Customer Reviews for

Harry the K: The Remarkable Life of Harry Kalas

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    great book

    can not wait to finish the book! im a huge phillies fan! we got cliff lee!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Harry the K is so awesome

    Hk rocks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Enlightening Story of an Icon of Broadcasting

    Harry was a big part of my life listening to Phillies baseball. He was a dedicated man who did his homework. I was glad to read about his lifes trials and tribulations. Very entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    MUST HAVE FOR PHILLIES AND FANS AND BASEBALL PURISTS

    As a lifelong Phillies fan and local, I was shocked (and thrilled) about how much original material was contained in this biography of the irreplaceable Harry the K. Some of the details showed Harry at his most human, his most weakest, but Randy's research proved that Harry was what all of us who loved him knew with Harry - what you see is what you get. This book is a great read - background is very thorough, with interesting details on Harry's start in Hawaii and Houston. It also explores the "Wheels" issue, Harry's marriages, and the ripple effect he had on all outside of the baseball world. Overall, a great read - I highly recommend to every Phillies fan and baseball purist who realize what a treasure Harry was and continues to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    The complete biography of Harry

    What a great read. A must for any Phillies/Harry fan. Lots of juicy information, especially the incident with Bill Conlin, and the backstabbing by Chris Wheeler to Harry AND Rich Ashburn. Outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Well researches and written book about a man millions love!

    Many across the country may not know "Harry the K", but nonetheless, you need to read this book! You may start out not knowing who he was, and it pains me to use that in the past tense, but you likely knew his voice.

    This is a story about a solitary, humble man, whose tremendous kindnesses and generosity became legend to the millions who came to know him.

    People outside of the broadcasting reach of Philadelphia heard his Campbell Chunky Soup commercials, his Coors Light promotions and many, many others.

    He picked up the mantel when John Facenda, the man known as NFL Films' "Voice of God" left us. He did Notre Dame football and basketball. He was the voice of Westwood One's weekly NFL radio broadcast.

    But, to those of us in reach of the Philadelphia airwaves, Harry was for thirty-eight years our closest friend and the play-by-play announcer for the Phillies.

    Along the way, as Mike Jack Schmidt eulogized him, "If you can look past Ben Franklin and William Penn, Harry Kalas might have been the greatest person to ever grace Philadelphia".

    I consider myself somewhat a student of history. Schmidt was right!

    This is a book that will interest you, captivate you, make you laugh, anger you and make you cry; the latter especially so if you are from Philadelphia or its surrounds. In fact, the final three chapters are absolutely heart-wrenching!

    This is not a book about baseball. It's not a book about Philadelphia. It is a very well researched and written book by Randy Miller about a wonderful, wonderful fun loving, good man, who had flaws like the rest of us. But, boy, what virtues! As for now, I'm "outta heeeeere!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1