Customer Reviews for

Haters

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ADDICTED!!!

I have read this book twice and I find it very relatable, especially if your a teenager going through that awkward time. The plot was kind of predictable, but there is some twists to it. It's hard to put down when you start reading it. So basically it's about this girl ...
I have read this book twice and I find it very relatable, especially if your a teenager going through that awkward time. The plot was kind of predictable, but there is some twists to it. It's hard to put down when you start reading it. So basically it's about this girl named Paski who moves to Aliso Viejo, California and needs to become acclimated with her surroundings since she moved from Taos, New Mexico. She encounters the "haters" and gets it some mishaps along the way, while she is still trying to figure out who she is and where she belongs (clique wise). I recommend this book if you like high school drama and where the underdog stands up the queen bee. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR EVERY TEENAGER!!! :)

posted by laura65 on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eh!

Too cliche and predictable but overall, it wasn't too bad. It was actually pretty funny.

posted by karicaturas13 on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    ADDICTED!!!

    I have read this book twice and I find it very relatable, especially if your a teenager going through that awkward time. The plot was kind of predictable, but there is some twists to it. It's hard to put down when you start reading it. So basically it's about this girl named Paski who moves to Aliso Viejo, California and needs to become acclimated with her surroundings since she moved from Taos, New Mexico. She encounters the "haters" and gets it some mishaps along the way, while she is still trying to figure out who she is and where she belongs (clique wise). I recommend this book if you like high school drama and where the underdog stands up the queen bee. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR EVERY TEENAGER!!! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awesome book!

    Keionna Newton
    Per.3

    In the book ¿Haters¿, a seventeen year old girl named Pasquala, Paski for short, lives with her father in New Mexico.
    Meanwhile, Paski¿s dad had just received a call from a few movie directors from Hollywood, proclaiming that they wanted to make a movie out of her dad¿s comic books called ¿Squeegee Man.¿
    Paski knew she was in for something as soon as her dad started dressing and acting like one of those preppy rich parents that you would see on a reality show on TV.
    Then a couple of days later, he announces that they¿d be moving to California and that he had already registered Paski at a new high school there.
    Immediately Paski freaks out because she wants to stay home in New Mexico with her family and friends but she knew there was already no chance.
    Reluctantly, she says good bye to all her friends and heads out on a week long drive with her dad to California.
    Paski at first has a hard time adapting to the differences in California and her new school, especially all the rich, preppy, and snobby kids there were at her school.
    Paski, later on in the story, sort of gets into trouble with the ¿popular¿ girls at school, also known as the haters, when she tries to fit in to be like everyone else.
    Then she realizes that she just needed to be herself and not care what everyone else thought.
    That it didn¿t matter if they didn¿t like her, because it was who she was.
    After realizing this, she makes many friends, including a new boyfriend, Chris.
    I really enjoyed reading this book and it especially sparked my interest because of the message included in it: to be yourself.
    You shouldn¿t change yourself just because some people don¿t like who you are.
    That being you is the best you can be.
    I thought that was a really good and strong message to send out to people.
    Another thing I enjoyed about this book was all the humor and emotion included in the text.
    It¿s like one of those books that are so intriguing, you never want to put it down and I actually felt kind of disappointed when it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Pretty Good Book

    Haters by Alisa Valdes - Rodriguez published by Little Brown and Company in 2006 through Hachette Book Group USA New York City.

    Haters written by Alisa Valdes ¿ Rodriguez is a teen novel based on a girl name Pasquala Rumalda Quintana de Archulata or Paski for short. Paski is your average teenager helping out at her grandmother¿s business which is a fortune/future telling business , going to school, hanging out with her boyfriend and friends, having visions and hearing Ghost just as her Grandmother and just being a teenager. Then one day her life changes suddenly when her dad comes backs from a two ¿ week business trip from Los Angles California wearing designer sunglass a Juicy Couture men¿s tracksuit and announces they are moving out there house in the city of Toa which she has lived in since she was a child to and apartment in Los Angles California for a job offer to make Squeegee Man a comic created by her father into a television series.

