot and several twists, this book is merely a skeleton. I am appalled that the editor actually allowed this book to be published. In my view, this is only an outline, barely a rough draft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Started well, ended horribly

    This book, like books four and five started out well and kept the reader captivated and happy at first. However, the ending, alos like books four and five was extraordinarily depressing. The circumstances that bring about the devastating death, are what is so horrible. It not really horrible because the person dies it is horrible because of how the person dies. Rowling's first three books all had moderately happy endings and tolerable violence, but her most recent books(Then Goblet of Fire, The Order of the Phoenix, and especially the Half Blood Prince) have become more and more gruesome and dark. Rowling seems to have forgotten that the majority of her readers are between 9 and 12 years of age. Her characters have become unrealistic, after all one can only take so much tragedy before they crack. So what started out as a brilliant series, is now coming to a needlessly dark and depressing end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Don't read it!!!! Wait for the next one.

    It seems that just being a Harry Potter book does not make a book worth reading. Like so many others I read the book in one day only to be dissapointed by the boring middle and abrupt end. Ms. Rowling strayed from her formula and seemed to be unable to focus her attention on the writing process. Without the Harry Potter following this book would be unremarkable and uninteresting. I felt cheated and feel even more so by knowing it will take years for the next book to arrive and finally answer all the questions put out by the series. And especially by this book, which was just a lead in to the next and so is not able to stand on it's own. I hope she delivers better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    I didn't like the ending

    I had such a high expectation, but the book does not live up to it. I dislike the ending. It is a must-read book for the book 7, but I must say I love book 1-4, not 5 and 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Out of context

    While the underlying plot is gripping in the last few chapters of this book, the beginning and the middle suffer. This book has almost no connection from Book 5. All plotlines from Book 5 were either non-existant or merely glossed over. The pacing is entirely different from the rest of the books and the characterization of all, other than Harry and Snape suffered greatly. Hermione is unrecognizable and this is a shame because she was always a wonderful role-model for young girls who were smart, into books and maybe not the prettiest in the class. She throws all of this away to snare a boy, and by doing so, loses her place at Harry's side except at the beginnin and the very end. But I imagine this is what the norm is these days. I was hoping Ms. Rowling would do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Disapointed

    Well the kids will like it. As for adults skip it, I was really dissapointed, repetetive work indeed. No suprises either, even with the death (I knew from page 50 what would happen). The other books were way better than this one, nothing new. I found the book pointless. 600 pages of pointless stuff just to get to the death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    SKIP IT

    Okay, I love the Harry Potter series but this book was a TOTAL letdown!!! I would advise to wait until the next book is released. J.K. Rowling didn't live up to the potential this book could have had! A great influence is diminished in this section and it completely set off my respect for the writing! Plus there isn't a great explanation towards the true conflict.....I hope that she, J.K. Rowling, will be able to bounce back from this imaginative dissapointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Hello? What Happened?

    Ok, maybe I'm the only person, in the history of Harry Potter to do so, but, I must say, I am disappointed in this book. Where was the story? What's up with the ending? I'm sure I'll find out in the next book, which I will buy, but, I did not like this book. It seemed to have no purpose, but a little back story. So, everyone can just shoot me now for saying so, it's only my opinion. Everyone is entitled to have one, I just was brave enough to put mine out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    slightly dissapointed

    i must say i was expecting...i honestly dont know what i was expecting, but it wasn't this. I think it was mostly setting it up for the 7th book, and that isn't what i wanted. i wanted a 6th book, not one setting up the seventh. a worthy effort...keepign the story moving through all 6 hundred something pages must have been difficult. its worth reading, but read it to be prepared for the seventh book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Not as good as I had hoped.

    I found this book more disappointing than the others. It was completely focused around Voldemort, and there wasn't much of the 'magic' of Harry's life, such as his classes at school, and holidays. They were mentioned briefly, but I always enjoyed that more personal stuff. I think her creativeness is slightly wearing down too, because the creatures that she creates are like those from a horror film. Unlike house-elves and hippogriffs, Inferi aren't that interesting. I don't want to give anything away, but I also thought the ending was shocking in a bad way. It seemed to me like she was just trying to get out of writing another book. But like in all books, there were good parts and bad parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Disappointing

