Customer Reviews for

Has God Spoken?: Proof of the Bible's Divine Inspiration

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Hank Hanegraaff has answered the question posed in the title of his book, Has God Spoken? This non-fiction title includes memorable proofs of the Bible's divine inspiration from God to the writers of his word. Not only does Mr. Hanegraaff employ use of manuscript record...
Hank Hanegraaff has answered the question posed in the title of his book, Has God Spoken? This non-fiction title includes memorable proofs of the Bible's divine inspiration from God to the writers of his word. Not only does Mr. Hanegraaff employ use of manuscript records and archeology to show proof of certain facts given throughout the Bible, but he gives both sides of many controversies concerning these issues. Throughout this book are numerous examples of so-called myths and lies of the Bible and how science has eventually proven them to be true accounts. Published in 2011, this book lists many recent findings by archeologists that are in total agreement with passages from the Bible. As one who believes that the Bible is God's word given to men to pen down, I really enjoyed all the updated archeological findings that have proven certain passages. I believe this is a very thorough and well thought-out book that is a wonderful addition to any library. I will say that it is not an easy or light read. It is definitely written for students of the Bible, or for those who have at least some knowledge of the Bible. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who longs for substantial proof that God's word really is true. It is a book full of facts and does use some technical language, but if you want to know how to defend God's word, then this book is for you. I have to give this book a 5 star rating

posted by 9973740 on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read but falls short

In Has God Spoken?, Hank Hanegraaff, "the Bible Answer Man" turns his attention toward the attacks on the reliability of Scripture. He does so through catchy (if sometimes forced) alliteration and acronym-filled arguments while sprinkling in the occasional pop culture r...
In Has God Spoken?, Hank Hanegraaff, "the Bible Answer Man" turns his attention toward the attacks on the reliability of Scripture. He does so through catchy (if sometimes forced) alliteration and acronym-filled arguments while sprinkling in the occasional pop culture reference, possibly to lighten the mood from what he fears may be getting too academic (though I can't say that for certain). Hanegraaff opens the book by stating the problem of popular attacks on Biblical inerrancy, specifically citing Barak (Obama), Bart (Ehrman) and Bill (Maher) among a "procession of political pundits, professors, and public personalities" that call into question its reliability. (I told you he liked alliteration.) Having established the attacks, Hanegraaff proceeds to answer some key questions while providing evidence, utilizing the tool of acronyms for memory purposes. He offers MAPS to follow in this debate - Manuscripts, Archeology, Prophecy and Scripture. These main headings he breaks down further. I'll discuss them briefly. Manuscript COPIES - in this section, Hanegraaff offers a look into the stringent practices of historical copyists of Scripture while examining the impressive precision of oral tradition in cultures that thrived upon it. He also points out the many pieces of manuscripts and early dates of them while marveling at the harmony within Scripture and historians' support of what Scripture says. Archeologist's SPADE - Hanegraaff points out that other religious writings make claims about places and events that simply cannot be backed up archeologically. The Bible stands in stark contrast. Many of its places have been excavated and archeology is time and again revealing that Scripture is accurate in what it says. Prophetic STARS - pointing to various prophecies and their fulfillments, Hanegraaff highlights the impressive track record of Scripture. Scriptural LIGHTS - Having used Manuscript Copies, Archeologist's Spade and Prophetic Stars to illuminate the reliability of Scripture, Hanegraaff focuses this last chapter on ways in which one may read and study Scripture well - interpreting it accurately and applying it faithfully. For a layman, this book is a good starting point. It will bolster your assurance in the reliability of Scripture, offering sound reason for believing the truth that is found in the pages of your Bible. However, it falls short in what seems to be Hanegraaff's main claim, to provide a sound, academic defense of inerrancy. Before you stone me as a heretic, let me explain. He repeatedly alludes to Bart Ehrman, a notable professor who writes and teaches against the accuracy of Scripture. Hanegraaff also uses some very technical terms for textual criticism, terms which he uses incorrectly and which are very familiar to Ehrman (and any other textual critic regardless of whether they side for or against inerrancy). If Hanegraaff were to enter into an academic debate with Ehrman using the material he presents here, he'd be torn to shreds. That said, if you're looking for an academic discussion, this is not the book you'll choose, for the casual reader concerned about the reliability of their Bible, this is a great place to start.

