Customer Reviews for

Hate List

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A Wow Kind Of Book!

Wow, Wow, Wow. Yes, I know incredibly descriptive. Though, that's all that comes to mind after reading this book. To say it was amazing just would not be enough. Hate List basically needs it own word to describe how spectacular it was.

From the start you could get in...
Wow, Wow, Wow. Yes, I know incredibly descriptive. Though, that's all that comes to mind after reading this book. To say it was amazing just would not be enough. Hate List basically needs it own word to describe how spectacular it was.

From the start you could get in Valiere Leftman's head, feeling the anger and guilt that took her over every day. I felt sorry for her numerous times because of how nobody would ever trust her again- even her own mother and father- just because her boyfriend was the shooter and she had helped write the list. Since, for one she had never knew that this was going to happen and that the Hate List was going to be used to pick the victims. All along, I was rooting for her family and ex friends to realize how lucky they were for her to still be alive, though sadly that moment never truly came. Also, other main characters such as Dr. Hieler, her therapist, and Jessica, the girl she saved, were presented in three dimensional way that made you enjoy reading about them.

The plot was one that was controversial and never appears much in YA which made in even more compelling to read. I loved how Jennifer switched between the day of the shooting-leading up to it and then the main showcase- and the present. Since, it gave you a basic understanding of what had happened. Also, the plot was know to have some twists and turns that made it a extremely fast read.

The main thing I took from reading this book that hate and bulling are never the answer to anything. Not just because of possible school shootings, but because of how much pain it causes the people who are being hated. How much effort it takes to just wake up in the morning to have someone call you bad nicknames or to pull pranks on you. Luckily, I've never been one to have the hate put on. Though, I've seen plenty of people doing it to others which makes this an even more important topic in high schools and colleges. I therefor want to make a goal to never pick on someone to an extreme and to try to stop it if I see it going on.

Overall, Hate List is a true gem, making it a must read for any teenager or adult. I look forward to reading more by Jennifer, because I expect more great things from her in the future. :)

Grade: A+

posted by Lauren817 on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Taking responsibilities for ones actions

"Hate List" by Jennifer Brown appears to be written for the teenager but as an Adult I found this book applicable for any one. It is well written, and holds your interest. I found myself making excuses from doing housework to sit down and read just a few more pages. ...
"Hate List" by Jennifer Brown appears to be written for the teenager but as an Adult I found this book applicable for any one. It is well written, and holds your interest. I found myself making excuses from doing housework to sit down and read just a few more pages. Those pages kept on turning and I finished the book in a day and a half. I think it should be required reading in any Junior High or High School. What a discussion topic this would be. Three cheers for Jennifer Brown, I hope she writes another soon. I predict this book will end up on the Best Sellers List!

posted by MLP2 on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Wow Kind Of Book!

    Wow, Wow, Wow. Yes, I know incredibly descriptive. Though, that's all that comes to mind after reading this book. To say it was amazing just would not be enough. Hate List basically needs it own word to describe how spectacular it was.

    From the start you could get in Valiere Leftman's head, feeling the anger and guilt that took her over every day. I felt sorry for her numerous times because of how nobody would ever trust her again- even her own mother and father- just because her boyfriend was the shooter and she had helped write the list. Since, for one she had never knew that this was going to happen and that the Hate List was going to be used to pick the victims. All along, I was rooting for her family and ex friends to realize how lucky they were for her to still be alive, though sadly that moment never truly came. Also, other main characters such as Dr. Hieler, her therapist, and Jessica, the girl she saved, were presented in three dimensional way that made you enjoy reading about them.

    The plot was one that was controversial and never appears much in YA which made in even more compelling to read. I loved how Jennifer switched between the day of the shooting-leading up to it and then the main showcase- and the present. Since, it gave you a basic understanding of what had happened. Also, the plot was know to have some twists and turns that made it a extremely fast read.

    The main thing I took from reading this book that hate and bulling are never the answer to anything. Not just because of possible school shootings, but because of how much pain it causes the people who are being hated. How much effort it takes to just wake up in the morning to have someone call you bad nicknames or to pull pranks on you. Luckily, I've never been one to have the hate put on. Though, I've seen plenty of people doing it to others which makes this an even more important topic in high schools and colleges. I therefor want to make a goal to never pick on someone to an extreme and to try to stop it if I see it going on.

    Overall, Hate List is a true gem, making it a must read for any teenager or adult. I look forward to reading more by Jennifer, because I expect more great things from her in the future. :)

    Grade: A+

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Taking responsibilities for ones actions

    "Hate List" by Jennifer Brown appears to be written for the teenager but as an Adult I found this book applicable for any one. It is well written, and holds your interest. I found myself making excuses from doing housework to sit down and read just a few more pages. Those pages kept on turning and I finished the book in a day and a half. I think it should be required reading in any Junior High or High School. What a discussion topic this would be. Three cheers for Jennifer Brown, I hope she writes another soon. I predict this book will end up on the Best Sellers List!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    BREATHTAKING!