    In as much as this year was my third 12:01 am 'party', it will be my last. I have followed this series with baited breath from the very beginning, however, I fear that the ending of this particular book also marks the end of my facination with the series. I, personally, feel that J.K. Rowling has deserted the original concept of a children's series about a boy and the magical world he encounters, and has turned completely to the dark and very much adult realm of death and evil. I cannot let my son read this book, as much as he wants to, simply because I fear that the ending is much too traumatic for him. I know it was for me. With the worst (to date) behind us, I fear that the final book will be much like the final movie in the Star Wars series... a gripping battle for sure, but predictable in its conclusion. This book indeed sets the stage for how Harry is to defeat the evil Lord Voldemort, and contain some of Rowlings best creative and suspenseful writing yet, but has left me seriously disappointed in it's conclusion. I believe that I am sure to reach the final installment eventually, but will be content now to wait for the seventh of the series to make it to DVD. No more parties for me, I have nothing to look forward to in the seventh book and no cheerfulness left after reading the sixth. It is almost as if I have been overcome by a dementor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    A Big Let Down

    Maybe it was because of my high expectations for this book, but this book was really disappointing. I have to say the sixth book is one of my least favorite books. Don't expect much, because you won't get much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    A dissapointed fan

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is by the far the worse in the series and was a huge disssapointment, definetly not worth waiting inside the bookstore until midnight. Guaranteed I never put it down, just on the fact of it being Harry Potter, but I feel I never would have finished reading it, if that had not been a part of the title. The next book should be very interesting, considering Harry says he's not going back to Hogwarts next year, but I'm sure in the end he will go back because, 'It's what Dumbledore would have wanted', someone is surely going to remind him of this. Hopefully there will end up being more than 7 books in the series, to enjoy Harry's adventures tracking down Voldemort, Draco, and Snape, but I guess that's assuming he doesn't die in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    To say the least...

    I must say, I began reading the book as soon as I arrived home shortly after midnight. Now I'm a die-hard fan of Harry Potter, however, this book seems to be lacking in quite a few areas. It's quite repetitive of events or actions and dialogue. Now I know that this book was meant to bring all the pieces together for the final conclusion but really, I was almost bored to tears with the events and characters. Halfway through the book I just stopped and looked at it to make sure I was actually reading the Half-Blood Prince and not some dull fan fiction. Granted a lot of significant events happen near the end but the path to those final chapters is almost too boring to bare. Perhaps if the book were longer and filled with some more action instead of stuffy dialogue I could have enjoyed it more, but I've got to admit that although it is a darker and more adult-oriented book, it is my least favorite of the series so far. I know I'll be reading books 1-5 over and over for years to come...this one, however, I'm just not so sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    LET DOWN-J K HAS LOST HER SPARK

    Boring and the parts that were interesting were rushed. Expected much more. Skiped over his birthday, halloween, and christmas was a let down. The ending was dissipointing, HE died way to easy and from there to the end it was rushed. This book had great possibilities but JK is selling her books on her fame, not on her talent. It could have been much longer and left me with lots of guestions that wont be answered because I dont plan on reading the 7th book because i bet it will as much as a let down as this one. The Harry Potter fire has gone out and will need a amazing 7th book to relight it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    You guessed it...

    While I waited in line last night at Barnes and Noble , looking at my yellow bracelet as a reminder that I was 465 books away from getting my own, the notion that I would be disappointed never entered my brain. Thoughts of growing story lines, answered questions and trivia popped up along with recent debates over who exactly the Half-Blood Prince is. Not once did I question: Would I care? I spent 8 hours over night reading the latest installment only to close the book with an astounding, WHAT!?! What happened to The Order of the Phoenix, Nevile¿s parents, Harry¿s lineage, The Department of Mysteries, Petunia¿s secrets? Where was Voldemort and why is Harry so, boring. While love takes the center stage in this book, as could be expected after Dumbledore¿s speech on its importance in book 5, the story lines are not surprising. The one surprising love twist occurs between two minor players and is hyped up to seem like something much more. Aside from the fact that the old exciting plot lines are abandoned and new, well, less than illuminating ideas are revealed, the worst part is that by the time the big Half-Blood Prince `shocker¿ is revealed you¿ve probably already figured it out and in the end, it doesn¿t matter. It has no bearing in the plot and it just caps off a weak story line. In the end, there is one big surprise, and while it is a good one, we don¿t get any insight into it. I did not write this review because I don¿t want you to go out and by this book. I believe the Harry Potter series is wonderful and J.K. Rowling is a true inspiration to all of us who follow our dreams. But you have to keep in mind when you open the first page of The Half-Blood Prince that J.K. Rowling said book 6 is more like at two part series coupled with book 7 and judging by the fact that nothing is resolved and everything gets more complex, it will be about 7, 777 pages long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4