Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4235)

4 Star

(782)

3 Star

(280)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(154)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

269 out of 307 people found this review helpful.

A Legend Is Born

So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, loc...
So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

ugh...

they need to make the harry potter series available for the nook!!

posted by 9071003 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5504 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 276
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Read me if u dont like harry potter

    IF U HATE HARRY POTTER SCREW U AND GO UP 2 VOLDEMORT AND TELL HIM 2 KILL U!!!!IF HE WONT ASK BELATRIX UF SHE SAYS NO THEB GO 2 THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS AND GET UR SELF EATEN!!!!!!YOU ARE AN IDIOT AND YOU R CRAY CRAY!!!!(crazy)

    12 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    H.P.

    Best book ever

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Gasp

    Amaze

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Infinity Stars If I Could!

    I lov e the series, the movies, EVERYTHING about Harry Potter. Anyone can love this series! I would rate this infinity stars if I could!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Best books ever.

    I do not think that any book will ever compare to the Harry Potter series. They have a magic that no other book has.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    fun book for all ages with imagination!

    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling is a thrilling and compelling book. Harry Potter, the main character, is a wizard but doesn't know it. Shielded by his aunt and uncle, he lives underneath the staircase in their house. one day, his life is forever changed. Receiving a letter from Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, he learns that his parents were powerful witches. Because of this, Harry inherently will grow up to be a powerful wizard too! Adventures and challenges are faced by Harry and his new friends. Multiple aspects of daily life in Hogwarts kept me interested and excited. Quidditch is one of the many unique features Hogwarts has to offer. Harry, hardly knowing how to even fly his broom, is put in the lead position, the seeker. The seeker in quidditch is the player who primarily chases the golden snitch, and if he is successful in obtaining it, it is an automatic and instant win for his team. Harry encounters bullies, a troll, and even the evil sorcerer who killed his parents and left him with a scar on his forehead. It is a very unpredictable book full of surprises. Read the whole series to watch how harry grows, going through personality, physical, and emotional changes. Slowly growing from a timid, shy boy into a courageous, confident young man. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a book of friendship, action, rivalries, and surprises that I recommend to all ages.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    C'mon B&N! I would love to purchase this for my nook with my

    C'mon B&N! I would love to purchase this for my nook with my gift card, not on Pottermore. Why make it available for the nook if you can't even use a Barnes and Nobel gift card to purchase it? Not a lot of thought went into this when you decided to make Harry Potter into a "nook book".

    8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Great book

    This book was great and was so awsome but a little slow

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the third time I¿ve read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer¿s

    This is the third time I’ve read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I really enjoyed reading this along with Pottermore. Pottermore incorporates a lot of the details mentioned in the story. It was fun to pay attention to the little details this time since I know the story so well. I also liked reading the bonus material she wrote on Pottermore – it adds a lot to the story. I don’t know if I realized this before, but J.K. Rowling is excellent at showing and not telling. For example: “[Mr. Dursley] hummed “Tiptoe Through the Tulips” and as he worked, jumped at small noises.” She doesn’t have to say that he’s starting to lose it because I’ve decided that for myself. The books have so many fun characters that aren’t in the movies. I love how optimistic and humble Harry is. I also like how light-hearted and quirky the books are. The movies tend to focus on the darker aspects of the story. I never get tired of reading these books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Don't Read It!!!!

    Don't read!! it is soo boring i could barely make it through the first 10pgs!! But I thought well it might get better if i keep on reading so it did and it never got less boring!!! Hated it!!

    7 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Annon

    Does anyone get excited when the harry potter weekend comes on?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Read pleqse

    Best book ever

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    disappointed

    I was disappointed. I only read four out of seven books and started the fifth book but I found them kinda slow. All of the books were slow. They got kinda good after like SIX or SEVEN chapters. I'm thinking about restarting the fifth book but I'm reading a better series at the moment. Before I started reading the series a few people told me that they were boring at first but they get better.... well I sorta agree. Sorry J. K. Rowling but I think Stephenie Meyer, Ellen Schreiber, and Annette Curtis Klause are better writers.

    6 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    'WHOAZA'

    Wow i love this series. I've read every book in the series 13 times and im on my 14th. My favorite is the last, but the first is my second fave. You could say I'm obsessed.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Best Series Ever Invented

    When I was 7, I was told to read the Harry Potter books. I despised Harry Potter. It seemed stupid and pointless. Then my friends started saying "Oh Harry Potter is the best" so I gave it a shot. I read the first book and instantly fell in love with them. I bought all the books and movies and decided that after reading each book, I would watch the movie for it. HARRY POTTER- THE BEST BOOK AND MOVIE SERIES EVER!!!!!!!! .J.K. Rowling is my favorite author ever.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Wow wow wow

    Read it your life depends on it

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    DUUMMBBB

    I like harry potter, but why cant u just buy it from bn instead of pottermore! Wamted it so bad until i figured out it would be.charged to credit card.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    A Great book

    Before I really didnt like harry potter. I read the first page and I didnt like it. Now I cant stop reading it. It is a great book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Im so happy that the seiries is finally an e-book!

    SQEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE im a little bit exited about it. Sqee.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Coo Cool

    I think the books are better than the movies because the books have a better perspective of harry and his frends the books

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5504 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 276