    So enjoyable, read this book in a day, could not put it down. Made me cry, made me laugh, i felt like i became Valerie and was living her nightmare. Amazing writing, descriptive, beautifully laid out, heart wrenching, powerful, touching, just over all--an INCREDIBLE read.

    At first i had this book on my reading list for a long time, and i kept putting it off because the synopsis didnt quiete grab my attention as the others. But guess what? This book ended up being hte best of books yet! The summary on the back <---- or where it says synopsis, does NOT do this book justice. MUST READ!

    The only dissapointment was that it had an open ending, where it was sort of left, unfinished. THe author said in the Authors Note she did it on purpose so we could create our own end of the story, and that she wasnt really planning on writing a sequel, but god, do i hope she does!

    I cant even read another book because this one is still stuck in my mind. I LOVE it. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
    thank you jennifer brown, thank you!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    Gripping story, wonderfully detailed, worth your time!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Tragic, heart-wrenching story

    I think the author did a great job of setting up the story and the characters in this book. It starts out in the aftermath of a school shooting and flashes back in time to show what led up to the tragic events. I really enjoyed the way it jumped back and forth because it let me get to know the main character, Valerie, in the present time and learn what she was like before everything happened. It definitely helped me to understand her better. It would be so easy to judge someone like her and think, "Why didn't she just leave Nick if all he did was obsess about death?" Nick was her first boyfriend though, the first guy to show interest in her and she didn't want to let go of that. Plus, the good times they shared overshadowed everything in her mind, so that she didn't see trouble looming over her. I can relate to her in that respect; being in a bad relationship, but the fun times make the horrible times seem not as bad. I feel like Valerie was incredibly brave for returning to the same school, where many people hated and blamed her just as much as they did her boyfriend Nick, who actually did the shooting. It's hard to feel bad for Nick after the horrific things he did, but I did feel some sympathy for the fact that he was always bullied. It's not an excuse to go on a rampage and shoot people, but no one should ever have to endure being teased or made fun of. This was part of the author's intent though, I believe; through Val's eyes we were shown a softer, kinder side of Nick, which was a stark contrast to the boy who destroyed so many lives. It makes you think about things in a different light and to look at both sides of the issue. Another couple of characters that bear mentioning are Val's mom and dad. I thought her mom was extremely overbearing at times and didn't always try to see things from her daughter's perspective, but part of me understands why she was that way. She must have felt betrayed and her trust was shattered; this wasn't the daughter she had raised. So in that sense, some of her behavior is understandable. I absolutely despised her father (and I use the term "father" loosely in this case). I can't imagine ever turning my back on my kids, but he had no trouble doing so. I felt really bad for Val that she didn't have both parents supporting her. I've read a couple of books now that dealt with school shootings, but I think they've all touched me in their own way. This one was no exception; it may not have been the most unique plot, but it certainly pulled at my heartstrings. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It made me sad, occasionally it made me smile, but most of all it made me think. Even after I finished reading I couldn't stop thinking about this tragic story; I think that's a sign of a great book, when it stays on your mind long after you read the final page. I think everybody will enjoy this one, but make sure you have some tissues handy!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Hate, Love!

    Told entirely from Valerie's point of view Hate List is a powerful, emotional and turbulent ride through recovery. We watch as Valerie relives the events of early May when the person she loved most in the world perpetrated the crimes she though they were only pretending to plan. We watch as she struggles through therapy to try and put the pieces of her shattered life (at school and at home) back together in some small way. We watch as she fights to remain in school despite the loathing and persecution of surviving classmates.

    Valerie is the picture of a scared yet powerfully strong young lady. Having survived the unimaginable she perseveres through therapy where we quickly learn that in the end, despite all of the negativity and judgement she is indeed a hero. She's shaped people's lives (some for the good some for the worse) in a way, again in the end, that allows her presence at Garvin to be be one of positivity and inspiration. Brown wrote this struggle evenly and with great realism - allowing a certain cadre of characters to show their contempt for Valerie and her actions; to hold a grudge, while others embraced her heroism and worked diligently to help her understand that not only is she a good person but a person who stood in front of bullets and saved people's lives.

    My adoration for Hate List exceeds my ability to formulate coherent speech to describe it. There is honestly not one thing wrong I can find with this story. Well I take that back there is maybe one thing, Valerie's father. By the end of the novel I wanted to jump into the pages and smack him upside the head. Despite this feeling I believe that Brown has crafted his characterization into a believably realistic picture of betrayal of the cruelest kind. His distrust and disbelief in Valerie is initially warranted but falls into the category of "be the adult in this relationship" or "put your big boy underpants on". Having said that, it is this relationship that made me feel the most emotion. Particularly given his hypocrisy related to responsibility for one's actions and trust worthiness. He really wasn't one to judge in this story.

    The thing of it is that this issue only goes to show how everything in Valerie's life, both before and after the events with Nick at Garvin High occur, intertwines together to create the worst of circumstances. There is a strong foundation of dysfunction on which her reliance on Nick is built. Her shaky home life contributes to her virtual isolation at school and the ultimate creation of the hate list. Her dependence on Nick as her one good thing, her safe place pushes her life into complete disarray when he's no longer there and she has no one else to fill that void. It is in this aspect where we see the most change in Valerie as she slowly moves from that place of isolation to navigate back into living and breathing society. One of the best elements of the novel is showing how people's lives were completely changed by the events. Unsuspecting friends were made, forgiveness was given by some of those most harmed by Nick's actions, and ultimately the school and community were able to work through the healing process while including Valerie.

