Customer Reviews for

Hatchet (Brian's Saga Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1844 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1189)

4 Star

(350)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

117 out of 126 people found this review helpful.

the best book ever

We recommend this book Hatchet to 5th graders and 6th graders who like adventure and exploration. Most of the book is about a 13 year old boy named Brian who survives in the Canadian Wilderness. He had to survive from wild animals and try not to starve to death! From be...
We recommend this book Hatchet to 5th graders and 6th graders who like adventure and exploration. Most of the book is about a 13 year old boy named Brian who survives in the Canadian Wilderness. He had to survive from wild animals and try not to starve to death! From being a city boy his skills won't help him here.This book is good,read it!

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

franks reveiw

I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. ...
I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. I do disagree with a few things though. For instance, out of nowhere a tornado comes at Brian in the middle of a Canadian forest. Also, an insane moose attacks him in the woods and forces him into a pond. Gary Paulson also makes his sentences one word or half a page. Last his ending was way too short. It was as if he ran out of pages. Overall I recommend this book to action lovers and people who like suspense.

posted by 5359285 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    DO NOT READ THISS BOOK

    This was the worst book I have ever read.Though the book had some interesting events definately not worth reading.

    21 out of 160 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    A Sucky Pointless Book

    Hatchet is boring. All that really goes on is: He finds food. He sees a new animal. He has a flashback.One more boring thing happens. Brian is an Idiot as far as I'm concerned.

    10 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    HORRIBLE!!!!!

    This is the worst book i have ever read in my entire life. It's about a boy who is stranded in the Canadian wilderness. It is gross, upsetting, and has absolutly no imagination in it. It is also weird. The book talks about divorce, seacrets, death, and is very depressing.The movie is even worse. Take my advice and don't read this book.

    8 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Ugh!!

    How are you supposed to like a book where every chapter ends with the main character falling asleep or throiwing up!! My least favorite book of all time.

    8 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    This book was absolutely dreadful...

    Not only was it dreadful, the dialogue and the narration was extremely boring and irritating. Several times in the book, it would say a 'essential' word and then repeat it by itself once or twice. Such as, 'The Secret' 'The Secret' The Secret. I found that very annoying. Yes this book teaches Okay survival tactics but I wouldn't rely on its knowledge 100%. This review is strictly focused on the worth of this book. It was a good school book, (I read it in school by the way), and I simply hated it. It is good for readers 10-14 but 15-above... you guys gotta spread your vocabulary and get into the more tedious novels with good narration, diction, and plot. This is a 7th grade literation, there is no reason it should exceed 8th. Oh and advice for the people who patronize this book. To read a book is not only reading it, it is scrutinizing its strenghts and weaknesses observing font and delegating the worth of the plot. A reader must have a perceptive study to actually conclude whether a novel is good or not. This book, however, was boring and elusive. And also, when the pilot was having a heart-attack, the effects were completely off-cue. My sisters a nurse and she can say that someone who is suffering a heart-attack doesn't fart while it insues. I dunno, I think that it was Paulson's suggestive exaggeration to lure the reader into the situation. I thought this was a survival novel, not a hollywood novel that is overly elaborated to rail in the reader. That is all...

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Bad

    This book is really boring

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    BOO!!!

    Bad book i started reading it, but did NOT get sucked in to it at all!! Whoever HATES this book say i to syd28

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Please reply

    Need to read for school project. Is it good? What is general plot? PLEASE REPLY

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Good enough to read?

    Some of my friends say its good,but some say its bad! Should i use my money and read it,or not?

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    fine

    This book isnt the greatest book in the world. I really didn't enjoy this book because the main chacter brain is in the woods for more than half the book. When brain is in the woods he stops to think about the sercert ,how his parents got divorce.he crys when his mom is dating another man.should he tell his dad.also whern the pilot dies of a heartattak.Brain was terrified when he jumped out of the plane.The book is like a white t shirt. I don't love it but I don't hate it.I would have to say this book is a adventure book.i also thought that the ending went really fast.It makes you really confused when brain went to get the asurvial pack it took him like two hourws to get it.If you like this book you will most likely enjoy brains winter and brains returend.people thought the ending went really fast so the aouthor greg pulsin made a sequel. I hope you enjoy hatchet.I don't really like it.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gosh dang awful book

    I HATED this book. It was disgusting, unrealistic, boring, stupid, cliched, and all other things wrong. Gary Paulsen needs to lay off the survival books, that's all I can say. I'm sick of survival stories. They're all carbon copies of eachother and this one was nothing original. Some kid surviving after a plane crash...ooooo!!! And then they made a MOVIE out of it. UGH! This book should be banned from libraries. The beginning scarred me for life and the movie was no better.
    I mean, do we HAVE to know what it's like to have diarreha in the forest? Honestly!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    GROSS+HORRIBLE

    I hated this book cause it talks about him having gross bodily functions bbb

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    S Worst book evr

    This book is terrible only a rat would buy it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Sex????? ?.

    Dose it have anything about sex because there have been a few coments about sex?

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Hate it

    Dumb its me bad memory

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Anoomyous

    Intersting

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Wish I could give 0 stars.

    This book was extremely boring. Brian is a depressing moron, all he does is look for food and try to commit suicide. It was also very predictable. OF COURSE he gets saved. Why couldn't he have had an exciting death like mauled by a bear, drowned, starved/dehydrated or fall off a cliff or something? Gary really needs to write something that's not about some kid out in the wildernes hunting or trying to survive (Cause that is all he writes about). I definetly would not have read this if my English teacher did not force me to. All in all do not waste money or time on this boring book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    What the bannana!

    What is going through the minds of you children. This book is only for reserved llamas. I will report the next person who reads this book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Do not buy it

    I couldnt even get through it once without vomitting, let along get through it TWICE!!!!!!!!! My eyes hurt on every word and got a head ack just thinking of reading it! DO NOT , UNDER ANYTHING, BUY THIS BOOK! Try the twiligt series or trumpet of the swan! But dont buy this book!!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    TERIBLE

    I absalutly HATED this book. Please dont ever read it. I am twelve and got freaked out about the boy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7