Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5766 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4599)

4 Star

(717)

3 Star

(289)

2 Star

(94)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

The Best Yet of the Series.

I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships de...
I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix, and found it to stand head-and-shoulders above the last 4 entries in the series. Without giving any spoilers away, I will state that although (as always) Harry's struggles are increasing, so are his friendships and relationships deepening. If you ever feared the Harry Potter books were too kid-ish for you, this book will cure you of that fear. Harry is growing up, and so are our reader's expectations for him. Ms. Rowling does not disappoint in this book, and you will be cheating yourself if you skip this fine read.

posted by DarthAzard13 on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a...
When I tried to buy it on pottermore on the NOOK, it kept on saying there was an error. Then I tested the wifi, and it worked. So I bought the book from the computer and sent it as a gift to myself. Well, that was stupid because you couldn't tell what was a number and a letter on both the NOOK and the computer because the typing was in different formats. $10 dollars wasted. Don't do it because it is stupid, frustrating, and a waste of time.

posted by HooverNZ on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    Some things are overrated...Harry Potter is not.

    When I picked up the first novel, I did so out of curiosity. 30 minutes after that I could not put it down. I am 21 years old, so being freshly out of high school back then, I didn't want to read anything, (after the silliness one must endure during that time). But J. K. Rowlin tells a story about an unfortunate little boy, in an extraordinary way; written so that even 6 year-olds can enjoy it. This story, the way is it written and how it unfolds, is trully compellingly told and genuinely delighful. As things unveill, they do so with such care for details, and does not insult one's intelligence. It makes you fell as if you are with this boy, along the way cheering him on and comforting him when he needs it. Lastly, the author writes with a humourus undertone (even more so than many so-called comedies out there), that it makes you laught with the book, not at it.

    29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    I thought this book was great! This book is definitely giving way to the more darker books in the series! Everything is no longer simple or easy for Ron, Harry, and Hermione, but in fact extremely life threatening and difficult as the most powerful dark wizard has returned with a vengeance!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

    In yet another good book in the Harry Potter series, I find this one to be a little off. Don't get me wrong it's still a excellent read for Harry's fans but I found this one to be drawn out a little to much. For me it waste a lot of pages for nothing. I think it could have been better spend on other things, revealing items or issues that have not come out yet. But all in all it's still good. After the Goblet of Fire book, Harry finds himself with trials of his own. Thinking about what happened it the last few months. Dudley finds out a little about Harry's other side. We meet yet again new and exciting character's. In the war that is now getting ready to take place between the Order and the Death Eaters. We get to go inside the Ministry of Magic. A look inside the goverment of the magical world. How corruption takes place even there. Harry learns more about himself. The way the Ministry of Magic is described is wonderfully written. I could see how the place was laid out in my mind. <BR/>The battle scenes were great.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Decently good.

    I love the Harry Potter books so far and I have just finished this one. I like it a lot but there is one very AMAZING character that the author killed off and I am very very very sad!!! Other than that this book was very good. It had a lot of suspenese, drama, adventure and mystery. Overall a very good read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    My least favorite of the series

    This is my least-favorite Harry Potter book. It's no fault of the writing, and probably partly a function of being a middle book. It's really all exposition, from the larger view of the series, and it's all depressing exposition.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Better than the others.

    The othr books ( the first, second and third ) were very perdictable. Though when I read the fourth book, I could not put the book down. Curiosity strained me! I thought about this book during my fith grade courses, during climing, everywhere I went I had my mind on this book. Along with the interessting story, this book was yet very well written! J.K. Rowling has a wonderful talent. I have all ready put the sixth book ( Harry Potter and the half blood prince ) on my wish list. I recomend this book for all fith graders!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    a

    a

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent book from J.K. Rowling

    The story of Harry Potter continues in the Order of the Phoenix. I enjoyed this book because of all the magic and mystery that is characteristic of a Harry Potter novel. My only complaint is that I do not think I read it fast enough. Because I was reading this book while waiting for class to start, or in little bits while I had time I feel like I missed out on some of the excitement. Never the less, this was a great book and it seeemed to be a turning point from happy go lucky wizard story, to dark and evil wizard story. I look forward to the next two books, and over all the Order of the Phonenix was excellent.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Follow-up to the First Four

