Customer Reviews for

Haters

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

awesome book

this book was awesome and i had no problems.

posted by 6155968 on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eh!

Too cliche and predictable but overall, it wasn't too bad. It was actually pretty funny.

posted by karicaturas13 on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Pretty Good Book

    Haters by Alisa Valdes - Rodriguez published by Little Brown and Company in 2006 through Hachette Book Group USA New York City.

    Haters written by Alisa Valdes ¿ Rodriguez is a teen novel based on a girl name Pasquala Rumalda Quintana de Archulata or Paski for short. Paski is your average teenager helping out at her grandmother¿s business which is a fortune/future telling business , going to school, hanging out with her boyfriend and friends, having visions and hearing Ghost just as her Grandmother and just being a teenager. Then one day her life changes suddenly when her dad comes backs from a two ¿ week business trip from Los Angles California wearing designer sunglass a Juicy Couture men¿s tracksuit and announces they are moving out there house in the city of Toa which she has lived in since she was a child to and apartment in Los Angles California for a job offer to make Squeegee Man a comic created by her father into a television series.

    California brings nothing but drama for Paski attending a rich school where she has no place to fit in, being an apartment girl, having to deal with a snobby popular rich girl that is out to completely destroy her life after being dumped her popular boyfriend so he could date Paski , two semi- annoying twin neighbors who seem to always be around , a crazy father in her eyes) who has great interest in being ¿hip or cool¿ and endless new and embarrassing experiences to fill a whole book which Alisa Valdes ¿ Rodriguez obviously does in such a enticing, mind bogging, suspenseful, and just flat out amazing way.
    I never in my life thought that a book titled Haters could have had such an impact on me! Just as Paski forgave someone who happened to awe full enough to attempts to get her under the influence or hurt in any way. Haters has taught me forgiveness is a key point in one¿s life. Acceptance is another big part of this book Paski accepted her future and actually took a liking to her new and upcoming life.

    If I was to recommend this book to anyone they reader in my opinion would be between the age of twelve and sixteen. Because a reader under the age of twelve would be reading about stuff that should be unknown them, I believe that anyone over the age of sixteen would not enjoy the book to its fullest because in a way a teen age reader could find a link while some one older in age might not be able to in my opinion. I give this book a four out of five stars because as much as I enjoyed it and feel as though many people withier male or female would enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    All teens Should read

    The Book Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodrigues is a great book for teens. The story keeps you hooked through out the book whether it is what her crazy dad is doing, or the drama that Jessica Nguyen the most popular girl from Orange County is causing. Haters has multiple themes that relate to teen girls and will give comfort to many girls to know that someone going through the same thing. Paski the main character must leave the Mountains of Taos New Mexico to head to the sunny city of Orange County California. Paski is not use to the fact that money is the center of everything and it will make or break you. Paski becomes hated by the most popular group also known as the "Haters" because she has a crush on the hot Chris Cabrera who is Jessica Nguyen's ex boyfriend the leader of the "Haters". Paski try's not to focus on the drama and focus on her passion, mountain biking. Paski has a "gift" that se is trying to deal with. With out her mother being in the picture Paski must grow up in to a woman with her over emotional dad .Paski is found in many tough situations that a lot of teenage girls find them selves in. Paski is a good role model for teens and is some one to relate to. The book "Haters" is an excellently written book for anyone who enjoys a love storey, drama filled storey, And realistic storey. I would recommend this book to any teen in high school who enjoys just a fun book to read that is a real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    HATERS is the first young adult book by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez, but anyone who reads this book (myself included) is sure to hope it's not her last! In the novel, readers are introduced to Paski (her full name is Pasquala Rumalda Quintana de Archuleta, but that's way too much of a mouthful). She's a New Mexico teenager who, because of her father's new job, moves to Orange County, California. Yeah, the O.C. And it seems a lot like the television show. Paski misses the mountains around her old home of Taos (she's a mountain biker), her psychic grandmother (whose talents she has inherited), her best friends, and tons more, but maybe the O.C. isn't so bad. After all, there's super-hot Chris Cabrera! It's not like Paski is a social leper, either. She quickly makes friends with Tina, a girl who has a slight obsession with anthropology. <BR/><BR/>Things aren't all fun and games, though. At her new school, Aliso Niguel High, certain things are very important. Looks and money, for the most part. And gorgeous, rich (and evil) Jessica Nguyen has both. She and her friends (some of the Haters the book is named for), confident as they may seem in their place at the top, are a little threatened by Paski, who is just as pretty as they are. At first, they're able to dismiss her as just an "apartment girl," but then they find out her dad is going to be really well paid for the movie (about a superhero named Squeegee Man) that he's animating. Apparently, Paski has what it takes to get to the top. But with the Haters there, is that where she wants to be? <BR/><BR/>HATERS was an entertaining, fun read that kept be hooked up until the very last word! Maybe it's not a hugely original idea--there are tons of young adult books about rich, popular teenagers in California. Or Florida. But this is more than that. Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez tells the story in Paski's fresh, original voice that will have readers craving more. I hope there's more about Paski in the future, or at least more young adult fiction from Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez in general, and anyone who reads this book will most definitely feel the same!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    amazing!!!!!!!