posted by reading-for-growth on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Good read but falls short

    In Has God Spoken?, Hank Hanegraaff, "the Bible Answer Man" turns his attention toward the attacks on the reliability of Scripture. He does so through catchy (if sometimes forced) alliteration and acronym-filled arguments while sprinkling in the occasional pop culture reference, possibly to lighten the mood from what he fears may be getting too academic (though I can't say that for certain). Hanegraaff opens the book by stating the problem of popular attacks on Biblical inerrancy, specifically citing Barak (Obama), Bart (Ehrman) and Bill (Maher) among a "procession of political pundits, professors, and public personalities" that call into question its reliability. (I told you he liked alliteration.) Having established the attacks, Hanegraaff proceeds to answer some key questions while providing evidence, utilizing the tool of acronyms for memory purposes. He offers MAPS to follow in this debate - Manuscripts, Archeology, Prophecy and Scripture. These main headings he breaks down further. I'll discuss them briefly. Manuscript COPIES - in this section, Hanegraaff offers a look into the stringent practices of historical copyists of Scripture while examining the impressive precision of oral tradition in cultures that thrived upon it. He also points out the many pieces of manuscripts and early dates of them while marveling at the harmony within Scripture and historians' support of what Scripture says. Archeologist's SPADE - Hanegraaff points out that other religious writings make claims about places and events that simply cannot be backed up archeologically. The Bible stands in stark contrast. Many of its places have been excavated and archeology is time and again revealing that Scripture is accurate in what it says. Prophetic STARS - pointing to various prophecies and their fulfillments, Hanegraaff highlights the impressive track record of Scripture. Scriptural LIGHTS - Having used Manuscript Copies, Archeologist's Spade and Prophetic Stars to illuminate the reliability of Scripture, Hanegraaff focuses this last chapter on ways in which one may read and study Scripture well - interpreting it accurately and applying it faithfully. For a layman, this book is a good starting point. It will bolster your assurance in the reliability of Scripture, offering sound reason for believing the truth that is found in the pages of your Bible. However, it falls short in what seems to be Hanegraaff's main claim, to provide a sound, academic defense of inerrancy. Before you stone me as a heretic, let me explain. He repeatedly alludes to Bart Ehrman, a notable professor who writes and teaches against the accuracy of Scripture. Hanegraaff also uses some very technical terms for textual criticism, terms which he uses incorrectly and which are very familiar to Ehrman (and any other textual critic regardless of whether they side for or against inerrancy). If Hanegraaff were to enter into an academic debate with Ehrman using the material he presents here, he'd be torn to shreds. That said, if you're looking for an academic discussion, this is not the book you'll choose, for the casual reader concerned about the reliability of their Bible, this is a great place to start.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Apologetics

    This is a very helpful book for Christians to give an answer for their faith with reason and respect. Hank Hanegraaff gives a helpful acronym MAPS to give proofs for the divine origin of the Bible. This book is well written and well researched. This book would be helpful for a new Christian as well as a Christian who is well versed in the faith.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Is the Bible credible?

    Hank Hanegraaff, better known as the "Bible Answer Man," tackles Bart Ehrman thesis that the Bible is not credible as well as others by countering with his book "Has God Spoken." In "God Has Spoken", Hanegraaff uses an extensive arsenal to give support to the credibility of the Bible ranging from ancient manuscripts to archaeological evidence. But I think what makes this book different from other apologetics is his usage of acronyms to help remember and internalize the information. For instance, he uses the subacronym S-P-A-D-E to help remember the archaeological evidence providing support to the places and people of Bible times. There were times I felt I was getting bogged down by so much information. Yet, it was needed to grasp a full understanding of Hanegraaff's view and the world's view.
    By the end of the book, one can't help but shout "Yes, I knew it!" The Bible is credible. God is real. If you walk away still not sure, then you need to read it again.
    I received this free book to review for BookSneeze and offer my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended-a must purchase!

