BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5855 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4671)

4 Star

(722)

3 Star

(293)

2 Star

(94)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

The Best Yet of the Series.

I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships de...
I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships deepening. If you ever feared the Harry Potter books were too kid-ish for you, this book will cure you of that fear. Harry is growing up, and so are our reader's expectations for him. Ms. Rowling does not disappoint in this book, and you will be cheating yourself if you skip this fine read.

posted by DarthAzard13 on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a...
When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a letter on both the NOOK and the computer because the typing was in different formats. $10 dollars wasted. Don't do it because it is stupid, frustrating, and a waste of time.

posted by HooverNZ on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Pathetic!

    My title basically describes the book. I HATED it.
    I have always loved Harry Potter, the young wizard who was born into the worst fate possible. But this book made me want to CRY, it was soo bad. I have one word for it... space filler. I feel like J.K wanted to just go from book 4-6 but decided she couldn't leave out a year.
    O.K I am done trashing, now I would like to say that the only part of the book was when the Weasley twins escape! LOVED that part!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Hermione and Ron

    Ron you are very lucky that you got Hernione. I can just imagine what you do to fall askeep with her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Harry from hockey girl

    R u on or not if you r on meet me at that comedies book book 8

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    The Worst Of The Seven

    I liked all of J. K. Rowling's other books, but this one, for some reason, I had a hard time picking up. It was way too long and Rowling just repeated herself over and over. I saw the foreshadowing in Harry's dream, but why was there a need to repeat it or bring it up in what seemed like every chapter? The last few chapters were the best in the book. At the department of mysteries and on. But that was the last six or seven chapters in the thirty eight chapter book. A ton to read before anything of interest really happens. So over all, I beleive this book sucked -as did the fourth one-. No two ways about it. I was so tentative to pick up the sixth book after two disappointing books in a row, that I almost didn't read the rest of the series, but Rowling did a fair job recovering after her two craptastic books. The fifth -and fourth- book definately doesn't live up to the standards that the other five filled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    I don't like to complain, but...

    This book was a big disappointment. I really, really hate to complain about books, but I also really did not enjoy this one. It seemed so different from the other books in the series that sometimes I felt like I wasn't reading Harry Potter anymore. I read the other books in the series because I thought they were fun, interesting and full of adventure and magic, but that all ended here. Rowling just drastcially changed her style out of the blue. Not cool. Now, this book did have its good points, but they were few and far between. It was only after about every 100 pages or so that you'd come across some good plot development... that lasted for about 10 pages. It would have been a good book without the first four in the series to compare it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    The First Major Dissapointment In The HP Series

    I truly found this to be majorly dissapointing...The plot is unexciting and nothing fresh is introduced...Unlike the other HP books, I never found myself excitedly turning the pages, or even caring about what happened...I was never motivated to finish the book. Hopefully, the new HP book will be better, but either way, HP5 lacked orginality or excitement...I pray that this was the only dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    what happened?

    I thought the first four books of the series were awesome. But this book really dissapointed me. What happened to harry? the entire book he is just yelling and complaining. He is just a plain brat which he wasn't at all in the first four books. You can't just change someones character so drastically. Also I felt that this book lacked the big surprise in the end I always loved. This book wasn't a big thing it was just 'filler' in the series. Just because it was by J.k. Rowling and it's harry potter doesn't automatically make it great. There were some good parts (the twins) but overall it was a letdown. I hate to say this being a harry potter fan but what in the world happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Skip this one if you are still a Harry Potter Fan

    Harry wasn't strong and bold, but a moody, snobby teen. And J.K Rowling killed off my favorite character. I will wait for the 6th book and I hope Harry has cleaned up his act. For those who haven't read the 5th yet don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    2 years was 2 long...

