Customer Reviews for

Hatchet (Brian's Saga Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1914 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1237)

4 Star

(356)

3 Star

(138)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(131)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 136 people found this review helpful.

the best book ever

We recommend this book Hatchet to 5th graders and 6th graders who like adventure and exploration. Most of the book is about a 13 year old boy named Brian who survives in the Canadian Wilderness. He had to survive from wild animals and try not to starve to death! From be...
We recommend this book Hatchet to 5th graders and 6th graders who like adventure and exploration. Most of the book is about a 13 year old boy named Brian who survives in the Canadian Wilderness. He had to survive from wild animals and try not to starve to death! From being a city boy his skills won't help him here.This book is good,read it!

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

franks reveiw

I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. ...
I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. I do disagree with a few things though. For instance, out of nowhere a tornado comes at Brian in the middle of a Canadian forest. Also, an insane moose attacks him in the woods and forces him into a pond. Gary Paulson also makes his sentences one word or half a page. Last his ending was way too short. It was as if he ran out of pages. Overall I recommend this book to action lovers and people who like suspense.

posted by 5359285 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    franks reveiw

    I love this book! Normally I have a hard time finding a book I like but when I do I can't put it down. Hatchet is one of those books. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat! This book takes a huge turn when Brian's pilot has a heart attack and the plane crashes. I do disagree with a few things though. For instance, out of nowhere a tornado comes at Brian in the middle of a Canadian forest. Also, an insane moose attacks him in the woods and forces him into a pond. Gary Paulson also makes his sentences one word or half a page. Last his ending was way too short. It was as if he ran out of pages. Overall I recommend this book to action lovers and people who like suspense.

    31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    not so great

    This book is on my seventh grade reading list and i'm not a big fan.For one some parts are very unrealistic like if you get rammed by a moose twice and actulally come out of it with a few broken ribs is very unrealistic.Also,they repeat things to often for me like talking about "the secert" for most of the first part of the book.Over all it was very disapointing.I wouldn't recomend it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    This book was so good, like a teen or modern version of that old

    This book was so good, like a teen or modern version of that old Tom Hanks movie, Cast Away! lol

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Hatchet

    Prrety good not finished yet but planning to finish it i most definetly reccomend it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Bookhead

    Im giving it three stars because i like survivle stories the parts i liked where good and it had an itersting plot. The end had me very disappointed and left aubrtyly. As if there was more but there wasnt. I wish this story was a little better. Also i had yo try reading it over 5 times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Anoymous

    I'm a 9-year-old girl, but I still like it, even though there's a few gross parts and Brian barfs a lot. The grossest part was when the bird's guts fell out the "other end".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great, if u r a guy...

    I didn't like it as much, but i must afmit it was well written, and the plot wad fair. Good book... if u r a guy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Dont get it

    Not a all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Ok

    It was decent. Some parts were confusing. I had to read it for school which kinda made it less enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Wierd

    Cheese burgers jb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    ?

    I liked it but i didnt get it whatsoever!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Ok

    Good but vett slow and at some parts boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Clove517

    Ha ha ha ha ha ok just wondering but who is that guy???......??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    ok

    it is a very good book. its kinda boring in the first 5 chapters. but you should read it* 8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Jack

    You a<_>ss!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Hatchet

    This book is probably more for 4th, 5th, and 6th graders. It is a good book if you like reading about nature. Some parts i found gross, but funny. I enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Seweeusly!?

    What kind of mother gives her son a hatchet and then sends him on an airplane alone?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Good

    You know those covers you remember most but kind of sort of, remember reading the book?

    That's how it was with this one.

    Another good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Had to read for school

    It was okay for a 13 yr old grl. I would totes recommend this book to boys of ages 8-12 u guys would love it. The perfect survival story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Hatchet

    Slow in the beginning and middle the ending is horrible

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7