Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4268)

4 Star

(784)

3 Star

(281)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(154)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

276 out of 315 people found this review helpful.

A Legend Is Born

So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, loc...
So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 218 people found this review helpful.

ugh...

they need to make the harry potter series available for the nook!!

posted by 9071003 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 5543 Customer Reviews
Page 4 of 278
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Meredith

    Sooooooooo good if you havent read it its insanly AMAZING!!!!!!!¿!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    What!

    Do you really have to order at pottershop?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Love the series... but...

    Its a little rediculous that its on this shop but yet i have to buy it on pottermore... stupid.... because all my book money if from gift cards... so i cant buy it. Absolutely stupid if you ask me.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    One of the worst books

    I love the harry potter movies so I thought I should read the book because I always like the bok better then the movie but this was one movie I liked better then the book. I can't stand Hagrid bad language.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Avoid for your own good

    I recommend no one reads this book. Not only is the plot dull and uninteresting, it is about magic. Magic happens to be a pagan practice. I, as a very devout Christian, have very strong feelings against pagan practices. These things are completely Godless and vile. Any book that encourages it is not to be read by anyone, unless you want to be judged on the Last Day, the Day of Judgment.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Change your purchase power

    This predicatable and pathatic attempt to wirte literature is disgusting and degrading to all of mankind. How clique can people get? Three friends (the main character plus a boy and a girl each with an a-tyical behavior, the smart chick and the funny stupid male with the brave and wonderful main character) the main character everybody wants ,the typical emeny who is just there to be annoying? Seriously people! I've written better garbage in elementary school back in my LD days. Then we got people...people who's intellegence is higher than this screaming around panaking and dressing up and (yes) fighting over who gets the first copy for the book from the local bn on the eve for each of the new books while I'm reading the first one trying to understand why people are going nutty all over this stuff. If everybody in that store used their energy from that night to do other things we'd get a lot more done. None of the books in the series are really worth any of this stuff. Not only this is just a book but it is more importantly a fad. People will see us on TV in 10 years and laugh at us for wanting this material. The people who are considering it the new literature or praise it to the point that Harry Potter will become a classic and will be taught to my grandchildren in 70 years just make me want to puke. I don't think fad equals classic. Fad equals fading whcih will be happeneing after JK releases her next book. If you want classic literature instead of trashy garbage novels that are meant for young children and not mature adults please do not read this stuff.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    A Problematic Beginning...

    No doubt this will be among the less well-recieved reviews. The book as a whole and apart from all else presents very little to be upset about: a nice little children's fairy tale nearly following in Lewis' tradition on the Chronicles of Narnia. But this is both the good and the bad. The fourth book in this series is definitely NOT a children's fairy tale. I speak in reference to such things as Death Eaters, and the grotesque incantation appearing near the end. By the heavy thematic elements of the fourth book, one would easily argue that the books are NOT for children, yet by the simplistic writing style of the first, one would argue that they are not for adults either. This is one of several delimas presented by the Harry Potter books, one that Rowling has herself made plain, admitting that there is no targeted audience. This is a very dangerous thing to do with fantasy literature. I would caution parents about these books. There are FAR better substitutes--literature that can get kids reading without the negative aspects of these books. In place of Harry Potter, the afore-mentioned Narnia tales by C. S. Lewis would be excellent. They not only have the same fantastic appeal, but they are morally sound throughout, enjoyed by children as well as scholars.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Tolkien Copy

    The first though to hit my mind was: what kind of person thinks up this kind of bosh? Jelly beans that taste like snot? That's just plain STUPID. This book is obviously a Tolkien-clone that somehow appealed to little kids, and those who look older but still are. First, the 'Dementors' are pure ringwraiths, without the ring. The bit about Harry's invisibility cape is ridiculous. Who does Rowling think she is? Galadriel, who makes capes for the fellowship? And Dumbledorf? Pure Gandalf. And he- who-must-not-be-named (they say that about Sauron, deservedly too), Voldemort (oops! a capital sin!) is pathetic. The White Witch of Narnia can do better. How lame! To sum it up, I would recommend that the reader, wanting a good fantasy, ignore this bit of nonsensical jibberish. J.K. Rowling certainly knows how to plagiarize. A BAD BOOK! Poorly written, and not very exciting. Woe for the fantasy world!

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    Horrible!!!!!!!

    It had a lot of sorcery and magic and evil things. It might not seem like it, but it's a very bad book. If you don't think so, then the trick is working on you. It is one of the worst books I've ever read, even though it was well written.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    :(!

    I love Harry Potter and since this is a Harry Potter book I am confused why Lord of the Rings is even talked about!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    To:hp

    I do not like you hp rocks

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great series is discovered

    This is NUMBER ONE!!!! If i were to choose which series to read FOREVER, yeah FOREVER, it would be harry potter

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Best book ever

    Best book ever. I love these books, my fav is the 800 pg one, the order of the pheonix. Again the best books ever
    :) ;) :-) ;-)
    (\_____/)
    ( * . * )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I just hate the book because of all that magic. Guys you should

    I just hate the book because of all that magic. Guys you should really read Percy Jackson series THEY ARE THE BEST!! Even the names sounds better!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Y

    I have tried reading this book series three times, and never made it past the third book. I found it a little boring. Sorry Harry Potter fans

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Mine craft sucks

    Harry poter is a lot beter then mine craft.......

    Go out side an play.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Bad

    This book is bad because its talking about magic an GOD does in not like that

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Help

    So I've been trying to get the harry potter books and go to the " pottermore shop '' link and it says "error (504 gateway) does anyone know what that means or what I can do to get the ebook?

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    COME ON PEOPLE!!!

    How much does the book cost to buy from here?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Ug

    How much.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 5543 Customer Reviews
Page 4 of 278