    If you have doubts about the Bible and it's authenticity this book is a must read. Hanegraaff has done his research. In this day and age when everyone has a take on truth Hank allows the Bible itself to do the work of revealing God's Truth. I loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Must read

    Hank Hanegraaff has answered the question posed in the title of his book, Has God Spoken? This non-fiction title includes memorable proofs of the Bible's divine inspiration from God to the writers of his word. Not only does Mr. Hanegraaff employ use of manuscript records and archeology to show proof of certain facts given throughout the Bible, but he gives both sides of many controversies concerning these issues. Throughout this book are numerous examples of so-called myths and lies of the Bible and how science has eventually proven them to be true accounts. Published in 2011, this book lists many recent findings by archeologists that are in total agreement with passages from the Bible. As one who believes that the Bible is God's word given to men to pen down, I really enjoyed all the updated archeological findings that have proven certain passages. I believe this is a very thorough and well thought-out book that is a wonderful addition to any library. I will say that it is not an easy or light read. It is definitely written for students of the Bible, or for those who have at least some knowledge of the Bible. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who longs for substantial proof that God's word really is true. It is a book full of facts and does use some technical language, but if you want to know how to defend God's word, then this book is for you. I have to give this book a 5 star rating

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Wow! A Must Read Work

    First, I must thank the wonderful BookSneeze Team for allowing me to review Hank Hanegraaff's book, Has God Spoken?: Proof of the Bible's Divine Inspiration, from Thomas Nelson Publishing. In Has God Spoken? Hanegraaff, host of Bible Answer Man, cites a plethora of evidence to prove not only is God's Word inspired, but also infallible truth to be grasped and lived by. Within its 290 pages, he relies on biblical manuscript copies, archaeology's finds, fulfilled prophecy and scriptural principles to disprove the world's cynical disbelief.
    Hanegraaff makes use of acronyms throughout to allow the reader to not only peruse the book, but hopefully grasp its knowledge. The author's desire is for the reader to be ready to share with unbelievers the treasure trove of eternal riches contained in Scripture. The four parts of the book are labeled Manuscript C-O-P-I-E-S, Archaeologist's S-P-A-D-E, Prophetic S-T-A-R-S and Scriptural L-I-G-H-T-S. Between the array of acronyms far and wide, as well as Hanegraaff's eloquence, this book was a joy to read. The chapters are of manageable size, so you don't feel you need to pause your reading in the middle of a chapter.
    This volume truly is a "Wow" book to be read by anyone who is a believer and wants an awesome lesson and overview of the Bible. Why do Christians have such hope? The seeker and skeptic alike would do well to pick up a copy of Has God Spoken? to see if the Bible fits their vision or not. "In place of a sign, Jesus presented a prophecy. Not just a prophecy---the prophecy. The prophecy demonstrating that the whole of the Law and the Prophets pointed forward to him. The prophecy signifying that the Word of God cannot be broken. The prophetic star shining brightest in the constellation of biblical prophecy." (pg. 169)
    Another point that must be made is that if anyone has read a book by Professor Bart D. Ehrman, this book is definitely one to enlighten you. I had read his books in the past and apparently escaped his mission to shake the faith of believers. Ehrman takes things for face value in the Bible, rather than using methodical research to derive conclusions. A former believer, Ehrman presumes fallacy in the Bible and the Christian faith, making use of material improperly scrutinized, if at all. Thank the Lord for Hanegraaff's strong and poignant rebuttal found throughout Has God Spoken? I mention this only for the reason that Hanegraaff uses Ehrman's book as fodder for his own. Well, that and I was utterly amused.
    Hank Hanegraaff has encapsulated years of arduous study in Has God Spoken?: Proof of the Bible's Divine Inspiration. May believers use this as a guide along side God's Word to be ready with an answer for an unbelieving, darkened world. As 1 Peter 3:15 states, "being ready always to give answer to every man that asketh you a reason concerning the hope that is in you."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Informative but repetitive

    This was a difficult read. Not because of its content, but because of its length. It begins as an exciting exploration into the deep that is Bible histology, but evolves into an act of repetition to drive the author's point home.

