Customer Reviews for

Harvest of Gold

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was the first Christian romance that I have ever read. I love romance but I hate the unnecessary sense if you know what I mean. So I actually stop reading and found it hard for me find books that had meaning, great story plots, keep me on the edge of seat where I just have to find out what happen next, and as well giving me something to hold on to when it comes to my personal walk with God. This was a great way to keep me in merged and wanting to do nothing but read christian love story. This book was just great there are no other words I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a good love story with, great meaningful insight. I was also was very surprise at the references to scripture and detail in research. Great book read it but make sure you read the first book first. "Harvest of Rubies."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Awesome Finish to this 2 Book series! A MUST Read!

    The First book Harvest of Rubies was amazing. . .Loved the way Tessa continues to bring these biblical characters to life and draws you into the time period and culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Bought this after reading harvest of rubies

    And i was not disappointed! I will read more of her books. Plausable, insightful, and a pleasure to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    I had this book pre-ordered as soon I finished "Harvest of

    I had this book pre-ordered as soon I finished "Harvest of Rubies," and the day it was supposed to arrive, I checked my door seven times to see if UPS had dropped it off yet. It was well worth the wait, and, just like the first book, I've already reread it and it has already changed my life.  (I promise I don't say that lightly.) 




    There's plenty of mystery, humor, chemistry, history, and spiritual insight.  I have never read a novel about Nehemiah, and it was so fascinating to enter and explore that world and time.  The author takes more time to delve into Darius's history and character, and I loved seeing the journey of his relationship with Sarah, with all its pitfalls and victories.  Sarah, aside from one foolish decision, was such an inspiration to me in my own marriage.  The morning after finishing the book, at least four times I found myself saying something to my husband and then thinking, "Sarah would never have responded like that to Darius."  Her love and respect and honor for him, even when he was not treating her well, have been so convicting and encouraging to me. (and I have a great husband!)  It's probably impacted me more than most of the marriage books I've read and seminars I've been to!  And of course, this book is packed with all kinds of spiritual insights and deep quotes (have I ever wanted to highlight a novel before?).  It amazes me how Tessa Afshar can blend excellent fiction, witty dialogue, engaging characters, historical facts, and spiritual truths so well!  I absolutely cannot wait for her next book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    I believe this is the first book I have read which takes place d

    I believe this is the first book I have read which takes place during the time of Nehemiah. Having participated in a year long small group study covering this book of the Bible I was particularly interested in Harvest of Gold. And of course I was excited to read this book because Afshar has become my favorite biblical fiction novelist since the release of Pearl in the Sand. Combine this with a healthy dose of cover love and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book!
    Afshar’s strong background in religious and historic studies shines through in her fiction. Her accurate use of historical detail and her gift in writing descriptions make her fiction come alive. Harvest of Gold is a beautiful exploration of the full meaning of marriage and its value as an example of God’s love for us. Also, the topic of spiritual warfare is explored in depth through the building of the wall and in the individual character’s lives. 
    I believe this book would provide valuable bibliotherapy for those dealing with a miscarriage or even for those dealing with marriage issues. I can’t wait for Afshar’s next release!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: Harvest Of Gold takes the reader back. Back to a

    Hott Synopsis:
    Harvest Of Gold takes the reader back. Back to a time of turmoil and deception.
    Nehemiah, cupbearer for the King of Persia, Artaxerxes, feels God’s call to go to Jerusalem to rebuild the walls and fortify the city.
    But just because God calls you to do something doesn’t mean that it will be easy.
    Follow Nehemiah’s journey along with those who followed God with him and those scheming to destroy not only God’s plan but also Artaxerxes’ empire in this enthralling fiction accounting.

    Hott Review:
    What I liked: Harvest Of Gold is an amazing book! I absolutely couldn’t out it down and am having trouble articulating how entrancing this read really is. It makes your heart feel full and yet burdened. It makes you revel in the Wonder of God while feeling the impact of Satan. It makes you sing His praises and cry for the lost. Don’t miss this retelling of the re-building of Jerusalem!
    What I didn’t like: Sometimes I wonder if there are people who chose to read Christian Fiction as an alternative to reading their Bible instead of just allowing their imagination to take them back to what might have been.

