Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3984 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3099)

4 Star

(567)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book in the series

Great you should read it

posted by 6227598 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3099 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 155
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

    33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    SImply amazing

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, by J.K. Rowling, is another incredible account on the life of Harry Potter. Entering his sixth year at the acclaimed school of witchcraft and wizardry, Hogwarts, Harry is faced with an even tougher set of tasks than ever before. Throughout the year, Dumbeldore calls upon him occasionally for some "private lessons", but Harry soon finds out that these lessons are not for practicing his magic. No, Dumbeldore calls upon Harry to once again delve into the Pensieve, and explore the many memories people have of a younger Tom Marvolo Riddle, or Lord Voldemort. The reason Dumbeldore is doing this is because he believes he has found the secret to Voldemort's power: Horcruxes, and the only way they will be able to find the horcruxes is to find objects that Voldemort was very attached to. Horcruxes are a very dangerous and dark type of magic in which one slices up his/her soul and hides it in objects, so even when they die, they aren't really dead until ALL of their soul is destroyed. Dumbeldore believes that he has found one of Voldemort's horcruxes and wants Harry to come and help him destroy it.
    I give this book 5out of 5 stars because I believe this is a book in which many teenagers and even adults can relate. Rowling, including the other five books in the series, creates an imaginative world, but that relates to society today, which is why they are all so popular. Rowling assembles her characters so that many different types of children can relate to them. For example, Ron is struggling with his hormones and is continually "snogging" with his newfound girlfriend Lavender, but isn't really sure about the whole relationship thing. Now many teenage boys (or girls) can definitely relate to this! Most boys aren't sure what the heck they feel and go with their first instinct: to get a girlfriend no matter what. This relation to the real world, and many others, is part of the reason why I love these books and why so many others do as well.
    The last reason (but not the only reasons) I give this book 5 out of 5 stars is because of the intense suspense and just how well the book is written. Just like every other Harry Potter, every single page leaves you begging you for more. Personally, I'd just read these books for hours on end if I could. Rowling ends every chapter in a way that you can't just put it down and stop reading for the day: you HAVE to keep reading. The plot in this Harry Potter is incredibly thought out, super exciting, but surprisingly simple, which I think is why many people read it so often. It is not difficult to understand at all but the imagination Rowling put into writing is (and all the others) is astonishing.
    In conclusion, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an amazing book to read. This is my favorite series of books EVER and this is my 2nd favorite one in the series, next to Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    THIS IS AWESOME

    It is an awesome book!! I cried at some parts and Laughed out loud at others!! YOU MUST READ THE BOOKS!!

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Im 10 and i luv it

    Omg, i love these books and im 10 i just love harry potter so much i know alot of the chsractors:Harry potter, Hermione Granger, Ronald Weasley, Fred Weasly, Gearge Weasly, Ginny Weasly,Nevill longbottom, Luna Lovegood, proffeser McGonagall, Severaus Snape, Rebius Hagrid,Oliver Wood, Percey Weasly. I mean a little impressive for a 10 year old right! p.s. I LOVE HARRY POTTER IF I RATED IT IT WOULD BE OVER 600,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000!!!!

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just gets better and better..

    I've read all the Harry Potter books, lots of times. Everyone in Hogwarts wants to know if Harry is the chosen one, Harry thinks he is ..others think not. This is my favorite Harry Potter book of all,i loved this book. J.K. Rowling is an amazing author, one of my favorites,Half-blood prince was amazing! Thrilling, and the movie was good too. (I screamed in the theatre, sorry ppl.)Great book for anyone to read, especially book worms who can commit to a thick book, like me. Harry's journey in these books is irresistable, I never thought I would read the Books, Until i saw Goblet of fire at the movies, and rushed straight to Barnes & Noble to get the boxed set :)Get this book and you wont be able to put it down. Lost track of time one night and went to school without sleep..Awesome book. You should read it :)

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Triumph of the Collective Imagination

    Rowling has managed to create a complete literary ecosystem from virgin word wool, replete with characters who resonate beyond tired tropes and who have, in their way, become cultural and ideological touchstones. The sixth installment of the Harry Potter mythology manages to both enlarge and shrink the world of wizards and humans through a thorough parsing of the details and the full realization of each character and their backstory. Not content to rely on standard archetypes, Rowling has managed a feat many writers cannot reach; namely, to have captured the complexity and contradictory nature of human existence in such a way as to make it accessible to audiences of all ages. Truly a praiseworthy piece of work.

