Customer Reviews for

Hatching Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

hatching magic

Kasey Carpenter La 1 The book I read was Hatching Magic which is By Ann Downer. This fantasy novel is two-hundred-forty-two pages long. And takes place both in t...
Kasey Carpenter La 1 The book I read was Hatching Magic which is By Ann Downer. This fantasy novel is two-hundred-forty-two pages long. And takes place both in the eighteenth century England and modern-day Boston. Also it is about a young wyvern 'type of dragon' named wycca who lives in the eighteenth century in England and is also pregnant seeking for the perfect spot to lay her egg. Just then she stumbles into a bolt hole and is transported to the twenty-first century Boston. My favorite part is when wycca gets transported to Boston because it is fun and exciting. The trip through the bolt-hole lasted less than a blink of an eye one moment Gideon was in the melon patch behind the castle next he was being jostled this way and that on the dance floor of the club Golgotha in Central Square, Cambridge, Massachusetts. I recommend this book because it is a good book. Also it really gets you hooked into it.

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hatching Magic

I read a great book called Hatching Magic, by Ann Downer. The story is about 2 wizards, one dragon, and a 12 year old girl. Gideon is the royal wizard and he owns Wycca, his pet Wyvern. Kobold is Gideon¿s brother and rival. Both of them tried out for the title of the ro...
I read a great book called Hatching Magic, by Ann Downer. The story is about 2 wizards, one dragon, and a 12 year old girl. Gideon is the royal wizard and he owns Wycca, his pet Wyvern. Kobold is Gideon¿s brother and rival. Both of them tried out for the title of the royal wizard but he lost because he used one of the forbidden spells on another person. Theodora is a 12 year old girl with a big Wyvern collection of cards, hand made models and much more Wyvern stuff. The story takes place in the 15th century but skips to the 21st century. The reason Kobold follows Gideon to the 21st century is to get him back and because his master told him to (you do not find out who Kobold¿s master is). My favorite scene is when Gideon and Kobold fight for the mysterious card. To test out his new power Kobold uses a spell on Theodora¿s pet cat. Theodora gets really angry and tries to take on the wizard. But she is no match for him alone. Gideon and Merlin come through the door at almost the very last second Theodora could stand Kobold¿s clutches. Merlin is an older wizard that helped Gideon from pretty much the first second Gideon went through the bolt hole to the 21st century. Then Gideon and Kobold fight for the card. For about ten minutes they keep on casting spells at each other and countering the other¿s spell with another one. Kobold gets tired of this and uses one of his banned spells to summon a wraith. Merlin and Theodora use their minds to somehow slow it down from touching Gideon. Then, just before it touches Gideon, Wycca barges in from the window and clawed the wraith to death. After that almost everyone in the room team up to stop Kobold. From reading this book I now know what it feels like to see things that are considered ¿mythical creatures¿. I like how the author described the fight between Gideon and Kobold. Especially how their spells sounded and how the wraith looked. I think this book might be just a little bit under my reading level but not too short.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    hatching magic

    Kasey Carpenter La 1 The book I read was Hatching Magic which is By Ann Downer. This fantasy novel is two-hundred-forty-two pages long. And takes place both in the eighteenth century England and modern-day Boston. Also it is about a young wyvern 'type of dragon' named wycca who lives in the eighteenth century in England and is also pregnant seeking for the perfect spot to lay her egg. Just then she stumbles into a bolt hole and is transported to the twenty-first century Boston. My favorite part is when wycca gets transported to Boston because it is fun and exciting. The trip through the bolt-hole lasted less than a blink of an eye one moment Gideon was in the melon patch behind the castle next he was being jostled this way and that on the dance floor of the club Golgotha in Central Square, Cambridge, Massachusetts. I recommend this book because it is a good book. Also it really gets you hooked into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book I am reviewing is called Hatching Magic. It is a good book story if you love magic and wyverns (wyverns are like dragons with beaks). It is by Ann Dower and the genre is fantasy. Its main characters are Theodora Oglethorpe, wizards Gideon and Merlin, plus Wycca Gideon¿s pet wyvern. It takes place in 2002 in the summertime of Boston, Massachusetts. There are many people¿s views but in the view of Theodora what happens is she is having a boring summer while her father is exploring the rain forest for new discoveries. As Gideon is sent through the ¿Bolt Hole¿ to the future in Boston, Massachusetts with Wycca too ¿ but she¿s not with Gideon. My favorite part of the story is when Gideon and Merlin are doing an experiment to summon Wycca back to her rightful owner when instead they summon a Chinese dragon! They have to think quickly when a policeman comes knocking at their door with their nosy apartment neighbor. Then Merlin hides the dragon in the bathtub and puts on the shower while Gideon sings to make it seem like he¿s in the shower! It was very funny. From reading this book I learned what life is like for a wyvern struggling in this futuristic word. I think there should have been less of people¿s views in the story- that¿s what made the story confusing at times. Otherwise it was a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Hatching Magic

