Customer Reviews for

Hater

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

An Instant Classic

WOW. The first thing I will say is, you don't need to read a review of this book. You just need to read it for yourself. This story is fantastic. David Moody has created a story that could possibly be one of the best modern "situation horror" stories ever written. I was...
WOW. The first thing I will say is, you don't need to read a review of this book. You just need to read it for yourself. This story is fantastic. David Moody has created a story that could possibly be one of the best modern "situation horror" stories ever written. I was hooked from the first chapter. This book starts at a fast pace and just continues to gain momentum right until the end.
This isn't your run of the mill "horror" story. There isn't a monster, no vampires or werewolves. The fear comes from our own humanity, or what will happen if we lose our humanity. The author has created a world were a proportion of the population becomes affected by a "new" kind of disorder. Once affected they lose all humanity towards those not affected. They fear those who haven't changed and they HATE those who haven't changed. They find only one way of fixing this situation. Kill the unchanged.
The horror in this book comes at the reader from three different angles. Firstly, we have the violence that is carried out throughout the whole story. It is relentless, in your face and most of all, it is believable. Every attack resembles something we could possibly read or see in the news on a daily basis. Secondly, we have the simple horror of normal people being trapped and confused in this situation. The author really creates a spine chilling experience by making us feel empathy with those not affected and from this we get a feeling of the fear that they must be feeling. Thirdly, the horror, at its best, comes from the very realistic way that David Moody has shown us how humanity, love and empathy can easily be destroyed once fear is added into the world. How friends can turn on friends once they are shown the difference. How we fear those who are different from ourselves and the lengths we are willing to go to get rid them.
The story is easy to read, captivating, brilliant, scary and worryingly mirrors the world we live in. Expect a few shivers down your back and after reading, try not to judge those you walk past in the street. After all, it is only a story........ but it will make you think!!!

posted by Dave_Lightfoot on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

It didn't work for me ...

I read the whole thing and its just bad on many levels. Its looking for a metaphor and the author should of stated it in an abstract so that we might pin him down on it with Elmer's glue and get it over with.

The previous reviewers alluded to a fast paced novel ......
I read the whole thing and its just bad on many levels. Its looking for a metaphor and the author should of stated it in an abstract so that we might pin him down on it with Elmer's glue and get it over with.

The previous reviewers alluded to a fast paced novel ... nope. Its kind of like Dawn of the Dead but you never get to the Mall. All character development kinda stops half way through and we are on a long wrap up for part two.

I really liked the beginning of the book. The main character was developing nicely and I liked how the author gave us the hater's perspective when they changed. From there everything is miserable and self centered for the most part. If your not a hater, you do nothing but what good for you and skip everyone else. When your a hater, once you get past the initiation part of killing some innocent sucker just cuz its the most logical path to follow, your palling around with the bestest most magnanimous altruistic bunch of self center people that do everything for one another but kill everyone else as long as the timing is right and if its not, we act like we did before; whine and wait ... wait, mmm.

I have a hard time with irrational acts leading to rational pacts of irrational people that have a global goal that must lead to nothing in the end because they are a disconnected people with no other goal. Did I just say that out loud? Maybe its a Gaea thing. Maybe its a Nietzsche "become what you are" thing, which I'm all for but it was never meant in this vein. Maybe its a I don't care because its boring thing. Hater/non-hater ... whats the difference with the exception of kill, kill, kill for different self centered reasons ... which kind of sounds like we are hitting a metaphor, but its not that easy in this book, and the journey isn't worth wherever this story goes, part two goes and beyond. I'm skipping the boat ride.

posted by divideByZero on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    An Instant Classic