    California brings nothing but drama for Paski attending a rich school where she has no place to fit in, being an apartment girl, having to deal with a snobby popular rich girl that is out to completely destroy her life after being dumped her popular boyfriend so he could date Paski , two semi- annoying twin neighbors who seem to always be around , a crazy father in her eyes) who has great interest in being ¿hip or cool¿ and endless new and embarrassing experiences to fill a whole book which Alisa Valdes ¿ Rodriguez obviously does in such a enticing, mind bogging, suspenseful, and just flat out amazing way.
    I never in my life thought that a book titled Haters could have had such an impact on me! Just as Paski forgave someone who happened to awe full enough to attempts to get her under the influence or hurt in any way. Haters has taught me forgiveness is a key point in one¿s life. Acceptance is another big part of this book Paski accepted her future and actually took a liking to her new and upcoming life.

    If I was to recommend this book to anyone they reader in my opinion would be between the age of twelve and sixteen. Because a reader under the age of twelve would be reading about stuff that should be unknown them, I believe that anyone over the age of sixteen would not enjoy the book to its fullest because in a way a teen age reader could find a link while some one older in age might not be able to in my opinion. I give this book a four out of five stars because as much as I enjoyed it and feel as though many people withier male or female would enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    I thought this was the perfect book...

    Until I read the reviews. Kidding. Sort of. As you read it, you're not cognizant of any sloppiness or political references or 'fat people jokes.' It's a killer read with just a dash of magical realism, an inspiringly brave teenage protagonist, and a driven plot that makes you want to read cover to cover nonstop. I remember relating it to my life in a thousand different ways, so I think any teenage girl could read this book and be blissfully pleased afterwards - especially because the ending is so uplifting :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Eh!

    Too cliche and predictable but overall, it wasn't too bad. It was actually pretty funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    awesome book

    this book was awesome and i had no problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    OMG!!!!!!!!:)

    "It felt like a brand new tube of toothpaste" one of those OMG!! Moments... lol read it when i was in middle school and my mom had read it first and when i read that part i was like..."um....should i be reading this?" But that is only how far it goes just about but it gets fnnier after that. Get it and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Loooved it

    I read this book in high school and loooved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love2Read

    Bought this book for my niece teen. I read first we loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    11

    I love this book,i could never put it down.
    I didnt even put it down till i had to go to sleep. But anyway you really should get yhis book ,now that im 12 i can be like yeah i read that book a year ago so what you are like so late

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great book

    I really liked this book, i hope that they have a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SOME THINGS KIND OF GOT ON MY NERVES!!

    I honestly can't say I like this book all the way. Don't get me wrong the plot is awesome and some of the characters like Paski's dad grows on you. What made me not love this book is the fact the author tries to add politics to the mix, which have nothing to do with the story whatsoever. I will give you some examples that kind of got on my nerves. On page 210, "-because I love you, and I want you to be informed and protected out there. It's what any good liberal parent would do.-" Why she had to add liberal parent I do not know. She should have just wrote that's what any good parent would do. Is she trying to tell us if you're not a liberal then you are not a good parent, or that if you're not a libreal you wouldn't want to teach your child how to protect themselves during sex? On page 255 "Not that I have anything against your other friends," says Haley's mom. "Well, it's just that sometimes we get a little tired of the whole young-Republicans-convention vibe at your school baby doll," says her dad. Is she trying to tell us all Republicans are like the kids who drink, do drugs, and slip date rape drugs into drinks? Is she trying to tell us Republicans are evil like Jessica and stupid like Brianna? That's sure what it sounds like to me. Then there are also a couple instances where she makes fun of fat people in this book, doesn't she realize there are gonna be overweight girls that read this and be offended and feel already worse about themselves then they already do? People when writing books for young adults should think about things like that.
    Paski lives with her single dad who has gotten a job in California and is moving her away from the home in New Mexico, friends,and family she's known her whole life. Paski soon learns what her new school is all about and how mean popular people can truly be, she also finds love and acceptance with different kinds of people. Paski realizes she should use her gift to help people instead of just trying to ignore it, because if she doesn't bad things can happen to many different people.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book that will keep your Interest!

