Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3977 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3093)

4 Star

(567)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

The book may, as fillers go, be an interesting read and all that, but the moral message sucks!

The fact that our 'hero' is even considering experimenting with an unknown spell on another human being is disturbing enough and then to have him use it, nearly kill someone, and then, THEN, have no regret or remorse except for missing Quittich, getting detention, and w...
The fact that our 'hero' is even considering experimenting with an unknown spell on another human being is disturbing enough and then to have him use it, nearly kill someone, and then, THEN, have no regret or remorse except for missing Quittich, getting detention, and worried about loosing the book that he got the dang spell from in the first place is apalling! To top it off, we have Harry lying and cheating! If I had kids, I would NOT, NOT want them reading this book! As for the rest of us, if you decide to read it, don't expect much real heroisim or morality from Harry.

posted by 1935280 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 567 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    I think it is the BEST book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(other than the 7th)

    Harry Potter 6 is one of the best books in the series,yet at the same time the saddest.What makes it the saddest is the fact that the others aren't even sad!After you finish this one you should the last and best book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Never Trust anything that thinks for itself, if you cant tell where it keeps its brain.- Mrs. Weasley

    This sixth book in the Harry Potter series was of course excellent. I think that it might even be my favorite after Goblet of Fire. I enjoyed how the story grows with each book but it never feels rushed or like an idea was just thrown in because it was cool. I liked this book because it tied up some loose ends in the story and made me excited to start reading the last Harry Potter book. The surprise, even sad ending to this book I thought was excellent. I look forward to continuing with the series and seeing where the last book takes the reader in the magical world of Harry Potter.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    this one is...

    A bit too dramatic.HATE LAVENDR BROWN"won won"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    Honestly, people!

    Well, crap. people need to stop being so pessimistic. yes, __________ died. get over it. yeah, it's super sad, i cried too. but if u go back and read the rest of the books, you'll realize this was necessary. harry needed to learn that people won't always be around to save youre butt. this is an important installment. people are also saying ginny is sluttish and that harry deserves better. however, if you read the 2 and 3 books, ginny loved harry and in 5 and 6 she was finally getting over that.which i think is good. they could've been together since book 2, then u people wouldn't be calling her a slut.my personal favorite is those people who say 'these books go against god'. THEY ARE FANTASY! another thing is, u shouldn't compare the actors to the characters. everyone is entitled to their opinion, and if u hated this book, or if you hate this series overall, so be it. however, if that is the case, DON'T REVEIW THE BOOK!!! i agree this was not the best book in the series, though. i'm being objective here. the ron/lavender thing was a bit much. and i think harry needs to get over himself. he broke up with ginny because he was afraid voldemort would use her to get to him. i don't exactly understand the reasoning behind that. won't he feel the same way? however this book is still good and i can't wait to see how rowling will dazzle us again with her own brand of magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    MAB, book critique, book lover

    very good book if you like magic and adventure, as i do. an overall good book. not recomended for kids 8 years of age or under.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Harrypotterlover

    AWESOME BUT REALLY SAD WHEN DUMBLEDORE DIES!!!:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Batman

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Jay

    Wher the hectae or appolo cabin and yes batman i really look lik cameron boyce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    To emma malfoy

    I dont belive you, i think you made it up. If you didnt then tell me were you found it. Marie Tea( that is my hogwarts name)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    greatgreat

    Great everybody knows:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Expect

    P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Movie

    The movie is eh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    !

    Cant beleive Dumbledore dies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Good book, but a little bit less so, in my opinion, than the ear

    Good book, but a little bit less so, in my opinion, than the earlier novels in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Xxx

    Good book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Ehhhh

    Not my fav

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    A must read!

    The sixth installment of the Harry Potter series is an absolute must read.It may be boring on some parts,but trust me its worth reading!MOST of the story is uncovered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    great book!!

    this book is filled with more romance and that's part of the reason i loved it but i was expecting more intense and mysterious parts. by the end of reading it, you'll definitely want to read until the end of the series...you'll see why.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just Kept me reading page after page.

    For a Young Adult market, I thought this book held its own for the adults also, and I thoroughly enjoyed Half Blood Prince. I'm normally a mystery and historical novel reader, but I heard so much about Harry Potter that I decided to buy one of the books and satisfy my curiosity. We were on vacation and I read it off and on while I was spending time with my parents and friends. Once I got into the story I couldn't put it down. The author has an excellent way of bringing you into the story and before you know it you just want to find out what is going to happen next. Overall, it was a terrific book and I'm sure I'll be reading more about Harry Potter and his friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 567 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29