    I read a great book called Hatching Magic, by Ann Downer. The story is about 2 wizards, one dragon, and a 12 year old girl. Gideon is the royal wizard and he owns Wycca, his pet Wyvern. Kobold is Gideon¿s brother and rival. Both of them tried out for the title of the royal wizard but he lost because he used one of the forbidden spells on another person. Theodora is a 12 year old girl with a big Wyvern collection of cards, hand made models and much more Wyvern stuff. The story takes place in the 15th century but skips to the 21st century. The reason Kobold follows Gideon to the 21st century is to get him back and because his master told him to (you do not find out who Kobold¿s master is). My favorite scene is when Gideon and Kobold fight for the mysterious card. To test out his new power Kobold uses a spell on Theodora¿s pet cat. Theodora gets really angry and tries to take on the wizard. But she is no match for him alone. Gideon and Merlin come through the door at almost the very last second Theodora could stand Kobold¿s clutches. Merlin is an older wizard that helped Gideon from pretty much the first second Gideon went through the bolt hole to the 21st century. Then Gideon and Kobold fight for the card. For about ten minutes they keep on casting spells at each other and countering the other¿s spell with another one. Kobold gets tired of this and uses one of his banned spells to summon a wraith. Merlin and Theodora use their minds to somehow slow it down from touching Gideon. Then, just before it touches Gideon, Wycca barges in from the window and clawed the wraith to death. After that almost everyone in the room team up to stop Kobold. From reading this book I now know what it feels like to see things that are considered ¿mythical creatures¿. I like how the author described the fight between Gideon and Kobold. Especially how their spells sounded and how the wraith looked. I think this book might be just a little bit under my reading level but not too short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Kid's review

    I would like to recommend the book Hatching Magic by Ann Downer. Its genre is fantasy. The beginning of the story takes place in thirteenth century England and switches to Boston, Massachusetts in the twenty-first century. This story tells of Theodora Oglethorpe and a wizard named Gideon. Gideon is the king¿s personal wizard whose pet wyvern Wycca disappears into a magic hole while looking for a place to lay her egg that leads to the twenty-first century. When Gideon goes after her he drops an important card on the street. Theodora finds the card while looking for something to do. She then tries to use the card to get into a wyvern club in town. One of my favorite parts in the story is when Wycca comes back from flying and since her belly is so fat from the chocolate she ate the day before she has trouble balancing on the egg. When she at last get comfortable the egg starts to crack and the baby wyvern pushes out of the egg damp and blind. This is my favorite part because I love it when she helps her baby not by helping but by teaching to move on its own. This shows true care in Wycca. I thought the author did a great job writing this book because when I read it I felt like I was there in the story. This book was well written and perfect for grades 4-6. I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys reading fantasy books. I would award the book Hatching Magic four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Kids Review

