Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4235)

4 Star

(782)

3 Star

(280)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(154)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

269 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

A Legend Is Born

So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, loc...
So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

ugh...

they need to make the harry potter series available for the nook!!

posted by 9071003 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 276
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    A Legend Is Born

    So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.

    269 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading all the H.P. books from start to finish.

    134 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    This Just Might Be My Favorite

    This book pulled me in from the beginning, when Harry was placed on the doorstep. I barely put it down. J.K. Rowling creates a magical world and you feel like you are Harry because you are experiencing Hogwarts for the first time, like him. Even though they are not normal experiences, you feel kind of like him, just thrust in. Thoroughly well written and very enjoyable.

    113 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I am a 20-something reader. I have seen all the Harry Potter movies many, many times and I love them. So naturally I had to read the books before the 6th movie comes out. I'm so happy I did! This book is fun. It is different than the movie and definitly more solid. You get to know the characters and it makes situations that take place more meaningful. I think this is a great book for all ages, like most readers say. Their is nothing I can tell you about this book that the previous reviews haven't already said. 5 stars! It's a brilliant book.

    87 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best series you'll ever read...no matter your age.

    Where to start? J.K. Rowling is an AMAZING author. These books are funny, engaging, entertaining, and way better than the movies. Her books are incredibly rich with detail...so much so, that I know for a fact, you can read them 15 TIMES and still want to read them again and again when new books are scarce. More than that, you take new stuff from them with every read. It's a great book series for any person, of any age. Everyone in my family has read them, and loved every minute of it, my parents included. So don't assume they're just for kids. On the opposite side of that coin, even if you know a kid too young to read it, odds are they'd love to listen to the story if someone read it to them. This series has turned my brothers into readers, when they wouldn't go within 10 feet of a book before. Try it out! You'll love it...all I can say is... get a hardcover...cause a paperback certainly won't last long. lol.

    73 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    The Begining of the Greatest Book Series EVER!!!!

    Quite a few years ago, I was a kid who spent all my time in front of th TV. Always thought books were for nerds. That is why I was so surprised when I got a copy of "Harry Potter" for Christmas. I thought I would never read it. One day I was home sick and the cable boxwas broken. I decided to read "Harry Potter". I finished it that day. I became a reader after that. These books are the best books ever, written by an exelent author. I cannot reccomend them enough! This book marks the begining of the greatest book series ever!

    64 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    ugh...

    they need to make the harry potter series available for the nook!!

    62 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    click here if you have a life

    Harry Potter is one of the very best books I've ever read. This book is about a young boy named Harry who found out he was a very famous wizard! It is filled with danger and excitement on each page. J.K.Rowling is a great author and releases new thoughts by the minute.

    51 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    I loved this book

    I own the original and I'm a huge Harry Potter fan. I couldn't pass up getting the 10th anniversary edition. It's worth reading over and over again. You find out things you didn't notice the first time or two. J.K. Rowling is brilliant. The cover art is beautiful as always. I highly recommend getting this copy. You can never have too many Harry Potter books!!

    49 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When I first heard about the Harry Potter series I was uninteres

    When I first heard about the Harry Potter series I was uninterested. I like vampire books, horror books, and of course chick lit books. However, I had to read it for a children's literature class, and I LOVED IT! What a good book- you do not need to be a child to read this series. I am excited to pick up the next book to see how the series progresses. A+++ for Harry Potter!

    48 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    VERY Dispinted

    I just perchsed a nook Tablet last night and The Harry Poter Books are one of the first set of books i wanted to buy i was all exctied about getting all of the harry potter book on my nook until i found out you had to perchase the Harry Potter Books Trough a Diffrent Store and not here on The Nook Shop hopefully enough people will Comeplain on here and we will be able to perchase the harry potter books here on the nook shop

    31 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    lev924

    great book like the movies really good

    23 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    I love Harry Potter

    I am obsessed with the Harry Potter series! I can't believe that it has been that long since they have been out! I love that they redid the artwork. It looks wonderful! I love that they have Harry looking in the mirror.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    ?

    How much does it cost... all it says is buy

    20 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is probably my third or fourth time reading this book. Just as good as the firsr time I read it!

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Amazing

    I love Harry Potter so much. I have all the books, movies, shirts, legobsets, everything! J.K. Rowling i such a role model to me. I have reade each book multiple times and they keep getting better! Some if the people who write the reviews are idiots who havent read the books. Harry Potter is about love, friendahip, good overpowering evil, and doing whats right in the face of adversity. Twilight, in th eother hand, is about how important it is to have a boyfriend. The Hunger Games is a great book, but the second two bored me half to death. All the HP books are amazing :) Any HG fan will live Harry Potter. Uf you are looking for a romance, a fantasy, an action, or a book that has all of the above, Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone is the book for you

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My childhood lover

    Never before have I read such a treasure than Harry Potter. There is little I can write here than can do this book justice, you just have to read this beautiful piece of literature for yourself.
    Harry Potter's world is magical, and seems so very real at the same time. Though Harry's adventures you can relate to him more than any character you've read about; you'll experience all the emotions you have here. You'll laugh with the characters, cry at their hardest moments, feel a boiling anger at the enemies, and find joy in every reading moment.
    This book will mean less to adults, I find. I grew up with Harry and friends, and Dumbledore was perhaps the best teacher I've ever had. But most adults are just muggles..
    I love you always, Harry Potter.

    16 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Member Chat club

    I never read the book .is it good?

    15 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I love this book

    I love this book. I am happy to have the entire collection in ebook format.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    So happy these books are finally in e-format... but buying books

    So happy these books are finally in e-format... but buying books from other countries and other languages would be also awesome.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 276