Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3436 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2775)

4 Star

(457)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Very good

The Harry Potter books are definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the books from start to finish.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment to the Harry Potter Series

I absolutely love the Harry Potter series, it is by far my favorite book series. The Prisoner of Azkaban was good,, but for a Harry Potter book it was a disappointment due to it's lack of action

posted by hello113 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3437 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 172
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    The Harry Potter books are definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the books from start to finish.

    55 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    Harry Potter: from a teenager's perspective

    This book's title is excellent. It fits the book but it doesn't make entirely perfect sense until further in. However, like the first two, getting absorbed in the story is simple. After the first Harry Potter book, which I started out reading because I wanted to see if it was as good as everyone said, I couldn't put it down. It was like escaping to another world. I know that is probably an overused phrase but it fits in this case. I could get away from my stressful school life, homework, siblings, and nice but sometimes annoying friends, but also identify with the characters. Harry's story is so wildly and exotically different, yet so true for almost everyone who has ever gone to school or had an annoying family. Not only that but the story is enthralling. What started out as pleasure reading to 'get away' became a quest to find out what would happen next with each page of all three books. I started the first book right after the second came out, and finished the second a week after the third came out. Now the rumor is that new additions will be released once a year. The 7-book series will be completed when I am 17. They can't come out fast enough for me!!! The only book I've read that tops these is 'The Last Silk Dress' by Ann Rinaldi but it is not like these books at all. I have varied tastes. I hope you enjoy Harry Potter

    38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Best book ever!!!

    I am 11 andI have read all the HPs. This is my favorite book out of all seven. If you were bored in the second book (I was not, but I know some people were) and are wondering if you should read the third, read it. All the books are better after the second especially the third. JK Rowling is an amazing author and to all of you that have not finished the series keep on reading, you won't be disappointed!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    In depth and intriguing

    Like #1 and #2 of the Harry Potter books, Prisoner of Azkaban is great. A bit more chilling and adult-like, but just as enjoyable as the others. I just finished this and I am quite the J.K. Rowling fan. I like everything she puts into her books - ancient myth, monsters, magic, witchcraft, and all else I enjoy. Can't wait to read #4.

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun reading

    A great installment to the series, alot better and more thrilling than the first two, just some of the characters got a little annoying, but this is still a great book

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!~

    J.K. Rowling never fails to provide an excellent story for her readers! The writing is amazing and our journey through Hogwarts keeps getting darker and darker as Lord Voldemort inches into the story even more!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    Simply outstanding! Plot, characters, imagination beyond compare!!

    My 9 year daughter asked me to read this, as she loved it. I can't imagine a more brilliant and talented author. Everyone with a bit of child in him or her must read this book!! Gripping, suspenseful and heart rendering at the end! Enjoy!!!!

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Harry Potter

    from Murphy's Library

    Harry Potter's life isn't easy, we all know that. And it gets worse when a prisoner escapes from Azkaban-but, hey, isn't this the wizard's prison, the one from where nobody has ever escaped?-and everyone believes he's coming after the boy who survived. As expected, everybody gets overprotective and Potter, of course, gets himself in trouble all the time.

    This book has some awesome highlights. We finally get to know a little bit of Hogsmeade, and I found myself daydreaming I could shop on those stores-something that me and Guta are totally going to do this summer, when we're going to the Harry Potter park in Orlando!-, we find out more about Harry's dad and his friends and there's also the Dementors, creatures Rowling created based on her depression phase. Oh, and we get to know more about Snape, one of the best characters on this entire series, in my opinion!

    What else can I say about Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban? I liked the Hippogriff flight much more on the movie than on the book, and I laughed a lot with Trelawney and her crazy talks. And I liked the fact that this book shows that not all the bad guys are Slytherins-something that people usually don't remember whenever I say that I'd totally be a Slytherin if my owl hadn't gotten lost on my 11th birthday!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book series way better than the movies

    amazing book series by j k rowling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    A Disappointment to the Harry Potter Series

    I absolutely love the Harry Potter series, it is by far my favorite book series. The Prisoner of Azkaban was good,, but for a Harry Potter book it was a disappointment due to it's lack of action

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Ummm

    How much does it cost on nook color???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Series Excellence Continues!!!!!

    Third book in the series only gets better then the others. One of the best in the whole series!!! More information into Harry's family changes everything with more twists and turns throughout the whole thing!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book series by j k rowling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very start to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Wicked good book!!!

    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling is an exciting fantasy novel that tells the tale of three friends who go on an adventure, and end up in trouble more than ever. Harry Potter and his two best friends Hermione Granger and Ronald Weasely try to solve the mystery behind murderer Sirius Black and their new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Professor Lupin. Harry learns to defend himself from dementors. He learns more about his fathers past. Hermione has a secret of her own and Harry tries to figure it out with Ron's help. Hagrid gets a new pet and becomes a teahcer. This book is full of new surprises. This book has many negatives and positives. A positive is that it keeps you entertained throughout the novel. The plot is very unpredictable. It changes multiple times so you never know what to expect. Another positive is that the characters are very unusual. Their personalities range so you may be able relate to some of them. J.K. Rowling's writing style is also very good. It is very clear and understandable. It isn't confusing. J.K. Rowling also writes in third person limited narrator from Harry's point of view. There are many feast scenes in the novel. J.K. Rowling shows great sensory details. She also describes everything very carefully so you can picture the novel with figurative language. A negative for this book is that it is in the middle of a series. You may be confused if you read this book before the first and second. Another negative is that there are multiple problems in the novel so it can confuse you. I recommend this book for a few reasons. One reason is that it is in a series so it could give you something good to read for a while. Another reason is that it is fun to read. If you play it in your mind like you're at a movie than it's like you're there with the characters. If you liked this book I think you'll like to read the rest of the series. I also recommend other fantasy books such as the Twilight series. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is a great book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    This book is great you must read this book

    My review is on Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban By J.K. Rowling copyright 1999.In Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry is told by numerous people that a person has escaped from Azkaban the most secure prison. Harry goes through a long year at Hogwarts discovering new things and new people. But in the end a traitor is at Hogwarts and the real person is found.Harry found a relative and saves more than one life.In the end a traitor is found and an innocent person is free. He saves more than one life. This book is a fun filled, adventure packed, book that is a great book to read and I would recommend this to my friends and many others.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Ah-Mazing!!

    I'm on the third chapter but I can't put it down for a second. When I'm not reading it I'm think about the next time I will have time to sit back and fall into the realm of witches and wizards!! I highly recommend this series!

    THANK YOU JKR!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    I love this book!!

    THis book is amazing! I read it in a day and I loved it! I have read it like a million times and I still find it funny, action packed and surprising.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Prisoner of Azkaban

    I loved this one. A huge surprise, there are lots in this series.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    I LOVE IT

    This book rox. The entire series is amazing. I love it. I finished the series in June. I read over 300 or 400 pages in 1 weekend to finish the 7th and final Harry Potter book. I'd absolutley recommend this book and the movie.
    I hope i helped.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    ????

    Can u get it without a credit card??

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3437 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 172