Customer Reviews for

Hatchet (Brian's Saga Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1936 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1256)

4 Star

(358)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(130)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

132 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

the best book ever

We recommend this book Hatchet to 5th graders and 6th graders who like adventure and exploration. Most of the book is about a 13 year old boy named Brian who survives in the Canadian Wilderness. He had to survive from wild animals and try not to starve to death! From be...
We recommend this book Hatchet to 5th graders and 6th graders who like adventure and exploration. Most of the book is about a 13 year old boy named Brian who survives in the Canadian Wilderness. He had to survive from wild animals and try not to starve to death! From being a city boy his skills won't help him here.This book is good,read it!

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

franks reveiw

I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. ...
I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. I do disagree with a few things though. For instance, out of nowhere a tornado comes at Brian in the middle of a Canadian forest. Also, an insane moose attacks him in the woods and forces him into a pond. Gary Paulson also makes his sentences one word or half a page. Last his ending was way too short. It was as if he ran out of pages. Overall I recommend this book to action lovers and people who like suspense.

posted by 5359285 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Hatchet

    This book is totally awsome book. You will like this mystery book it will take you on a forest adventure, I mean it seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Not that good

    For parents of kids under 6th grade you should look into this book before letting their child read this because it has about three gross parts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    This book is an average book!

    I think this a very average book, mainly because It's a book that I think that really doesn't have much of a point. The only good part in the book is the part when Brian finds some eggs along the lake.In the story I think the ending is pretty stupid because it like just starts out where he in a plane flying to his dad's house. oh yeah there was one other part that is kind of cool when he figures out how to start a fire. I guess the main reason I didn't like it that much is because I'm into blood and gore and action, and this book has no action.The only reason I think I read this book is because I like the out doors and I thought it would be good.Then the last thing that I wanted to mention about the book is that I thought the ending was too quick and kind of pointless. So if you like a book that is kind of boring and you like the nature type book this is your book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    Okay

    This was sort of a boring book but also good in a way

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Conn

    Youul thank me later i saw twirling your sword*teleports you back to camp*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Confuzzled Now

    I read a comment that said they read this 20 yeas ago. Its been around like 5 years . - .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Over priced

    The book is grear but i can get this book on amazon for a dollar and i have to pay eight dollars to get it ona device that is supposed to save me money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Cool

    I thoght the hatchet was a little scary and violentvbut other than that it was pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Dont like it

    It went on and on. #1819

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    B.O.R.I.N.G.

    This book lacked action..... it bored me to tears
    ~Mockingjay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Okay book

    This book is good only in the first three chapters. If you do read it only read the first three chapters for the action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Hatchet

    I don't like this book because it is unreal and fake. Raandom things happen. The things that happen are one out of a million. But it is descriptive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Chapetr 1

    He had a heart acct and he had alot of pain with his heart

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Tylah was here

    Somebody txt me 4048599118

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Ugh

    My class had to read this book. It repeats everything! ( or at least in the first few chapters)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Ly

    I wish this book was exciting and have pictures i wish i wasnt homesckooled public sckools dont read this at a big sckool i dont like adventer books its like telling a real story and im in 5th grade i really hate it a lot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Eh

    IT IS NICE BUT NOT MY TYPE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Not so good so far.

    I do not much care about the book but l do not know relly because l am onaly on page 26.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    2 star

    Im still reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book almost scared me half to death!

    This book almost scared me half to death! If you are scared easily, I would not recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3