    WOW. The first thing I will say is, you don't need to read a review of this book. You just need to read it for yourself. This story is fantastic. David Moody has created a story that could possibly be one of the best modern "situation horror" stories ever written. I was hooked from the first chapter. This book starts at a fast pace and just continues to gain momentum right until the end.
    This isn't your run of the mill "horror" story. There isn't a monster, no vampires or werewolves. The fear comes from our own humanity, or what will happen if we lose our humanity. The author has created a world were a proportion of the population becomes affected by a "new" kind of disorder. Once affected they lose all humanity towards those not affected. They fear those who haven't changed and they HATE those who haven't changed. They find only one way of fixing this situation. Kill the unchanged.
    The horror in this book comes at the reader from three different angles. Firstly, we have the violence that is carried out throughout the whole story. It is relentless, in your face and most of all, it is believable. Every attack resembles something we could possibly read or see in the news on a daily basis. Secondly, we have the simple horror of normal people being trapped and confused in this situation. The author really creates a spine chilling experience by making us feel empathy with those not affected and from this we get a feeling of the fear that they must be feeling. Thirdly, the horror, at its best, comes from the very realistic way that David Moody has shown us how humanity, love and empathy can easily be destroyed once fear is added into the world. How friends can turn on friends once they are shown the difference. How we fear those who are different from ourselves and the lengths we are willing to go to get rid them.
    The story is easy to read, captivating, brilliant, scary and worryingly mirrors the world we live in. Expect a few shivers down your back and after reading, try not to judge those you walk past in the street. After all, it is only a story........ but it will make you think!!!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hate or be hated....

    Awesome, outstanding, very well written book!

    "Hater" is the 1st book in what will be a trilogy. The next book, "Dog Blood" will be out soon according to back page's author's notes. Don't let the obscure title fool you, "Hater" is the real deal!

    A word of advice, read "Hater" now, don't wait until the movie comes out or until all three books are out and everyone is talking about it and your three books behind. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

    A few random people are brutally attacked by strangers. The next day, several more attacks. All random, all appear to be for no certain reason. The media declares the attacks are being committed by haters! But who is a hater, what is a hater, how can we tell them apart?

    The government puts the following message on every television, every station-

    REMAIN CALM
    DO NOT PANIC
    TAKE SHELTER
    WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS
    THE SITUATION IS UNDER CONTROL

    The haters can tell us apart, they already know, "it's kill or be killed, hate or be hated!"

    Haters are not zombies, their not vampires, read it and find out for yourself!

    The book gets better & better all the way through. It's fast paced and the ending is phenomenal!

    Guillermo del Toro, director of "Pan's Labyrinth", "Hellboy 1 & 2" has already purchased the rights to this novel for production of the major motion picture "Hater"!

    I will definitely watch the movie and definitely read the next two novels when they come out.

    Read it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    The cover caught my eye but the words grabbed my throat

    I had no idea what to expect going into this book but by the end of the first chapter I felt like I'd been punched in the face....but in a good way! It is amazingly well written and leaves you wanting more every time you have to close the cover. If you enjoy the infected human or undead genre you will undoubtedly enjoy this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hate or Be Hated!

    What an amazing read! The book's cover catches the eye and draws you in. From the very beginning of the book, you are captivated. The pace is quick and never slows down. Page after page is filled with a unique sense of anticipation that forces you into the world of the Haters. The way Moody writes in the personal form forces you to think like the character and truly commit to his process of drawing conclusions and making decisions. Although his names is mentioned only a handful of times, you relate to the main character so well, you barely realize you don't know his name. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to escape into a fantastical and gory alter-world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a chilling thriller

    Danny McCoyne is a bureaucrat at the Parking Fine Processing Office; a job he loathes but as poor as the pay is he needs to keep his boring position in order to feed his wife and kids. Depressed Danny knows he has no future beyond being near the bottom of his agency's food chain.

