Customer Reviews for

Hate List

Average Rating 4.5
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(252)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A Wow Kind Of Book!

Wow, Wow, Wow. Yes, I know incredibly descriptive. Though, that's all that comes to mind after reading this book. To say it was amazing just would not be enough. Hate List basically needs it own word to describe how spectacular it was.

From the start you could get in...
Wow, Wow, Wow. Yes, I know incredibly descriptive. Though, that's all that comes to mind after reading this book. To say it was amazing just would not be enough. Hate List basically needs it own word to describe how spectacular it was.

From the start you could get in Valiere Leftman's head, feeling the anger and guilt that took her over every day. I felt sorry for her numerous times because of how nobody would ever trust her again- even her own mother and father- just because her boyfriend was the shooter and she had helped write the list. Since, for one she had never knew that this was going to happen and that the Hate List was going to be used to pick the victims. All along, I was rooting for her family and ex friends to realize how lucky they were for her to still be alive, though sadly that moment never truly came. Also, other main characters such as Dr. Hieler, her therapist, and Jessica, the girl she saved, were presented in three dimensional way that made you enjoy reading about them.

The plot was one that was controversial and never appears much in YA which made in even more compelling to read. I loved how Jennifer switched between the day of the shooting-leading up to it and then the main showcase- and the present. Since, it gave you a basic understanding of what had happened. Also, the plot was know to have some twists and turns that made it a extremely fast read.

The main thing I took from reading this book that hate and bulling are never the answer to anything. Not just because of possible school shootings, but because of how much pain it causes the people who are being hated. How much effort it takes to just wake up in the morning to have someone call you bad nicknames or to pull pranks on you. Luckily, I've never been one to have the hate put on. Though, I've seen plenty of people doing it to others which makes this an even more important topic in high schools and colleges. I therefor want to make a goal to never pick on someone to an extreme and to try to stop it if I see it going on.

Overall, Hate List is a true gem, making it a must read for any teenager or adult. I look forward to reading more by Jennifer, because I expect more great things from her in the future. :)

Grade: A+

posted by Lauren817 on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Taking responsibilities for ones actions

"Hate List" by Jennifer Brown appears to be written for the teenager but as an Adult I found this book applicable for any one. It is well written, and holds your interest. I found myself making excuses from doing housework to sit down and read just a few more pages. ...
"Hate List" by Jennifer Brown appears to be written for the teenager but as an Adult I found this book applicable for any one. It is well written, and holds your interest. I found myself making excuses from doing housework to sit down and read just a few more pages. Those pages kept on turning and I finished the book in a day and a half. I think it should be required reading in any Junior High or High School. What a discussion topic this would be. Three cheers for Jennifer Brown, I hope she writes another soon. I predict this book will end up on the Best Sellers List!

posted by MLP2 on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    A definate read!

    This book was very good. It gives a true inside look into a damaged teenage heart. It gives a situation that gives an inside look to what bullying can lead too. Raw feelings, disterbing reality, and an absolute tear jerker! I loved it! This book should be used in an anti bullying campagne.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great book

    I never thought that this book would bring tears to my eyes but it did i love this book with all my might and i recommend it to all teens and young adults. It will bring tears to your eyes but its really good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wonderful

    i loved this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AMAZINGz!!!!!

    I got this book from one of my teachers and I loved every part of it, I didn't like how I was left wondering whats going to happen next at the end of the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Greaat

    Good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Valerie and Nick, two high school students, make a list of all the people that bully them, and refer to it as their "hate list". Valerie did not know that Nick was planning to use that list as a reference to open fire in the school cafeteria. Left to answer questions, make amends, and recover, Valerie struggles to move on with her life. This book was a real eye-opener and makes the reader think. Flashbacks and the depiction of hidden-meanings and motifs provide a very effective story line. The young adult fiction author, Jennifer Brown, outlines her novel with operative critiques such as moral, philosophical, and archetypal approaches. Brown as brought together a pragmatic piece of literature not just for young adults, but for anyone interested in a realistic, effective book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Must Read

    What a well written book! Great storyline, charcter development, and really draws you in. I can see this book being a great tool for high school students as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    perfect...

    perfect...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Cyrus hater unknown

    I agree with below he cant die

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Cyrus hater

    He cant die he is a godmodder

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Make a plan to kill him

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Hate List

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Book: Hate List Author: Jennifer Brown Grade: 4.75 out of 5 star

    Book: Hate List
    Author: Jennifer Brown
    Grade: 4.75 out of 5 stars




    The Hate List is a young adult novel by Jennifer Brown that tells the very difficult story of Valerie Leftman and her role in a deadly school shooting. Told strictly from Valerie's perspective, the reader learns right away that Valerie is the girlfriend of the school shooter. Brown creatively uses newspaper reports to tell the public story of the incident, which makes it difficult to trust Valerie in the beginning. 