    i loved this book i couldnt put it down, in the the midle of the book i decided to look up some reviews and found out that the high school was a real place i personally liked that because it actually caused the book to get more attention i think the author ploted it all along 'good 4 her=D'now to focus on the book..it was apsalutly amazing i especially loved it twoards the ending wen it gets really hot between paksi and the super cute hottie hot hottie 'i will never look at toothpastetubes the same again'great job!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    3 1/2 STARS FOR HATERS !!!!!! (:

    Haters is a great book for teens! Machority is needed for some parts. But otherwise a great books with a great lesson !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    HATERS is the first young adult book by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez, but anyone who reads this book (myself included) is sure to hope it's not her last! In the novel, readers are introduced to Paski (her full name is Pasquala Rumalda Quintana de Archuleta, but that's way too much of a mouthful). She's a New Mexico teenager who, because of her father's new job, moves to Orange County, California. Yeah, the O.C. And it seems a lot like the television show. Paski misses the mountains around her old home of Taos (she's a mountain biker), her psychic grandmother (whose talents she has inherited), her best friends, and tons more, but maybe the O.C. isn't so bad. After all, there's super-hot Chris Cabrera! It's not like Paski is a social leper, either. She quickly makes friends with Tina, a girl who has a slight obsession with anthropology. Things aren't all fun and games, though. At her new school, Aliso Niguel High, certain things are very important. Looks and money, for the most part. And gorgeous, rich (and evil) Jessica Nguyen has both. She and her friends (some of the Haters the book is named for), confident as they may seem in their place at the top, are a little threatened by Paski, who is just as pretty as they are. At first, they're able to dismiss her as just an 'apartment girl,' but then they find out her dad is going to be really well paid for the movie (about a superhero named Squeegee Man) that he's animating. Apparently, Paski has what it takes to get to the top. But with the Haters there, is that where she wants to be? HATERS was an entertaining, fun read that kept be hooked up until the very last word! Maybe it's not a hugely original idea--there are tons of young adult books about rich, popular teenagers in California. Or Florida. But this is more than that. Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez tells the story in Paski's fresh, original voice that will have readers craving more. I hope there's more about Paski in the future, or at least more young adult fiction from Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez in general, and anyone who reads this book will most definitely feel the same! **Reviewed by: Jocelyn Pearce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    The author could have done a little more research...

    Don't get me wrong, this book was great! But being a motocross racer myself and knowing the specifics made me realize just how bad the racing parts in this book were. Yamahas AREN'T yellow. Yamahas are blue. This is just one of the many mistakes that were made in the describing in this book. But, like i said...dont get me wrong, the book was great. This book is called fiction for a reason. We all know that there are no guys out in the world as sweet as Chris Cabrera and we all know that each person's highschool experience is different for another person's. But it's an over all good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    In my opinion

    Im in the process of reading it now and I just had to pull myself away from it. I wanted to read some reviews of what other people had to say about this book. Upon reading these reviews I saw that most of them were from students of the high school mentioned in the book. They all seemed a bit outraged after reading the book. I have to say one thing when I picked up this book and began reading it I had no idea Aliso Niguel was an actual school or town. I believe that not many people would go and research the location of this book. I think some of these reveiwers need to calm down a bit because if it was about the exact people in your school then it would have been placed in the non-fiction section. I love this book so far and I think that people should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1