    Hank Hanegraaff, popularly referred to as "The Bible Answer Man," states that this book is his magnum opus, has been known to ruffle feathers in the Christian community. His level of insight allows the book to develop in intricate ways-such as the MAPS exploration. Where it fails, however, is in the fact that his passion for proving the Bible to be just and true sends readers over the same words constructed in different sentences.

    For example, the following sentences below reflect that same idea:

    God created heaven, earth and mankind.

    Heaven, earth and mankind, were created by God.

    God, the Creator, made heaven, earth and mankind.

    Perhaps the dynamics of this book were lost on me. It seems to be a better reference guide for further studies than a stand alone experience.

    -

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I am not required to write a positive review whatsoever. The opinions I have expressed are completely my own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    n his book Has God Spoken?, accomplished author and radio host Hank Hanegraaf, has added another textbook to the library for modern-day apologetics. This book is systematically laid out in four sections that are broken down into specific subject matter, all of which are identifiable with acronyms, that are easily understandable. He uses picture images as page tabs, as well as, a repetitive style throughout to make his points, which give it the feel of a textbook. He takes a methodical approach to teaching the many facets used to determine the facts that lead conclusively to answer his question in the affirmative, while simultaneously debunking some of the more noteworthy myths surrounding the Bible. In his conclusion, he compels all readers to do their own thorough investigation using the methods he employs, which have been taught, used, and recommended by Bible academia for centuries. Has God Spoken? I would say He has, and Hank Hanegraaf has shown us why.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A New Title From the Bible Answer Man

    Has God Spoken? Proof of the Bible's Divine Inspiration is the latest book from Hank Hanegraaff. If you like apologetics (and anagrams) you will like this book.
    Many today proclaim the Bible to be the inspired, inerrant and infallible Word of God. Most, even some of today's most powerful preachers, proclaim this rather vociferously - even though the only basis to their claim is their substantial faith. Hank Hanegraaff sets out to provide a resource that all can use to strengthen their apologetic foundation.
    Early on the author address the post modernism logic that is pervasive in today's culture, along with the idea that some might be disappointed to find there is not much depth to the evidence presented within the book. The author chooses to draw from inferential textual criticism to lay the foundational proofs for his claims.
    The use of anagrams is pervasive in this book, retaining the author's style of teaching through the use of this tool. When the author chooses to emphasize a point, he will do so through comparison of other's ideas. Such is the case with his disagreements with UNC - Chapel Hill's liberal leaning professor Bart Ehrman.
    This book will present a challenge to some, as I am sure they, as I did, will find areas of the authors arguments a little difficult to swallow and counter to a fundamental view of hermeneutics. Overall, this is a good book, but I believe the author falls a little short by trying to cover so much within one title.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Compelling Reading

    Has God Spoken? by Hank Hanegraff - is compelling reading and includes many opinions of supporters and antagonists alike - those who agree the Bible is truth and those who dispel its' contents as storytelling. Whatever your belief, persuasion or faith, you cannot fail to be enthralled by the diligent and in-depth interpretations presented by Hank Hanegraff. You'll read texts from Roman intellectuals that prove the accuracy of the contents of the Bible: you'll read scathing assaults upon its' content by unbelievers; most of all, you'll have many aspects of thought and opinion presented in an easy-to-read book that will clarify any doubts you might have on the authenticity of the Christian Bible, while raising questions that, as the book progresses will be answered with intelligent backup and physically supported proof. Thousands of scripts- found to date - verify the contents of the Word of God! How can you deny the truth when it is validated by written proof from the time of Christ and through the years following His death and resurrection. Archaeologists meanwhile are finding more and more physical proof that supports and corresponds to what the scriptures report. I am not an academic - but this is tantalizing reading covering manuscripts that support biblical teachings, to archaeologists findings that also support biblical accuracy on to the prophetic - all in all, a book that commands your attention to the meticulous detail contained within its' pages, and demands a possible rethinking in your beliefs. I would wholeheartedly say, that God has spoken through the manuscripts, scrolls and stones discovered through the ages, by credible and respected academics and scientists, and presented here as physical proof that you can research for yourself and I suggest that only fools would dismiss as nonsense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Proof of Bible's Veracity