    Though most of the book takes place in Orange County, it's not about the stereotypical, skanky rich girls like you might presume. It's about Paski, who has a seemingly normal life back in New Mexico (minus the physical visions), like any other teenage girl. A boyfriend, best friends, the whole package. Until her dad has to move to O.C for his comics, being picked up for a movie. "Haters" is about Paski adjusting to her new life of friends, a boyfriend and mean girls. Orange County is a completely different culture than she's used to. "Haters" is really good book for teen girls. And unlike other teen books, it can be relatable to all types of girls; whether your interest is art, fashion, or sports. "Haters", has it all. I recommend you check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    All teens Should read

    The Book Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodrigues is a great book for teens. The story keeps you hooked through out the book whether it is what her crazy dad is doing, or the drama that Jessica Nguyen the most popular girl from Orange County is causing. Haters has multiple themes that relate to teen girls and will give comfort to many girls to know that someone going through the same thing. Paski the main character must leave the Mountains of Taos New Mexico to head to the sunny city of Orange County California. Paski is not use to the fact that money is the center of everything and it will make or break you. Paski becomes hated by the most popular group also known as the "Haters" because she has a crush on the hot Chris Cabrera who is Jessica Nguyen's ex boyfriend the leader of the "Haters". Paski try's not to focus on the drama and focus on her passion, mountain biking. Paski has a "gift" that se is trying to deal with. With out her mother being in the picture Paski must grow up in to a woman with her over emotional dad .Paski is found in many tough situations that a lot of teenage girls find them selves in. Paski is a good role model for teens and is some one to relate to. The book "Haters" is an excellently written book for anyone who enjoys a love storey, drama filled storey, And realistic storey. I would recommend this book to any teen in high school who enjoys just a fun book to read that is a real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Great book!

    This is a great book about a girl finding her slef. In a world with alot of haters it hard to find a good person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Teen MUST HAVE!

    Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodriquez was a truly outstanding book that was glued to my hands. A simple 16 year old girl named Paski, the main character, starts off in a small town called Taos, New Mexico. She then takes her New Mexico reality and faces the true, California life because her dad's comics are turning famous. She starts at a new school where almost everyone is rich and beautiful. While biking the hills of Orange County, she runs into hot, motocrossing, Chris Cabrera, who she falls in love with. At school, she runs into both rich and beautiful Jessica Nguyen. Paski thinks nothing of the dangers of liking Jessica's Ex, Chris. Where will she go if the new school disapproves of her, will she grow up to be her comic-making dad, or a famous and beautiful motocrosser? With all the sugar, spice and all the people that are NOT nice in this book, Haters is perfect for every teenager who enjoys a little something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    pleasant surprise

    i didnt realize the book was for 'teens' when i called B&N for it. but, since it's by AVR, i said to myself, "what the heck...it oughta be fun." And it was! AVR captured the young voice brilliantly. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazzing!!!

    Haters is an honest, exciting, lovable book that keeps you reading til the last, crisp, page. Paski has to deal with so many hard things. Between Chris Cabrera (the school hottie, Jessica Nuygen (the leader of the haters), and her physic powers, she just wants to be an ordinary teenage girl who doesn't want powers. But in the end she finds herself and accepts her powers. If this was a movie I would rate it PG-13 for some graphic parts and harshness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HELP!

    Okay so i read this book and it was amazing!. I really want to know if there is any others ....like a sequel????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AHHH-MAYYY-ZINGGG!

    I loved this book!!! I didn't think it would be as good as it was. I recommended it to my friend and she liked it so much she read it twice! I don't think this book could have a sequel really but I really think it would make a really great movie!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5