Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5913 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4720)

4 Star

(726)

3 Star

(295)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

The Best Yet of the Series.

I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships de...
I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships deepening. If you ever feared the Harry Potter books were too kid-ish for you, this book will cure you of that fear. Harry is growing up, and so are our reader's expectations for him. Ms. Rowling does not disappoint in this book, and you will be cheating yourself if you skip this fine read.

posted by DarthAzard13 on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a...
When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a letter on both the NOOK and the computer because the typing was in different formats. $10 dollars wasted. Don't do it because it is stupid, frustrating, and a waste of time.

posted by HooverNZ on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5914 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 296
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Yet of the Series.

    I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships deepening. If you ever feared the Harry Potter books were too kid-ish for you, this book will cure you of that fear. Harry is growing up, and so are our reader's expectations for him. Ms. Rowling does not disappoint in this book, and you will be cheating yourself if you skip this fine read.

    65 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Love it

    The book is definitely a must read and one of my favorites. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

    54 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    Some things are overrated...Harry Potter is not.

    When I picked up the first novel, I did so out of curiosity. 30 minutes after that I could not put it down. I am 21 years old, so being freshly out of high school back then, I didn't want to read anything, (after the silliness one must endure during that time). But J. K. Rowlin tells a story about an unfortunate little boy, in an extraordinary way; written so that even 6 year-olds can enjoy it. This story, the way is it written and how it unfolds, is trully compellingly told and genuinely delighful. As things unveill, they do so with such care for details, and does not insult one's intelligence. It makes you fell as if you are with this boy, along the way cheering him on and comforting him when he needs it. Lastly, the author writes with a humourus undertone (even more so than many so-called comedies out there), that it makes you laught with the book, not at it.

    36 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    5 months to go, not sure if I can handle the wait !!

    After not wanting to read the books,(with the age range being 9 to 12), I finally gave in and watched the movie. I fell in love. Then, I bought the first book. I could not put it down, I read the entire book the first night. I bought the other 3 books, and to my surprise, they just kept getting better. I have now read and re-read the books 3 times. Guess I will be reading them some more, because 5 months is a long time to wait. The publishers really need to change the age range from 9 - 12, to 9 and up.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Harry Potter

    This book is an outstanding novel! I LOVE the books very much! You get sucked in on the first page....J.K rowling really out did herself with all her books!:) I recommend this to everyone of every age!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    HP is awesome!

    Harry Potter and the Order pf the Pheonix is the best book ever. J.K Rowling is good about puting twists on books and this is definetly worth the money. i've read it twice, thats how good it is. You haven't read HP until u've read this one. it is awesome, and u should consider getting it if didn't already. I've read all the Harry Potter books and this one is the best one by far. It is really good and i would give it 100,000,000,000,000,000,000+ stars if i could!

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    I thought this book was great! This book is definitely giving way to the more darker books in the series! Everything is no longer simple or easy for Ron, Harry, and Hermione, but in fact extremely life threatening and difficult as the most powerful dark wizard has returned with a vengeance!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Awesome book

    I LOVE this book.... This next statement is a little off topic but STOP spoiling the ending some people read the reviews BEFORE they read the book... Im just sayin its a little upsetting...




    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Sweet

    Stop writing useless reviews

    14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    having to get it through pottermore

    this is stupid i should be able to buy it through the storen on my nook

    10 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Its awesome

    Everyone should read it

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Harry Potter

    I think this is the best Harry Potter book in the entire series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    NZSF150

    Harry seems a little over-negative in this book. Don't get me wrong, the book was awesome, but he constantly yells at people. Umbridge seems to be kind of like The Joker. She smiles 95% of the time, but is just plain evil. Really great book overall.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Horrible

    When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a letter on both the NOOK and the computer because the typing was in different formats. $10 dollars wasted. Don't do it because it is stupid, frustrating, and a waste of time.

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    i would highly recommend

    its a very interesting book about the different characters. I like the letters that they write each other. i plan to read all the harry potter books

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great Books

    I am only 11 I have read all of them they are great. They are awesome. I thank my librarian.
    Love:Timesha Lynette Coleman

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    AWESOME

    Love it

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

    In yet another good book in the Harry Potter series, I find this one to be a little off. Don't get me wrong it's still a excellent read for Harry's fans but I found this one to be drawn out a little to much. For me it waste a lot of pages for nothing. I think it could have been better spend on other things, revealing items or issues that have not come out yet. But all in all it's still good. After the Goblet of Fire book, Harry finds himself with trials of his own. Thinking about what happened it the last few months. Dudley finds out a little about Harry's other side. We meet yet again new and exciting character's. In the war that is now getting ready to take place between the Order and the Death Eaters. We get to go inside the Ministry of Magic. A look inside the goverment of the magical world. How corruption takes place even there. Harry learns more about himself. The way the Ministry of Magic is described is wonderfully written. I could see how the place was laid out in my mind. <BR/>The battle scenes were great.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Harry potter

    I LOVE EVERY SINGLE HARRY POTTER BOOK HARRY POTTER IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Best book in HP!

    I loved this book soo much even if spoiler alert!!



    Harrys god father had to die it made me soo sad i chucked the book across the room cried and refused to read it ( but I couldn't resist and picked it up 5 min. later).

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5914 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 296