    I would like to recommend the book Hatching Magic by Ann Downer. The genre is fantasy. The setting takes place in the past 13th century then the future 2000 Salem Boston. The book is about Gideon a magic wizard and his pet wyvern named Wycca. Wycca goes through time to Boston 2000 to lay her egg and Gideon follows her. At some point when he is in the future he losses a valuable card and a girl finds it stuck to her shoe. Kobold finds out that Wycca is missing and also tries to get his hands on the card because the card has very strong power and he wants to have it because he is a wizard to, and also he wants Wycca because if he gets her Gideon wont be able to do lots of magic. The girl finds the baby wyvern and wants to keep it without her parents knowing. That only makes it easer to get the baby wyvern. One of my favorite parts were when Wycca was very hungry and she found a chocolate store and parked outside was a chocolate delivery truck. She gets into the truck and starts eating the chocolate, and before she new it she had eaten all the chocolate. When she is done eating she can¿t fly because she is so fat from eating all that food so she stays in the truck over night. And the baby drinks her milk. Now that Wycca ate all that sugar she is now addicted to it so the both of them are going to the chocolate about every day. I think the end of the book is sad because the baby gets separated from its mother. From reading this book I know how it is to loose something valuable and somebody elts try to go after it. I think this book was just right for my reading level, I have a middle reading level. I like how the author described how Gideon felt about loosing the stuff. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    good

    slow story line but still a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Hatching Magic

    Hatching Magic The title of the book is Hatching Magic. The author of this book is Ann Downer. The setting of this book is twelfth century Europe, but then Wycca Gideon¿s pet wyvern travels through a bolthole. A bolthole is like a rabbit hole through time 'an untamed magic that lets you through time'. So then the setting changes from twelfth century England to modern day times. While all this is happening a girl named Theodora wants to go to the Laos expedition with her father, but she has to stay home with her ¿Nanny¿. I use that term very lightly because their ¿Nanny¿ Mikko is more of a family friend to Theodora and her father Mikko is a ¿Nanny¿ that lives with the family she is employed to. Gideon found a man named Ian Merlin O¿Shea in modern day Harvard square Boston 'A.K.A Merlin' and Merlin takes Gideon in. Gideon has to find Wycca and her egg before her egg hatches or worse! The genre of this book is Fantasy. My favorite part of the book is when Ignus, one of Gideon¿s familiars 'he is a magical fire a smart fire another one of his familiars is a two headed snake that can see decades into the future and into the past', sees the orange flame 'Ignus is blue' come out of the stove. Ignus, being alive, is naturally curious and thinks it is a smart fire as well. The reason Ignus thinks it is a smart fire is because it came out when Merlin ¿summoned¿ it. Merlin explains that it is a stupid fire controlled by oil tanks inside the stove. Then Ignus starts moving around the burners trying to get the stupid fire to come out. I recommend this book because it is a funny book where the old world and the present day are given a twist. I would give this book five stars. This book has a sequel named The Dragon that Never Was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Captivating Read

    I thouroughly enjoyed reading Ann Downer's Hatching Magic. The heroine, Theodora Oglethorpe, is a character many youngsters will empathize with: friends and father gone for the summer, motherless, obsessed with a genre of role playing games. Dragons in general have had much written about them. Theodora's obsession is with a related species, the wyvern. The descriptions of the wyvern and of the wyvern art, bring the book to life. The concept of the rabbit hole through time though not unique, being a variant on the oft used worm hole of science fiction, serves its purpose well. The organization of the Guild of Adepts is quite believable. The author neatly tidies up the details closing the adventure, while at the same time leaves the door open for a sequel. Nicely done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    A Must Read On Magic

    I read this book for a school evaluation. It was such a great book, in an incredible fantasy\sci-fi story-not like star wars! The author really takes you into the life of the characters, and you can really understand their feelings. The author describes the setting so much, as if you were there. I totally recommend this book if you are 10-14, and are LOOKING FOR AN AWESOME READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    A great fanasy book.

    The book shows 4 sides of what is going on which makes for an interesting and fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Awesome Book!!

    I thought this book realy captured the descriptions of the characters and places that appeared in the story. The way the author wrote the story makes it very interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Mom Liked It Too

    My 9 year old son and I read this book together. I am not sure which of us was more disappointed when we finished it. This is truly a well-written and very enjoyable book. I hope Theodora Ogelthorpe is back in another book soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    A GREAT BOOK!!!

    I really enjoyed the plot of the book and suspense in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Definitely worth a read!!

    This is the first of her books that I have read and I am impressed enough to take a look at the others. Well written and a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1