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is just as entertaining as the first four books in the series. The beginning of the story and the middle of the story just inform the reader of Harrys newly realized connection to Lord Voldemort. The readers also learn about The Order of the Phoenix, which is basically an anti-Voldemort group of people. In the end of the book readers will come across the entance to a secret room, a glass ball containing a prophency, and a tragic death of one of Harry's closest friends. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a great book, and I highly reccomend it to all Fantasy, Mystery, and Adventure fans.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There is trouble coming to Hogwarts

    This book was my least favorite in the whole series because it felt as if it lacked the clear direction the other stories had. I didn't care for the change in attitude of a lot of the students or the Ministry of Magic and their stepping in to take control of Hogwarts. I like that when things start going in a direction some of the students don't like, they take matters into their own hands and find a way to teach themselves how to defend themselves against the dark arts. It was very interesting to see Harry have some one-on-one time with Professor Snape while he is being taught the art of occlumency. By chance, Harry is able to read some of Snape's secret memories and gains some insight as to what happened to Snape when he was a student. Harry is also getting more and more visions of what Lord Voldemort is planning. All of these things are much more difficult and disturbing problems which Harry must find a way through, but he doesn't have to face things alone. It's good to see who Harry's real friends are when things get tough.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Four out of Five Stars

    The Fifth book in the Harry Potter Series, 'Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix' is a very good stepping stone book. It is not one of my favorites. The first time I read it, I found it very hard to get through with Harry's angst personality, however at the end of the book you discover why he was behaving that way all along. Reading it a second time, I found it much more enjoyable. While it is not the best work of the series, there always has to be a 'worst book' I suppose and in this case, I would say this is it. You need to read it as it has some major plot twist within it, just be prepared. I still give the book four out of five stars.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a great HP novel

    A great book to add to my collection!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A delight but I could feel the series ending....

    I loved the Harry Potter series, and completely agree that it is a "must read" for children and adults alike. Another delightful read but I could tell at this point that the series would be ending....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix review

    I read the first Harry Potter book when I was about seven years old so it was basically the first "thick" chapter book I had ever read and I thought it was the best book ever. I'm am happy to say that the books are even better and that I still enjoy them as much as I did back then. After I had finished reading the fourth Harry Potter (Goblet of Fire) I was convinced that none of the other books that came after would be able to top and I stay convinced. Needless to say I still thought book was excellent. I supplied plenty of action and more than enough suspense needed to get a reader hooked on the book. It also has a little bit of romance which I have nothing against but am not absolutely thrilled and excited knowing that it is in the book. It also introduces a lot of new character and answers a lot of old questions.

    MBK 8th grade.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still Great, but not my favorite...

    I am a big Harry Potter fan, but this book was not my favorite in the series. I still really enjoyed it though. The beginning was very slow. Harry is definitely growing up. But Order of the Phoenix reveals a lot of important info for the series such as why he has to stay with the Dursleys and why Voldemort attacked his family when he was a baby. There also is a significant death. Well, im off to the library for Half Blood Prince...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Would have given 4.5 stars...