    Has God Spoken? is just the right book for those who need proof that God is a communicating God and He has caused to be written exactly what He wants said. And He has left proof. This book is well written. This is a mini-introduction to the doctrine of inspiration. I recoomend this to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Angry & Biased "Christian" Author Uses Incorrect Facts

    If you want to read a book book on this subject, I would recommend Josh McDowell's "More Than A Carpenter" before this. Even Lee Strobel's Case for Christ & Faith are better than this.

    This is a terribly biased book written with week arguments based on incorrect/false facts, no sources to back up much of what is said, and also the author comes across very angry and hateful, slandering other authors every chance he gets. Such completely UNCHRISTIAN behavior immediately turned me off from this book. Any solid Christian or solid Athiest or Agnostic could easily tear the book apart because it has no case. Only Baby Christians would be fooled into believing this stuff.

    The author comes across with an EXTREMELY strong bias for Christianity and against all non-Christians. His bias takes him so far that he turns into a ranting raving lunatic in his own book! With claims like "Islam is false because husbands are allowed to beat wives". But he fails to address WAAAY worse verses in our own Christian Bible! Read Exodus, Numbers, Lev and Deut and you will be shocked at what the Bible really says on how women and slaves are to be treated. And when he tries to argue for the Bible, he often resorts to lies or false information or weak biased sources to back him up. Nothing this author says holds ANY water and in many MANY cases, he doesn't give us the sources to his quotes! If you start reading and thinking it sounds good, he's probably tricked you already.

    Claims of this author:
    Introduction Pg xi: Jesus's death is "one of the most well-established realities of ancient history" Oh really? No source or proof or even evidence given. "There is a virtual consensus among CREDIBLE scholars.... that Jesus did in fact die on a cross" No source, proof or evidence given. Who are the "credible" scholars?

    Pg xiv The author berates Bart Erham for claiming "Biblical Christianity is so dangerous... it stops people from thinking" Sorry, I'm a very strong Christian and even I see that this is true! How many times have you been told "God is mysterious. Stop asking questions. You aren't supposed to have answers for everything" In otherwords, "STOP THINKING. GOD IS MYSTERIOUS. JUST ACCEPT YOU AREN"T SUPPOSED TO KNOW" Now sure, maybe God is mysterious and we won't know everything, but Jesus does tell us to test what we are told and we are to seek to know God. We aren't supposed to just give up because one verse puzzles us. If we really seek, we usually get some answers!

    Pg xiv The author writes "the validity of the virgin birth can be historically established." Really? Where is the proof?

    I can't go on because seriously, ever other page is missing sources, making outlandish claims, and making severe personal attacks against other authors who question the Bible. What is with the personal attacks? This author goes into childish name calling over and over again as he attacks Bart Erham (former Christian author). This author plays SOOO DIRTY. How UNCHRISTIAN. This author wrotes "the only reasonable explaination is..." But I can think of several other MORE REASONABLE explainations than his on pg 24.

    Disclaimer: I gave my honest review. I received this book from the publisher but a positive review was not r

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    "Has God Spoken?" por Hank Hanegraaff

    En tiempos donde el cristianismo enfrenta tantas influencias para apartarlo de la suficiencia de la Biblia como fundamento de nuestra fe y conducta, Hank Hanegraaff ha escrito una joya.

