Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5389 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4144)

4 Star

(775)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(144)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

240 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

A Legend Is Born

So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, loc...
So I refused to read Harry Potter for years. I saw the first two movies, and lost my interest. I could never understand the hype surrounding this children's book. Then the book Seven came out, and all my seemingly mature, professional friends stormed the bookstores, locking themselves in their apartments for four days, emerging with a glow unparalleled to any I have seen. A sheep that I am, I decided to not stand out and bought the first Harry Potter book. A day later I emerged from my dwelling, smile on my face and a need to read more about Harry. Whoever said that Harry was for kids only? For shame! J.K. Rowling is one of those rare novelists who write flawlessly, capturing imagination, hopes and dreams, addressing children and adults alike. Great story line, clear messages and a whole new world to explore are just some of the attributes of the first Harry Potter. Harry, a wizard by birth and unaware of it, is 11 and living with his mother's sister and her family. An orphan, Harry is treated as such in a very Dickensonian way by his adopted family, who detests Harry for being different. That all changes when Harry starts attending Hogwarts, a school for wizards and witches, where a whole new world unfolds before him. The new school is not without dangers, and Harry learns the truth about his parents' deaths, as well as about the lightning shaped scar on his own forehead that made Harry a celebrity in the world of witchcraft. A fantastic novel that kept me yearning for more. And thankfully, there IS more. Highly recommeded.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 198 people found this review helpful.

ugh...

they need to make the harry potter series available for the nook!!

posted by 9071003 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 775 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is probably my third or fourth time reading this book. Just as good as the firsr time I read it!

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Read me if u dont like harry potter

    IF U HATE HARRY POTTER SCREW U AND GO UP 2 VOLDEMORT AND TELL HIM 2 KILL U!!!!IF HE WONT ASK BELATRIX UF SHE SAYS NO THEB GO 2 THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS AND GET UR SELF EATEN!!!!!!YOU ARE AN IDIOT AND YOU R CRAY CRAY!!!!(crazy)

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    like

    I love it

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Excellent book, I alway like reading it.

    Excellent book, I alway like reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Good Imagination. Little Lacking.

    Ms. Rowling demonstrates superb imagination in this first installment of the Harry Potter series. Her composition style quite attention holding, and I had a hard time stopping each time I got going with Harry. I felt the book might have been too dark for some children in some places, and I felt that a few significant moral lessons were missing from the book-- although there were many good moral lessons in Harry Potter. I particularly did not like the approach to authority figures. Among the things Harry learned, it seems that 'respect' was not one of them-- still, Harry Potter is a very well written book, and the good outweighs the bad so I am giving it four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Okay

    I am just saying this but Harry turns mean.Read this book but not the others.Hermoine should be better than Harry as a wizard.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    SAMMIE I WILL SUCK YER BOoBS

    You walk in the room naked and i start sucking your huge boobs and then you kiss my dick and we start sticking our face in each others butt and then we take a shower together and then we get into bed naked and you lick my butt. The next morning we get up and lay on each other naked. Respond to Jake for nook sex. You are the hottest thing ever with the biggest boobs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    This is the best book ever

    I love this book i would get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    I dont

    I dont like tge author. She is very shelffish

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Harry potter

    Reading harry potter for the first time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Good book but...

    There is so much more she could have done with the first couple books that shebdid with the rest im not trying to say its not a good book it is amazing i just think she couldve done more she is an amazing author with a wonderfull imagination and i hope that she continues to write and to stay openminded there are not many authors like her that can show you a whole world without things begining to run into eachother this is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    GO TO MAGIC 101

    AWESOME CHATROOM THERE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Best seller

    Amazing book lots of peopl will love this amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Is this free

    I just want to make sure so if someone could tell that would help please and thankyou! I really like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Ethab

    Keeps kissing grabbing ur a ss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Poop head 73

    Good adventure great friendship

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Listen up. Listen up.

    If you ever see Listen up in a review, read it. Im rating all the books. Well anway, if you want to start this, you better rralize that about when get to #4, its gonna go to 700 pages. Make sure that u are old enough! This book is only 4 and i thibn the movie explains more. Bye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Harry's real parents were killed by Voldemort, an evil wizard, w

    Harry's real parents were killed by Voldemort, an evil wizard, when he was just a baby. Harry survives and was marked by a lightning-bolt scar on his forehead. For ten years, Harry lives with his awful relatives who are not wizards. To his relief, he gets an invitation to study at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry by Hagrid. Harry will do anything to get of living with the Dursleys. Harry makes friends, learns to play the sport Quidditch, and uncovers a three-headed dog that guards a secret. Meanwhile, he must deal with Professor Snape, who hates him, and Draco Malfoy, a snotty student. Harry eventually discovers the mystery of the Sorcerer's Stone. The stone holds magic powers of immortality and is exactly what Voldemort is after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    If you bought this please answer...

    How much is it? I beg you, pleeeeeaaase tell me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 775 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39