    For remainder of review visit galleysmith[dot]com

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    An unexpected greatness

    I picked that book up just to have something to read. It lookeed interesting but i didn't think it would be that good. Boy was i surprised!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Hate Wow!

    This book was amazing. It kept me waiting for the next page as soon as I started the first. Great plot and amazing detial. Keep up the good work, JBrown!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing

    Hate List is a book that would really make you cry, and that sure doesn't happen a lot while reading. I give it 5 stars for just about everything. It teaches people a lesson, and that you should really watch what you say and who you say it too. There are many relateable things going on throughout the whole story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    fantastic read

    Hate List is one of the best books i have ever read. It really teaches you a huge lesson that everyone should know. Read the book!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Read it

    I absolutely loved this and changed my look at life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Absolutely amazing!!

    Wonderful book, very emotinal and tells a wonderful story. Very well written and hard to put down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Excellent!!!

    Loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Valerie is alone. Her family tiptoes around her, her friends act like she doesn't exist, and most of the people in the community think she should be dead.

    Valerie's boyfriend, the person she trusted more than anyone else, shattered her life when he brought a gun to school and wounded several students and killed many others, including himself. Most people believe Valerie was involved, but she had no idea what Nick was planning.

    After spending weeks in the hospital recovering from a near-fatal gunshot wound to the leg, Valerie is moved to the psychiatric ward for observation. Afterwards, during her many therapy sessions, she begins to think back on her relationship with Nick and all the events that led up to the terrible act that changed an entire community.

    HATE LIST is an extremely powerful story. I was in tears for the last eighty pages and felt emotionally drained by the time I reached the last page. Jennifer Brown has given us a wonderful example of the importance of keeping a watchful eye out for bullying in our schools.

    Valerie is a strong character and it was great to witness her healing process. Once I started HATE LIST I couldn't stop. I read every chance I could. Even though the subject matter is very serious, this book was a pleasure to read.

    Thank you, Ms. Brown.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    A Side You Never Thought You Would See

    Wow! Just wow! Vivan is so unseen that it hurts. I cried for her. I cried for all the ways she felt alone, lost, and severly misunderstood. I disagree that Vivan is selfish. She was just lost.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    An excellent Read

    The author did a great job of making the characters relateable. I loved watching Valerie deal with her feelings for Nick and the fallout of the shooting. I loved the ending!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    :) Wow

    I can honestly say that this book made me cry along with Val, the main character. This book was wonderfully written that I can't say I've read anything like The Hate List. I love it, I would recommend it to others.
    This book will forever stay in my heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Must read

    Made me cry at the end. Really makes you grateful for life and conscious of how you treat others

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    The writing in this book is amazing and well done. There are flashbacks, and it goes back and forth. We get when Valerie and Nick are in love, and they share their hate list. Then, fast forward to the present, and Valerie deals with the consequences of the hate list, memories, and tries to overcome her guilt. It doesn’t help that her life at home isn’t so great either. Overall throughout the book it just felt like Val’s got the real short end of the stick here. It’s hard not to be against her, instead you feel sympathy towards her even though her behavior was frustrating at times. Nick, although understandably hated because of what he’s done, is somewhat painted in a sympathetic light. He was bullied, just like Val, and some of the treatment he gets does make you want to punch his tormentors in their faces. However he’s a very explosive individual and you can feel his anger and resentment. It’s hard not to feel angry towards Nick and Val’s bullies. Some of them were just so nasty a small part of you feels they deserve a good slap in the face (Christy was the one I hated the most she was a horrible nasty creature) even after the shooting, some of Val’s classmates still acted like jerks to her you’d think they get the hint and just leave her alone. Apparently, they don’t and you’d have to wonder if the cycle would repeat. I also hated Val’s dad. Wow, what a selfish chit. I’d understand it’s probably really hard to go through something and realize your child could possibly be a cold blooded killer, but he just did a complete turn around and was more preoccupied with himself and his nice new trophy girlfriend. It was just sickening. This was where I really felt for Val. She just lost her entire support network and had no one to rely on. On the other hand, this is where I really admired Jessica’s behavior. Despite being a previous tormentor of Val’s, she realized her actions and attempted to reach out to her, which I thought was the right thing to do and very brave of her to do so in front of her peers and the rest of the community. I definitely recommend this book to anyone it’s a great read, it’s so well written you feel the emotions of the characters and it brings out a lot of conflicting emotions within the reader. It’s well worth the read considering the subject matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    A definate read!

    This book was very good. It gives a true inside look into a damaged teenage heart. It gives a situation that gives an inside look to what bullying can lead too. Raw feelings, disterbing reality, and an absolute tear jerker! I loved it! This book should be used in an anti bullying campagne.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19