    This was a great book. My only complaints are that the begining was a little slow and the whole book is really long. Other than that it's just as good as the others in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    overall it's a good book

    so far this is the only harry potter book that started out a bit slow. though it did get good toward the middle and got VERY interesting toward the end. overall, i liked this book and am satisfied.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix is the 5th book in the Harry Potter series and is about a school of witchcraft and wizardry called Hogwarts. By: Joel Mcwhorter

    The book starts off with Harry getting in a fight with his fat step brother named Dudley. Harry gets very mad and almost puts a spell on him, but right before he does the sun goes down and storm starts. Harry and Dudley get scared and take off running, and hide in a tunnel. While they're in the tunnel two beasts appear and start sucking the souls out of both of their bodies. Luckily Harry pulls out his wand in the middle of this and puts a spell on both of the beasts. Harry was okay but Dudley was mentally harmed from this. When Harry and Dudley go home the parents notice something is wrong with Dudley and they ask him who did it to him and he points at Harry. Harry soon gets a letter in the mail from Hogwarts saying that he is expelled from Hogwarts for using spells outside of Hogwarts and that he will have to go to court for it. When Harry goes to court he explains why he had to use a spell outside of Hogwarts and the judge doesn¿t believe him but the jury votes to let him off. When the year begins there is a new professor that is very mean. As the year goes on she continues to ban more and more privileges that the students have which make everyone strongly dislike her. Harry starts having nightmares every single night about Voldemort coming back and having to fight him again. A lot of people don¿t believe that Voldemort is back but some people know it¿s true. One of the professors tell Harry that the reason he keeps dreaming this is because Harry has a connection with Voldemort and that he is trying to take over and control Harry¿s mind and drive him insane. Harry dreams that Vodemort has grown in strength and has more powers and spells that Harry cannot defeat on his own. Harry starts a club and begins teaching a bunch of students at Hogwarts a variety of very difficult spells, so that together they can defeat the dark wizard Voldemort. I thought this was a good book but not as good as the original Harry Potter. I recommend this book to anyone who liked any other Harry Potter book or for anyone of any age that has wide imagination.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    This is the best book of the series

    Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix is a suprising, entertaining book. The main characters are Harry,Ron and Hermione.The main characters broke the rules that could deffinetly get them expelled from Hogwarts the Witchcraft school they have been attending for there fourth year now. By this point all of them are very known around the school espically Harry Potter. My favorite character is Ron Weassly because he never fights to make people stop teasing him. I can't relate to the character Ron because I don't like to be teased. I also find ways to make them stop teasing me by usually fighting back. I loved the book; every page was exciting.I recommend this book to people who like fiction and have questions after every chapter. I am one of those people who hate reading and have to be forced to do it, but this is one of those books that i just didnt wanna set down i really enjoyed it and it was a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

    I really enjoyed ¿Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix¿. I believe that J.K. Rowling did an excellent job in writing this book. I think she was trying to set a dark and gloomy tone which was similar to the third book of the series. This basically sets up the big ending for the last two books. In this book, Harry is accused of using magic outside of school. There is a trial and Dumbledore helps Harry so he can continue attending Hogwarts School of Wizardry. Harry goes back to Hogwarts and before long Cornelius Fudge (the minister of the Ministry of Magic) appoints the defense against the dark arts teacher named Delores Umbridge as headmaster of Hogwarts. Because Fudge has so much power, he kicks Dumbledore out along with other teachers who he was suspicious of. Umbridge didn¿t allow the students to learn spells so Harry and his friends, Hermione and Ron join together with other students to learn defensive spells. I believe Umbridge was a perfect character that Rowling made for this book. She is nice at first, but then the more you got into the book, you realize she is very evil. I think Rowling really shows us how much Harry has matured over the five books. Ron is definitely not as strong and powerful as Harry, but you can tell how close these two have become. Without Ron, Harry wouldn¿t be as strong as he is because Ron is such a good friend and always supports and defends Harry. Hermione also really helps in this book. One example is when she and Harry decide to teach magic to a lot of kids from Hogwarts in order to fight off the ¿dark lord¿. Without Hermione in the book, it would lack a lot of love and adventure. I thought the plot was very well written. This book is easy enough for children of at least 8 years old to understand. This book contains a lot of action, humor, romance and adventure. I believe this is the best Harry Potter book that I have read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36