Customer Reviews for

Harvest

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    HARVEST

    a MUST read! I couldn't put it down for 2 1/2 days!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!

    I couldn't put this book down. The suspense, twists & turns kept me interested until the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    A must

    Once you start you won't want to stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Best book I've read in a long time

    Medical suspense is my favorite and this book is possibly the best I've read. Could've put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    FelineMom

    I read this in original hardcover when it first was released. Excellent first novel...and I have been reading her books faithfully ever since. Robin Cook & Michael Palmer...move over!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    EXCELLENT THE BEGINNING IS VERY IMPORTANT. THIS IS A THRILLI

    EXCELLENT THE BEGINNING IS VERY IMPORTANT. THIS IS A THRILLING READ ALL THE WAY THROUGH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great read...

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Good read

    I really liked this book. Very thrilling and liked the twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book was a fantastic read. I was disappointed when I read the last page, I wanted more. This is my first book on the matter of organ donor/transplant. I never realized that it truly becomes a matter of life or death and how long the waiting list is for an organ. The only main character in this story is Abbey. I didn't really connect with her character because she was so busy being a doctor. Abbey didn't have a life, she was too focused on her career. Mark just seemed to be a background character, nothing interesting about him, except his greed and betrayal. There didn't seem to be any real chemistry between Abbey and Mark. This book only focused on the drama of the organ transplants, the greed that it generated and what people with money and influence will do to become a recipient. I recommend this book, it's an exciting and interesting read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent medical thriller.

    I really liked HARVEST by Tess Gerritsen. It had a fantastic storyline that kept me wanting more. The plot was original and the details of the medical issues were very interesting. The characters were great too. I would recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Awesome+read

    Read+this+when+it+was+first+written+and+it+was+so+good+that+I+still+think+about+it+whenever+I+renew+my+DL+and+check+the+donor+box%21%21

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great medical thriller! Nightstand Book Review by Patti Phillips

    A young, talented surgical resident is recruited to become a future member of Bayside Hospital's organ transplant team. Seems perfect - a dream job where she will be doing something she loves while working with her fiancée. The catch? She and a colleague take a heart listed in a donor registry for their dying teenage patient, but somehow slated at the last moment for a wealthy woman who is number three on the donor list. The husband of the rich patient is incensed and tries to ruin her career. Terrible murder accusations are made, but no one believes in her innocence except her colleague and friend who did the organ harvest with her. She wonders whom she can trust, especially when the origin of the transplant heart becomes suspect. This action packed novel is full of surgical detail along with personal, legal and professional drama. A parallel story of potential transplant donors (involving the Russian Mafia) is tragic and horrifying at the same time. Organ harvesting is certainly not new, but in 1996, when this book was first published, the medical community in the U.S. was undergoing yet another review of the process of matching donors with recipients. It had been legal to donate organs for over thirty years, but as transplants of all types became routinely successful, doctors of the gravely ill sought more donors. It became important to establish a national clearinghouse for the available organs, ranking potential recipients by need for the organ, not by income level. This ranking eliminated questions of unfairness, but wasn't foolproof. Enter a new phase for the medical thriller. A bit of literary trivia: "Harvest" mentions a paralyzing drug, succinylcholine. This drug is widely used by anesthesiologists to induce muscle relaxation during surgery, but in the wrong dose can cause wide-awake paralysis. If you enjoy medical thrillers, you might remember the same drug used in Cook's "Foreign Body" (published in 2008) with very different results. Great read! (Rated R for language and adult situations)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great read!!!!

    As always with this author I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Awesome

    had you on the edge of your seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Absolutely OUTSTANDING and NAIL-BITING read!

    I just finished this book yesterday and was so sad to see it end. The ending left me with some unanswered questions, but the journey to get there was thrilling, to say the least. This author really has a way of bringing her characters to life that leaves you sweating and your heart pumping right along with them, and the topic of the book, illegal organ harvest, isn't something dealt with on a daily basis, but knowing all too well the dark underbelly of society, is real enough to strike fear into your heart. LOVED the book and the author. I definitely reccomend 'Harvest' :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy to get caught up in this one!

    Intricate plot, sympathetic characters, and altogether a fascinating look at the lengths some will go to in order to buy life. Well-written (if not as richly poetic as Ken Bruen or as smooth and well-paced as Michael Connelly), sometimes horrifying in the cruelty it exposes, "Harvest" is a gripping look at some very real contemporary issues. Highly recommended -- but not for the squeamish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    She's still got it!

    I am a huge fan of Tess Gerritsen's work. One of the things that I enjoyed most about this book is that it makes you really think - if you were in the situation the heroine finds herself in, what would you do? Would you throw everything away to stand by your ethics and beliefs? Would you sit back and relish in your new position and opportunity? These are things for Abby to consider and it caused me to wonder "Would I do this if I were her?". I found myself cheering, rooting, and holding my breath for Abby. I found the ending slightly predictable but still loved every page of it! I will continue reading her works and always look forward to reading each book by her...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    Don't pass this up!

    I have read all of the Detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Maura Isles series that I figured I should read Mrs. Gerritsen's earlier works. What a treasure I found in 'Harvest'. From the first page, you are sucked in and the book refuses to let you go until the very last page. Great story, incredible characters, hospital setting. What more could you ask for. Looking forward to reading the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    AMAZING

    I loved this book!!! It kind of takes a while before you fully understand whats actully happaning,but once you do you won't want to put this book down.The characters in this book are almost life-like.The plot is very,very captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    awesome

    This book was recommended to me by the owner of a used bookstore. It was impossible to put down. I had it read by the next afternoon. I quickly went back and bought The Sinner. Excellent writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5