    More…
    Author: Tessa Afshar
    Source: River North via Netgalley
    Grade: B+
    Ages: 16+
    Steam: Nada
    Setting: Persia & Jersulam
    Series: Harvest Of Rubies, #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Another excellent book by Tessa Afshar! Harvest of Gold is the

    Another excellent book by Tessa Afshar!
    Harvest of Gold is the second book in Tessa Afshar's Harvest series. This book is set around the event of Nehemiah rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem. In it we continue to follow the story of Darius, Sarah, and of course, Nehemiah. Unlike Harvest of Rubies, we get to read the story from the point of view of all 3 main characters, something I immensely enjoyed. While I also liked reading the previous one from Sarah's view point, this one I felt had a little more depth. I liked knowing what was going on with each of them and what they were thinking.
    If Harvest of Rubies is Sarah's book, then this one is Darius'. We get to know and understand him better. Honestly, he isn't a very likeable character, at first. He is hard, bitter, and I didn't care for how he treated Sarah. As I continued reading, I still had a hard time caring for him, though I did like him a little more. I finally fell in love with him about halfway through the book, when we start to understand what drives him.
    Darius has a very high moral standard, so when Sarah doesn't tell him something important, he once again withdraws from her. I really wanted him to stand up and get it together, but that wasn't part of his character, yet. Even though I was rather apathetic toward him, I still enjoyed his journey. I was looking forward to seeing him redeemed and Ms. Afshar did an excellent job.
    Sarah was her usual self; spunky, sassy, and bold. I still adored her and her heart. There was one point when I wanted to shake her, but that just made her more real to me. I have to really care about characters for them to frustrate me that much.
    I believe the main spiritual themes of this book are forgiveness and surrender. Darius must learn both. He has spent most of his life refusing to feel or let others too close, but with Sarah in his life, breaking down his walls, he's struggling to maintain his distance. This alone makes him lash out at her when she makes a mistake. He lays all the blame at her feet and shuts down even further. He must learn to forgive, something that only truly works with the Father's help. He also must learn to surrender, which is a battle he fights through most of the book. I appreciated his struggle with both themes. Ms. Afshar doesn't try to gloss over either, but rather portrays both as the difficult issues they are.
    Sarah must also learn to surrender, both to God and to Darius. She has been taking care of herself for so long, that she has a hard time trusting Darius to make decisions regarding her well-being. The same is true of her trust in God. When she faces a trial, she asks, "where are You, God?" as we all do at some time or another. She doesn't understand why God would allow the circumstance and she struggles to surrender to Him, to trust that He knows best.
    I really enjoyed the secondary characters, Lysander, Roxanna, and Pari! While they really are secondary and we don't know them well, I fell in love with each of them. I wish Lysander and Roxanna would get their own book, but I believe Ms. Afshar plans to leave their story up to her readers' imaginations.
    The descriptions were so vivid! I often felt as though I was actually there, traveling with them, or viewing the city of Jerusalem for the first time. Ms. Afshar really brings history to life in all of her books and this one is no exception! Her stories draw you in and refuse to let go until the end, even the occasional frustrating character can't take away from her masterful writing.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Biblical fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Captivating

    You won't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Silverfang

    Waits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    After nearly a year of marriage to Darius, Sarah has gained Dari

    After nearly a year of marriage to Darius, Sarah has gained Darius' respect, desire, and perhaps even his trust.  Her love for him, though, is unrequited. When they discover a plot to assassinate the king, they begin an unexpected journey that will lead them from the king's palace to Jerusalem, a city of broken walls and broken spirits. While Darius investigates the plot behind the thwarted assassination attempt, Sarah serves as a scribe to Nehemiah, her cousin and Jerusalem's new governor. When tragedy strikes Sarah and Darius, their relationship unravels and their only hope lies with the One who can heal all. Once before, God redeemed Sarah's missteps and turned it for her good. Will He do so again? Or is her hope for Darius' heart lost forever?

    Harvest of Gold by Tessa Afshar is the sequel to Harvest of Rubies. Although Harvest of Gold probably could work as a stand alone novel, I highly recommend reading Harvest of Rubies first for greater enhancement of Sarah and Darius' complete story.  Like Tessa Afshar's previous novels, her writing style was lovely and the settings were realistic, but somehow enchanting at the same time. I enjoyed reading about the Persian and Jewish civilizations. The plot's pace as well as a few unexpected elements kept me interested throughout the story.