    2 wait for this book. While it was Harry it could have used a bit of the J.K. Rowlings imagination her previous books were known for. It took a third of the book [with very little action] just to return poor Harry to Hogwarts, and then it got dredfully bogged down in anger. I like charcter developement as much as anyone but 'Please' enough is enough and too much,ect.I, for one hope Ms. Rowling, in trying to bring young Harry to maturity alive, can find a happy medium between her original formula and her present addiction to 'over kill at an emotional level', obviously we all care how Harry feels or we wouldn't keep buying the books, but the original formula for his feelings worked pretty well,ie. the popularity of the other four books. In other words 'if it ain't Broke, don't fix it!!' I hope for better in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Not Her Best Work

    J.K. Rowling in the past has written incrediable and spell-binding books that have kept me as a reader in awe. In this book I believe that she could have done better. The fight scenes were awesome, and sad, but the fact remains that not only did this book disappoint me, it also made me question the value of her books.I still recommend it to anyone who is thinking about reading it, it's a good book, but I am disappointed in J.K. Rowling!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    The best one yet

    JKR takes you on a rollercaster ride . You do not knoew whats going to happen next .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Very Dissapointing

    Even though many reviewers have critiqued this book well, I must say that this is a big drop of quality in the Harry Potter Series. The previous installment of this series, <u>The Goblet of Fire</u> was much more involved and realistic. Harry Potter 5 is a real let down. <BR> For example, J.K. Rowling adds much unnecessary plot, stretching the whole book out very far. <BR> Harry also says many unrealistic things. He shouts moodily and is abnormally angry. <BR> Even teens, such as his companions, ron and hermoine, are less strung out as him. <BR> At the end, it seems as though Ms. Rowling just needs someone to die, so she picks Sirius. <BR> Overall, I think for the 6th book, <u>Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince</u> I would perfer quality over quantity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2004

    Quite Disappointing

    Had I not heard of the Harry Potter series before all the hype, I probably would not have read them. However, I picked up a random book one day - Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - and I enjoyed it. This book, Order of the Phoenix however, disappointed me - not as a Harry Potter fan but as a fan of literature. It seemed to me that this book was simply a money-grab. The ending showed no originality and it was as if J.K Rowling became stuck and simply took the easy, unimaginative way out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Just not worth reading.....

    I read books 1-4. My husband read 5 and wasn't too impressed. I picked it up and wanted to put it down. Harry was a brat and his character just got worse with every chapter. I finish feeling depressed and not looking forward to the next. Book four got me hooked, book five lost my excitment for the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Okay book for Great series

    This book had no real plot, while the other 4 books centered around one goal or object, this book drifted off into nothing really. Skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    A terribl book

    i do not like this book.... its to dull and dark. I like most of J.k.'s books but this was a unexpected book, its so much money for a dark and boring book, but i have to say things get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    A TRUE DISAPOINTMENT

    J.K Rowlings Harry Potter has been a world wide succes, though this latest book has been a disapointement it was not worth the 4 year wait. Rowling could have done a much better job with the 5th book, she made several errors such as how James (harry's father) was never a prefect, than how did he becom head boy? She also makes Hermonie waaaaaaay too perfect, she is the one who gives the emotional advice, comes up with the plans, is the logical one, plus she has all the brains--I think Rowling needs to nod it down a couple of notches! This book was a true disapointment and was not as great as it could have been. She has denied her readers what they truly deserve. Not to mention now Rowling plans on making us wait about another 4years for the 6th book my only say is it better be good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    what was rowling thinking

    I can't believe i waited in line at midnight to read this! after four awesome books i quess it was to much to hope that the 5th would be just as good. the plot made almost no sense. like she just threw the book together at the very last second and didn't care how it turned out. the whole thing with the profecy was pointless. and rowling did a good job of making us dislike dumbledore, who used to be one of my favorite characters. i'm to the point that there is no way i'll wait in line for over an hour for the 6th. my whole family has loved these books, but rowling is doing a good job of killing that. we all agree if she didn't feel like writing the book herself she should have had someone else do it. someone who actually cares how the books turn out!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

    Sorry HP fanatics... This book was dumb. The first four were a little bit cool but not this one. What's with all the charachters? They all changed, and NOT for the better. Harry suddenly this super angry kid, Hermione's even more of a know-it-all than ever, Dumbledore is mean now, and if that wasn't enough, Rowling added a terible new professor. I mean, reall, I was turned off. Didn't even finish the book what with all the stupid things about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    The worst book in the serie

    I think J.K. Rowing can do a better job of writting the book. I'm personally obbseesed about Harry Potter and waited the whole night in the store for it to come out. It's obvious the she's getting tired of Harry Potter and i don't blame her. Again, she can do a better job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5