    Questions abound from page one. Did Valerie know Nick was going to shoot up the school beforehand? Did she know the hate list they created together would become his target list? Did Valerie help him plan it? Or, was she just as much of a victim as everyone else?




    Valerie has many questions of her own as she recovers from a gunshot wound to the leg. Nick shot her as she dove in front of another student, saving that student's life in the process. Valerie spends the summer processing what has happened and her role in it. Is she villain, hero or both?  




    The novel is paced well and it moves between the past and present in a very fluid way. Brown makes no excuses for the choices made by the characters. She exposes them for all of their beauty and flaws, and she lets us see their humanity in every decision they make. The lines are blurred - not for just Valerie but for everyone involved - as to who is to blame and who is victim, which makes this novel a very compelling read. 




    Hate List isn't about a school shooting; it's about the life that comes after and a lesson for us all in how easily the world can be turned upside down in just a moment.








    ISBN: 978-0316041454
    Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
    Pub. Date: Oct. 5, 2010

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    best BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    I read this book at last five times and each time it makes me cry like a litle girl. I suggest this book to EVERYONE who likes ths
    ese kinds of books. It is amazing and i love this author. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    This book is amazing in every detail. I enjoyed it and I could n

    This book is amazing in every detail. I enjoyed it and I could never put it down. There are flashbacks and I love how decriptive Jennifer Brown is! Just read the book and you'll love it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    When you hear the description "tear-jerker" you probab

    When you hear the description "tear-jerker" you probably think it's just a figure of speech. But for me, at least, this book was just that. Mid-story, I had to pause because I was THAT frustrated. 
    This book draws you in, makes you empathize with someone who happened to be caught in a bad situation, on a bad day, with someone they loved very much. Happens a lot. But Jennifer Brown takes it to the next level, and shoots the reader into Valerie's shoes. 
    I feel personally affected, and this book has changed my outlook on life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Honest to god this is one of my favorite books! 

    Honest to god this is one of my favorite books! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Wonderful

    As a teen its really hard to find really good books like there's a few but not many and this one is actually pretty good I just wish we got to see more of Nick before...the accident. All together it was a good book and I'm satisifed with the purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Katelyn Hensel for Readers' Favorite Hate List is t

    Reviewed by Katelyn Hensel for Readers' Favorite

    Hate List is the story of what is left behind when the dust settles after a school shooting, and those who are left pick up the pieces of their fragile and newly broken lives. Valerie's boyfriend opened fire in the school cafeteria nearly 6 months ago. Though Valerie helped to save another student, her involvement with Nick implicates her in the shootings, particularly because she helped create the "hate list" that Nick used to make a hit list of the people to kill at school. Now it's Valerie's senior year and she's still struggling with grief and guilt, and trying to figure out how to deal with broken relationships with her friends, her family, and even the girl whom she saved. 

    What an intense book. Jennifer Brown blew me away with the emotional depth and confusion all wrapped up inside Hate List. What a powerful thought, to try to understand a shooter's point of view, or more relevantly, the shooter's friends, family, and even girlfriend. No one really listens to these people; the public just points fingers and apportions blame, but these people probably are swamped with their own grief and misery, along with guilt about it. I absolutely loved this book, and I believe that having listened to it as an audio book really helped convey the tone and the message. This is a great one to give your teens, particularly if they are mature enough to understand and acknowledge that school shootings are a very real and scary possibility in this day and age. Jennifer Brown is officially one of my new favorite authors and I can't wait to hear more from her intelligent, creative, and deep mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Best book ever

    I read this book over and over and still live it. I can relate a lot to the main character, Valire, with the family problems and her trust issues. I reccommend this books to a person that needs a lift in life and seems to be stuck. Yes the stkry isbased on a school shooting but the main point is about the recovery after and how that youth is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19