    My only complaint about this book was that somehow Sarah and Darius of Harvest of Gold didn't feel quite like the same Sarah and Darius of Harvest of Rubies. Some of this could have been the switch from first person point-of-view (in Harvest of Rubies) to third person point-of-view (in Harvest of Gold). However, I think it was more of an unprecedented character shift that was not derived from normal character development and its subsequent progress. I don't say this to discourage anyone from reading the books, I say it as a simple word of caution.  I LOVED Harvest of Rubies, so when Harvest of Gold wasn't quite what I expected, I was initially a little put off. Obviously, that feeling passed and I went on to enjoy Harvest of Gold. I do recommend both of these books to anyone who enjoys historical Christian fiction.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommened

    I enjoyed this book and the author. I can't wait for her next book. Her books also have me examining my walk with the Lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Another good read.

    Can't wait for the next one. Tessa Afshar is a wonderful new find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Shadow wolf

    Why are u so mad?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Scarloke

    ((RL stuff. Don't take it personally.))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    @

    He slashed at Fawnpaw tail as she ran away taking off a clump of fur, then ran to "resurface" second result.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Cloudspots

    "Leave our kits alome!" He hissed and followed fawnoaw.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Dovekit

    Runs back to camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    Loved Tessa Afshar's latest Harvest Book - she weaves biblical h

    Loved Tessa Afshar's latest Harvest Book - she weaves biblical history together in a picture that brings the Bible to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    This is the best Biblical fiction novel I have read in a while!

    This is the best Biblical fiction novel I have read in a while!

    From the very beginning I knew I was going to enjoy this book. I don't know if it was Sarah or the story that won me over but nonetheless, this book is going on my keeper shelf. I confess, it wasn't until I was half-way through the story that I realized Harvest of Gold is technically a sequel to Harvest of Rubies; however, Harvest of Gold can be read as a stand alone. I only felt confused twice.

    Oh, mercy. I loved Darius. I loved Sarah. They are an awesome couple. Both characters are beautifully written and I thoroughly enjoyed their story. I loved how she portrayed Nehemiah, I thought she did an excellent job bringing to life the man God called to rebuild Jerusalem's walls. He wasn't perfect. He was concerned. But though everything, he trusted in God.

    All in all, this is a marvelous tale! Afshar represents the time period well. I hold such a deep admiration of her characters and I can't wait to see what she releases next! In the meantime, I'll be tracking down a copy of Harvest of Rubies to read. I highly recommend this to those who enjoy Biblical fiction.

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, through CFBA, in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Biblical fiction is one of my favorite genre's to read and enjoy

    Biblical fiction is one of my favorite genre's to read and enjoy. Since she started writing with A Pearl in the Sand, Tessa Afshar has quickly become one of my favorite authors in this genre. The research she does is meticulous; it's also refreshing to read a story about side characters in an interesting phase of history.




    Harvest of Rubies was the first book in the tale of Sarah and Darius, if you have not read it yet, I highly suggest you do so BEFORE reading Harvest of Gold, because it sets the necessary backdrop for both the characters as well as the setting for the story. Sarah and Darius are amazing characters, at the end of Harvest of Rubies some things were resolved, but it's only in Harvest of Gold that both characters come out truly healed and whole. How this happens you will have to read for yourself. I can promise however that you will fall in love with the characters and the depth of this story.




    If you enjoy biblical fiction, or just plain historical fiction, you will enjoy this series. It talks about God, and the impact he has in each of our lives. It also explains a sideways view of Nehemiah and the work he had to do to rebuild the walls of Jerusalem. Reading this book has made me want to go back and re-read the Biblical accounts, something that always happens when I read a great book. Because of her level of writing, the complete immersion that her story uses to guide a reader in, I found it hard to place this book down, and you will too. I am giving this book 5/5 nuggets of gold for what was truly a well done book. Thank you Tessa and I look forward to reading more from you, perhaps not about Sarah and Darius, but about other stories.




    To others reading this, if you haven't checked them out, read A Pearl in the Sand (a story about Rahab that is unrelated to this novel) and also read Harvest of Rubies (which is related to this title). Enjoy this masterpiece of a novel. Feel Free to check out my blog where I have other reviews both in this genre and others at: chicawithabook (dot) blogspot (dot) com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2