Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5491 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4224)

4 Star

(783)

3 Star

(280)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(151)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

264 out of 302 people found this review helpful.

A Legend Is Born

So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, loc...
So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 212 people found this review helpful.

ugh...

they need to make the harry potter series available for the nook!!

posted by 9071003 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 5492 Customer Reviews
Page 4 of 275
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Love the series... but...

    Its a little rediculous that its on this shop but yet i have to buy it on pottermore... stupid.... because all my book money if from gift cards... so i cant buy it. Absolutely stupid if you ask me.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    crap

    honestly. the plot is MIDLY entertaing (but horribly cliche) and same with the characters. dont get me wrong, i love fantasy. this simply was one of the WORST books EVER written. for any audult-teen fantasy turn to tolkien who is the master of creating a world. for younger readers- try c s lewis. baisically, the writing in this book was horrible. it created a world so cliche its threadbare, with no new details to draw you in. has the author ever heard of ORIGINALLITY??? no, that would be to difficult. where has society's appreciation for good literature gone? a baisic overview: a kid with a tramatic childhood goes to become a wizard. he finds there is an evil plot. he defeats the bad guy. there you have it! you dont have to read the book exept if you want boring descriptions on nasy tasting jelly beans and a cricket-in-the-air matches.

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    :(!

    I love Harry Potter and since this is a Harry Potter book I am confused why Lord of the Rings is even talked about!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great series is discovered

    This is NUMBER ONE!!!! If i were to choose which series to read FOREVER, yeah FOREVER, it would be harry potter

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Best book ever

    Best book ever. I love these books, my fav is the 800 pg one, the order of the pheonix. Again the best books ever
    :) ;) :-) ;-)
    (\_____/)
    ( * . * )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Read me a poem by PAINT

    there once was a boy named Harry destined to be a star. His parents were killed by Voldemort who gave him a lightning scar. YO HARRY! YOUR A WIZARD! (Fifth book) Harry Harry its getting scary Voldemorts back now hes revoulutionary Harry Dumbledore Dumbledore why is he ignoring your constant attempts to contact him. He is forced to leave the school Umbridge arrives Draco's a tool kids break into the ministry and Sirius Black's as dead as can be.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Mine craft sucks

    Harry poter is a lot beter then mine craft.......

    Go out side an play.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Classic In The Making

    This is the first of seven beautifully written works in the series by the wondferful J.K. Rowling. One if the best serieses if all time is before you, abd I'd definitely recommend this read to both children and adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Hdhf

    Harry Potter is one of my favorite series, if you did not enjoy this book or series, you have not yet learned the meaning life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Reading Reviews with Piper

    Since the very first word on the very first page of Harry Potter ad tge Sorcerers stone I was hooked. The book was so interesting I couldnt put it down. I quickly finished the rest of the series savoring every word, every event. Loving or hating every character. I then watched the movies and visited hp world at universal. The sad thing is that is,ts over. Harry will always be part of my life no matter what. And i invite everyine to pick up this book and embark on the journey of Harry Potter

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Stop!

    Ok harry potter is not the best series ever I agree but whoever called it a geek book you know your a big geek my best friend dressed up as herminy so be QUIET! YOU ARE SO RUDE!!): ): ): ):

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Love love love

    This book means more to me than you can understand. The potterhead family is simply amazing. Romione for life. That is all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    It rocks!!!

    You should read the books, then see the movie because the books are WAY different then the movies. If you liked the book or movie hit yes on " did u like it". Harry Potter is a must read!!!! And don't forget Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 and 2!!! Even though J.K Rowling finished making the Harry Potter books and movies, that doesn't mean there over forever!!!! Harry Potter will always be with us!!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Hello, my name is J.K. Rowling. I wanted to thank you fans.

    Hello my wonderful fans. I wanted to thank you for being with Harry through my first book. I sort of wanted to let Ronald Weasley die in the 4th or 5th book. But then i thought, what would my fans think? Have a nice day!






    Haha!!!!!! Gotcha!!! My real name is Ally but J.K. Rowling really did want to have ron die... so sad! Anyways, if ur mad, please dont be. It was just a funny joke to see how many would read this... Bye!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Love

    I read the books in less then a month.i kept rereading the intill my mom told be to get them on my nook because they would be lighter but i couldnt get them because they didnt have the right font.never got the book on my nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    I luv it. This is one of the best books ever. I'm on the fourth book and have luved them all! The movies just ruin the books big time. Get the books skip the movies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Happy birthday!

    Happy birthday 32nd birthday harry james potter!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Beats hunger games any day

    I wish that the series would never end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 5492 Customer Reviews
Page 4 of 275