    "Has God Spoken?" , (¿Ha hablado Dios?), es un recorrido documental sobre la importancia de la Revelación especial que Dios nos ha hecho de sí mismo. Al mismo tiempo es una respuesta firme a los dudosos manifiestos de la Crítica Textual y los últimos escritos de Bart Ehrman.

    Hanegraaff, ya conocido por su más famoso libro "Cristianismo en Crisis", explora cuatro aristas para responder a la pregunta que corona el título del libro. Primero, detalla la manera en que manejaron los manuscritos los copistas, hasta nuestros días. Segundo, enumera los hallazgos arqueológicos más importantes que confirman varios de los eventos, milagros, hechos trascendentes y costumbres que la Biblia con antelación ya nos había dado a conocer. En tercer lugar el autor trata la relación profecía-cumplimiento, erigiendo una roca sólida con respecto al Mesías prometido, sus obras y su trascendente misión.

    Finalmente "Has God Spoken?" nos expone a la luz transformadora de la palabra santa de Dios, mostrándonos los principios para un correcto acercamiento a la verdad bíblica.

    Un hecho destacable es la actualidad y vigencia de los argumentos de Hanegraaff, donde aborda temas tan interesantes como "El Sabbath", (Día de Reposo), a la luz del cristianismo y de la Biblia, y el tratamiento serio a casos como el de Harold Camping y sus falsas profecías supuestamente basadas en lo que Dios ha dicho en su Palabra.

    Algunos encontrarán uno que otro desacuerdo irrelevante en algún subtema, pero a groso modo debo recalcar que lo que Hank Hanegraaf nos ha legado es una obra de gran valor para la comunidad eclesiástica, así como para los entornos académicos.

    Por mi parte, "Has God Spoken?" goza de una recomendación expresa para mis alumnos y lectores.



    --------------------------------------------------

    Recibí este libro como parte del programa para bloggers de BookSneeze®, Thomas Nelson ni el programa BookSneeze® requieren que yo de una revisión positiva, sino que de mi opinión aunque sea negativa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Resource

    I admit that I've always been a research and logic-driven person so I love the books that show evidence proving why our faith has stood the test of time. I don't need it -- but it is nice. :o)

    This book manages to straddle sometimes being a bit over my head and sometimes feeling a little repetitive. I also wasn't sure I liked the acronyms or alliteration the author liked to use. It made me feel a little like it was a VBS or children's Sunday School lesson instead of a book clearly intended for adults. At times I wished a little less time was spent explaining (in great detail) the false claims and theories of those who don't believe in the Bible. I would let them write their own book for that.

    In the end, I really liked the section on the archaeological finds the best. I loved how some skeptical scientists have become Christians just by what has been unearthed that supports the Biblical accounts. Those kinds of stories made the book for me.

    This is a great book to have on hand for those questioning the trustworthiness of the Bible because it goes into a lot of different areas. It would be a great book for church libraries as well. I want to thank Thomas Nelson for providing this book in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Very helpful!

    The last time I heard someone try to give a reason why we should believe that the Bible is God's word, he used 2 Timothy 3:16. Well, that's all well and good, since I already believe the Bible is true. I believe the Bible is God's word. But how can you use a single verse from the Bible to prove it's true, unless you already believe it's all true? I can say I'm telling the truth, but that doesn't make what I'm saying true just because I told you it is.
    In his book Has God Spoken?, Hank Hanegraaff uses information both from the Bible and other sources. He starts with disproving the argument that the Bible has been distorted over the years by faulty copying practices and therefore cannot be true. He also notes archaeological finds that prove the Biblical events really did happen, and compares what the Bible says to what has been noted in history. He also compares the Old Testament to the New, to show that the Bible does not contradict itself. The last section of this book address misconceptions about what the Bible says, and how to correctly interpret Scripture.

    Although I do believe the Bible is God's Word, I want to be able to explain why I believe that to someone else. Using a verse from the book I'm trying to prove true isn't going to cut it. And although proving that requires reading of the Bible for oneself (which the author encourages), Has God Spoken? shows that the Bible is in fact God's word.

