BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5851 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4667)

4 Star

(722)

3 Star

(293)

2 Star

(94)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

The Best Yet of the Series.

I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships de...
I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships deepening. If you ever feared the Harry Potter books were too kid-ish for you, this book will cure you of that fear. Harry is growing up, and so are our reader's expectations for him. Ms. Rowling does not disappoint in this book, and you will be cheating yourself if you skip this fine read.

posted by DarthAzard13 on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a...
When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a letter on both the NOOK and the computer because the typing was in different formats. $10 dollars wasted. Don't do it because it is stupid, frustrating, and a waste of time.

posted by HooverNZ on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Ksjencjdn

    I loved all the harry potter books before this but this book never caught on. It was boring in the begining.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    What think

    As Harry gets older he gets a bit too pushy. He is making himself feel like an outcast.J.k Rowling knows who to be in the minf of teens

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    ??????

    This was a ok book my fav so far is the 6th book ( i just finshed it!) But trust me read past this one and you getnto thebest 2 yer!!! I am reading the last one niw it is great worderful!!!! You can tell i love hp books!!! Haha
    - harmony ps my name is like hermione's name!(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Good book

    Amazing, really amazing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    AWESOME

    This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Harrypotterlover

    REALLY GOOD BOOK!!! SO SAD WHEN SIRIUS BLACK DIED BUT I WAS HAPPY WHEN UMBRIDGE GOT TAKEN AWAY!!! BOY DID SHE DESERVE IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    .........

    This book is really hard to get through... the movie is way better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    To monique jackson never put ur real name

    No offence guys but u cant trust anyone - Spop103

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    So saw this at a Barnes and Noble. Finally read this one and whi

    So saw this at a Barnes and Noble. Finally read this one and while I like it, at the same time it I don't know, just, moments where you're like, then got annoyed, then near the end, wow, just wow. 3.5 is a good one. Pretty good and love the writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!! :)

    This is a grate book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    To person below me

    I dont care i have a right to my opinon and you dont have the right to judge me it is rude and mean let me ask u a question are you proud of cyber bullying cause you seem like one. Your bookie. Devin the girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    : (

    I wish that all of the books after the prisoner of azkaban did not all ways have a sad ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Very good.

    I was a little disapointed when Harry got an additude. Though I understand why he had one I was still disapointed. It was very sad when you-know-what happened. Over all it was a great book. A bit scary for kids under 12. Bye....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Cost?

    Homuch does it cost? it dosent say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Least

    Least favorite

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is actually my least favorite of all the books. We meet Lun

    This is actually my least favorite of all the books. We meet Luna Lovegood, a character i never got attached to. This is just such an unhappy harry potter book. I was dissapointed :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Probably my least favorite

    The least-favorite book of the entire series for many readers. It's more than a bit tedious at the beginning, and then we get the worst teacher ever: Umbridge! However, maintain through this book, because a lot that happens is important to to rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Storyguy

    Harry potter did very good with this book but comparing to the goblet of fire this one didnt bring it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Not as good

    This one for me was really hard to keep up with because it really tie in with the other books but it still a good read but I'm only giving it 3 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    WOW RON!!!!

    I can't beleave rons a prefect!!!!!!!!!!! :)*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15