    18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    highly recommended

    Book is better than movie loved it

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    A very awesome book

    This was far by the best book from J.K Rowlings series so far. It is quiet the book. If you are a harry poter nut like I you will really want to read this book. When i got to the end i wanted more, so much more. I have reread the book 15 times since it came out. this book is outstounding and it easily takes the 5 stars. I really wish that the book was longer,But i still enjoyed it.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    Another winner!!!

    I've just finished reading the 6th book. I must say this has to be the best installment so far. I laughed and I cried. I feel this is a book for all ages. I can't wait for the next book...I tried to read this one slowly but it was impossible to put it down. I just wish the series could go on forever. J. K. Rowlings is a MASTER!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book!!!!!!!!

    Harry Potter and the Half Blood The war against Voldemort isn't going that well. Harry Potter has joined Dumbledore to destroy Horcruxes. Life has become more of a wizard war every day. This book is an amazing thrilling book. It's filled with adventure, and lots of humor. To me it's the best Harry Potter book ever!! This is diffenetly a fourth grade and up book .and be sure if you want to read this book you should read book 1,2,3,4,and 5 in order to understand this story and not be confused on what's happening. Also this book is 652 pages so you better like long and adventurous books. And finally I would diffenetly give this book 5 stars!!!!!!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    By Far The Best Book Ever Made.

    This book is sooooo amzing. I mean like the war in voldemort, dumbledore away for times that seem like 4ever, and the order is just not having their good days(or months)But...as life whizzes past,hogwarts student learn to apperate.. and later on harry finds what may just be the only single vulnerability voldemort................

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    ANOYMOUS

    I absolutley love the sixth HP book. It is filled with action and things that make you think. A great summer read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!

    LIKE I WOULD TOTALLY PICK LIKE A THOUSAND FOR THAT RATING!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Greatest books ever!!! :)

    I would recomend this to people who love fantasy and who love a story with magic!!! Your love the books like i did!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    Does not disappoint

    'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince,' although not the best in the series, definitely meets the high standards in quality that we have all come to expect from the series. What's great about this book, is that although it's the darkest and most violent entry yet, J. K. Rowling still leaves plenty of time for fun and surprising character developments. I enjoyed the many romances between the main characters, the new Potions professor, Horace Slughorn, and the bigger role that Dumbledore plays in this book. Much more is revealed about Voldermort this time around and Harry seems more seasoned and mature too as the scope of what he must do in the next book sinks in. Those fans who are saying this book is dissapointing are dead wrong. The character development is sharp and well defined, more questions are answered, and the plot twists and the death at the end are the most shocking yet. The darker tone that the last three books have taken are necessary for the arc of the whole story and provide great suspense and drama as the story continues to get more complicated. Highly recommended!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    Fantastic read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is another amazing instal

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is another amazing installment in the Harry Potter Series. On the plus side, the wizarding world is once again standing behind Harry and Dumbledore, aware that they were telling the truth about the return of Voldemort. On the negative side, however, many have met a premature death in the fight against pure evil. These are dark times, and though it seems impossible, the events that unfold in this novel are even more ominous than those that came before it.

    This is the first time readers are given a glimpse of the life that Tom Riddle led before becoming Lord Voldemort, beginning with his ill-conceived birth, and taking us through his time and actions in an orphanage, and his acceptance and studies at Hogwarts. Finally, we are able to begin to put together the pieces that made Voldemort who he is today—a killer intent on ruling forever and riding the world of mudbloods—anyone who isn’t a pureblood witch or wizard. I really enjoyed this backwards glance into the life of our foe, Voldemort, as the puzzle-pieces began to come together and it is impossible not to be curious about the life and times of someone so inherently evil. Readers learn much about Voldemort’s heritage, and perhaps the most important detail comes to light in this novel in terms of his life: the horcruxes. As the truth becomes clear concerning how Voldermort survived his backfiring curse the night he attempted to kill Harry, and with this knowledge, the race against time begins.

    This is an extremely engaging novel and, though sinister in tone and ominous in nature, it is an amazing tale that will leave you glued to the pages; it will haunt you long after it’s over, especially as the unthinkable happens in this novel, an event that had me so aghast that the tissues by my side were not enough to do it justice. It is the beginning of the end, and while I do not want this amazing world that Rowling has created to end, I am more than ready to see justice served.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Bittersweet

    This book had me crying, laughing, and on the edge of my couch . Because I already saw the movies before reading it I knew what to expect . But mo matter how many times I've seem the movies the book is still better and is much more detailed

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    My expressions

    When Harry gets to school- :) When Harry does outrageuos things- o-0 When Dumbledore dies- :0

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Potter never learns : ( matthew montoya

    HARRY POTTER NEVER LEARNS TO STAY OUT OF TROUBLE THATS WHAT IT MAKES IT FUN TO READ: )

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3099 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 155