    I received this book for free from Booksneeze for its review. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Has God Spoken? By Hank Hanegraaff

    Hello, there. I've recently gotten a new book from booksneeze called "Has God Spoken?" By Hank Hanegraaff. Before I get started, however, I simply must tell you that I received this book for free from the booksneeze blogging program offered by the Thomas Nelson publishing company. I am under no obligation to give this book a positive review. Any and everything that I say is legitimately my own opinion. Now, on with the show! So, I was very excited to receive this book, because I love those books that prove the existence of God through logical, scientific means. Think, Lee Strobel, Josh McDowell, C. S. Lewis, so on and so forth. Those that present God as a loving, omniscient, powerful Being and Christianity as a logical, scientific, grounded set of beliefs. Because, honestly, Christianity is perhaps the most logical, scientific, grounded, amazing religion. It's the people who practice it that mess up the Christian name so often?. So when I heard that the Bible Answer Man, Hank Hanegraaff was coming out with a book on booksneeze, I was thrilled. However, when I read the book, I was disappointed. He had a very. childish way of putting things, and if he perhaps had a valid point, it was covered by his rants. If you are curious as to how the Bible fits into the saga of history, I would suggest a Lee Strobel book over this. "Has God Spoken?" Was not worth the money one might spend on it, and a person has to give this a very sober look-over in order to get the nuggets of truth from the miry foundation that was in this book. I give it only 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Great read

    Has God Spoken" Proof of the Bible's Divine Inspiration is a book written by Hank Hanegraaff and published by Thomas Nelson. There are a lot of controversial issues when it comes to religion and beliefs. Reading this book, I learned a lot because almost every page was filled with scripture and "proof" of some of the Bible stories you hear or read.
    Hank Hanegraaff, in this book, strongly defends the Bible. This book is written with passion and a understanding for the types of criticism that the Bible and religion receive.
    If you are looking for a good read that will lift up your spirits than look no further. It is quite a thick book, but flowed nicely. I read it in no time. Great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Popularly known as The Bible Answer Man, radio host and Bible scholar Hank Hanegraaff of the Christian Research Institute (CRI) is an authority on a wide variety of Christian issues. In his book Has God Spoken? he deals with the subject of divine inspiration of the Bible which has been under constant attack in recent times. Employing the easy-to-remember acronym MAPS, Hank Hanegraaff offers four proofs to confirm the divine inspiration of the Bible: M - the manuscript A - archaeological proofs P - the prophecies of the Bible S - scriptural unity, consistency and harmony He argued that MAPS is a confirmation of the trust worthiness and reliability of the Bible, which is in fact the repository of the word of God. Readers will be taken from one page to the other with proofs after proofs by means of MAPS establishing the reliability and divine inspiration of the Bible. Every page of this book is backed up by scripture and offers proof of the Bible stories that many critics have refused to believe as true accounts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    1 Star, Skip It. Read RC Sproul, Josh McDowell or Lee Stroble instead

    5 HIGHEST - 1 LOWEST STARS: 1 Stars

    READ IT OR SKIP IT? SKIP IT

    WHO MIGHT LIKE/HATE THIS BOOK?
    Any thinking Christian really searching for the truth will not like this book because it provides no solid answers but mostly angry assertations without any sources to back them up. This book is highly slanderous of other authors and doesn't make Christians look good, so Christians concerned for Jesus' image won't like this book. Christians who just want some basic ideas or to hear some some additional information on the subject may enjoy this book because they aren't needing solid arguments and can sift through the mud. Pentecostals may enjoy this book as Hanegraaff declares "Greg Laurie one of the best evangelists on the planet".

    BOOK REVIEW:
    I was shocked by how angry, aggressive and slanderous Hanegraaff is. His personal attacks were completely un-Christ-like and even to the point of childish name-calling. Continuously thoughout his book, he gives personal jabs to other authors, especially Bart Erham, who he calls "a spiritual terrorist", a "seduce[r] of audiences" and a "professor gone wild" on Pg 3. Who else sees a really gross dig/reference to the pornographic "Girls Gone Wild" videos widely available today?