    Danny is stunned when he witnesses an apparent random act of violence. When more occur, the media dubs the assaulters as Haters. Victims are loved ones, friends and fellow workers as much as strangers. No one can explain why even as society begins to unravel as exponentially the number of attacks is beyond when the government can contend with. Danny anticipates the worst is yet to come; so he tries to keep his loved ones safe though that means hiding inside their home like convicts. He trusts no one especially the government who he thinks may be behind the sudden violence

    This is a chilling thriller as the increasingly violent society forcing innocents to lock themselves and their families in houses that are prisons seems plausible due to the pace of the story line. The brutality is often vivid, rightfully so, as that cruelty is what leads to self incarceration. Fans of a dark world will appreciate this grim thriller as normality is simple survival in a Moody world gone mad.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Xavier

    O o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o is it just me or are this crooked lol totally random

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Perfect Holiday Read/Gift

    My first encounter with this hellishly delightful text was through the public library. I am a professional reader & read it in a day. My roommate loved it as well -- finishing it in less than a week (he works, has a boyfriend & parties full time). Every Xmas I give my youngest cousin money inside an excellent book. Last year it was Kostova's THE HISTORIAN. This year it will be Moody's HATER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Phil

    Waits hired by somone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    I will admit what first attracted me to Hater was its cover¿the

    I will admit what first attracted me to Hater was its cover—the white stuck out from the rest of the black and green books in the horror section of Borders. The blood splatters on the cover helped drive the point home, too. I needed to read this book.
    Hater is something of a thrill ride. David Moody perfectly captures the apathy of the everyman. Danny, his main character, is neutral as the world begins to fall down around him. However, Danny’s love for his daughter really makes him pop as a character for me. 
    For people bored with the current “zombie” genre, Hater provides a welcome change—these “monsters” are driven by fear. We get to see inside the minds of the “haters,” as well as the “unchanged,” allowing you to really see both sides of the world Moody has created. Moody is a master of pacing—Hater is slow when it needs to be slow, and picks up pace at just the right moments. Moody knows how to suck you in (even when you really need to put down the book to be somewhere else! Thanks for the sunburn, David!) 
    I often recommend Hater to people who love the horror genre. It’s so different—it’s not set after the apocalypse; you actually get to watch the world fall apart. I’ve read it several times and I love it more each time. Definitely a must-read for anyone who loves chaos and tense situations (as well as top-notch writing).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Love

    I love the hater series. Its absolutely amazing and different. Will keep you on edge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Not what I was expecting...it was better!

    This book surprised me I had expectations of a familiar story about zombies but this quickly took a turn to something different. I don't want to give anything away but I highly recommend reading this book. If you are a fan of Mira Grant or movies like The Crazis, then you will love this. I can't wait to read book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    When zombies are not zombies

    I loved this book. It's a refreshing new take on the "us against them" apocalypse genre. Fast-paced, intelligent, and thought-provoking. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Dreamwhisper

    May I join? And whats ur name?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Excellent

    Love everything I've read by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Great Hate

    David Moody is a genius; I wasn't sure about the "British undertones" at first, but boy was I wrong. This needs to be a series on HBO, it's that good! I don't know which book in the trilogy is better? READ THIS BOOK ... I just purchased his Autumn novel and am hoping that it's as fast-paced a read as the Hater Trilogy! Marry me David Moody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Thought this was a well writen book. Two thumbs up so to speak.

    Thought this was a well writen book. Two thumbs up so to speak. The only
    downfall to the book is that it ended to soon. Kept my battention well
    enough that I was more then willing to read more, if only I didn"t
    have to wait for the next book in the series! Would. and have
    recommended this book to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Wonderful Book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book, wonder if this could really
    happen someday. You never know?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    HATER is amaza-phenom-awesome...and that's a mouthful. It's beyo

    HATER is amaza-phenom-awesome...and that's a mouthful. It's beyond what one woul imagine as an apocalyptic situation. The writing, imagery, and realword scenarios are phnomanally written. I don't think that I've ever read a better horror novel. David Moody is the next horror icon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    A spine chiller from cover to cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great beginning to an awesome series. A must read!

    A great book for any horror fanatic. I highly recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4