    See how you feel about the below sections of this book and judge for yourself if this book is worth reading. If you pass on this book, instead get a book by RC Sproul, Josh McDowell "More Than A Carpenter" or "Evidence Demands a Verdict", or Lee Strobel "A Case for Christ" on the same subject matter.



    Pg x: "The Qur'an is a hopelessly flawed document full of faulty ethics and factual errors." [Hanegraaff then says Sura 4:3 where men are allowed to take multiple wives as proof the Qur'an isn't from God. While you may agree the Qur'an isn't infallible, that doesn't make THIS PROOF it isn't from God. After all, how many 100s of wives did David and Solomon have in the Bible?]



    Pg xii: "Nowhere does the Bible suggest that slavery is okay." [Didn't Paul's friend Philemon have slaves in the NT and the OT is full of the forefathers owning slaves?]



    Pg 11: Hanegraaff quotes Dr Kenneth Barker's website, where Barker makes a completely inaccurate claim that is easily proven false: "These carefully copied Hebrew texts have remained virtually unchanged since about 600 to 700 AD. In 1947 the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls yielded copies from all the major sections of the Old Testament...... When compared to these ancient copies, the Masoretic texts were found to be virtually identical" [FALSE. Per Wikipedia and other sources, Exodus & Samuel differ significantly and other scholars have listed many other significant differences. The more you honestly research this topic, the more differences you'll come up with. Many church fathers during the years right after the Apostles also declared the scriptures were being corrupted. Jer 8:8 also declares this. Church father Tertullian, Origen and others also believed there were many many corruptions]



    Pg 12: "New Testament [copyists] were rather like you and me. They likely loved the Lord and thus willingly sacrificed themselves to the tedious practice of copying" [No proof here! Where is evidence? If this is true, why does Jerome who wrote the Latin Vulgate Bbile write that the NT scriptures were changed in uncountable verses and the KJV

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Has God Spoken?

    In our day, critics continually and consistently launch assaults on the validity, accuracy, reliability, and sufficiency of the Bible. Their thought seems to be that if the Bible can be reduced to just simply a collection of fables and stories, then there is no need for faith, repentance, Christianity, or even Christ Himself. In his latest book, "Has God Spoken? Proof of the Bible's Divine Inspiration", Hank Hanegraaff has written a powerful work that leaves no room for debate that God has truly spoken through His word. His proofs enable us to not only trust the Bible, but allow it change and guide our lives. "Has God Spoken?" is separated into four major parts. The parts are presented by using the acrostic M-A-P-S; Manuscript Copies, Archaeological Spade, Prophetic Stars, and Scripture Lights. The first part of his book utilizes the subacronym (Hanegraaff's term) C-O-P-I-E-S. In this section, Hanegraaff tackles the object that errors, intended and unintended, were made in the copying of the original manuscripts which lead critics to sat the Bible is in no way accurate. The second part of his book utilizes the subacronym S-P-A-D-E. Hanegraaff demonstrates how archaeological discoveries prove the existence of, and are consistent with, places described in the Bible. The third part of his book utilizes the subacronym S-T-A-R-S. In this section, Hanegraaff shows how the truthfulness and validity of biblical prophecy only further prove the Bible's accuracy. He also demonstrates how biblical prophecy is inconsistent with divination and predictors of the future. In his final part of the book, he uses the subacronym L-I-G-H-T-S. Here the author gives the reader tools to better understand biblical interpretation. I enjoyed this book a great deal. Although this book is written by an apologist and serves as a defense for the validity of the Bible, it is not overly scholarly. This allows it to be used by Christians in every stage of their faith walk to better understand and be prepared to give a defense of the Bible's accuracy. One thing I noticed seemed to get in the way. Within the subacronyms there were other acronyms that Hanegraaff likely intended to be helpful in further understanding his point. At times I found these distracting. That being said, "Has god Spoken?" is a great resource and a well-written and researched work. I highly recommend. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Neslon Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2