Customer Reviews for

Hatha Yoga Illustrated

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Great Guide

This is my first review!!!
I loved Hatha Yoga Illustrated. I've been doing yoga for 4 months. So I'm a newby, to the art of yoga. In my opinion, the book has wonderful, clear, color illustrations and easy to follow directions for each pose. On the back pages it has th...
This is my first review!!!
I loved Hatha Yoga Illustrated. I've been doing yoga for 4 months. So I'm a newby, to the art of yoga. In my opinion, the book has wonderful, clear, color illustrations and easy to follow directions for each pose. On the back pages it has the poses in alphabetical order and the page you can find it on.

JC

posted by JVC on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

NOOK Sample has no value, love the hardcopy book!!!

Downloaded the sample.
Got the forward, intro etc., just text

I really would like to see how the pose page shows up on the NOOK.
Can you view the pose and the pertinent info on a screen, or is it chopped up and hard to view and put together???

That is what I ...
Downloaded the sample.
Got the forward, intro etc., just text

I really would like to see how the pose page shows up on the NOOK.
Can you view the pose and the pertinent info on a screen, or is it chopped up and hard to view and put together???

That is what I was hoping to find in the Sample. Gave nook sample 1 star.

The Sample was of zero value to me. I love the hardcopy but need to see how user friendly it is in NOOK land.

posted by WI_Yogini on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Nook book is not worth it

    The Nook book is missing all the steps, diagrams and pictures of each yoga position. It is missing approximately half the book. It list the various yoga postions and has one small picture of what it looks like, but no instructions or comments. I have not seen the paper edition, which sounds good. Forget the Nook edition.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    NOOK Sample has no value, love the hardcopy book!!!

    Downloaded the sample.
    Got the forward, intro etc., just text

    I really would like to see how the pose page shows up on the NOOK.
    Can you view the pose and the pertinent info on a screen, or is it chopped up and hard to view and put together???

    That is what I was hoping to find in the Sample. Gave nook sample 1 star.

    The Sample was of zero value to me. I love the hardcopy but need to see how user friendly it is in NOOK land.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Avoid the Nook version

    I went to Barnes and Noble to view the hard copy and it looked awesome... So I searched for a nook version, for convience... I made an impulse purchase without looking for reviews (bad decision).. The graphics and images are horribly pixelated, the content is less in comparison to the hard copy' and the overall aesthetic sucks... I am beyond disappointed, there should be a refund policy.. I want my money back.. I really feel that the nook version shouldn't be offered for sale in the condition that it is in... Steer clear of this version!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    This was required for my 200-hour teacher training and it was a

    This was required for my 200-hour teacher training and it was a great pick!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Beginner Yoga must!

    Just started taking yoga at my local college and this book was required reading. It has become a very important tool as I am able to revisit poses learned in class. Great resource.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Guide

    This is my first review!!!
    I loved Hatha Yoga Illustrated. I've been doing yoga for 4 months. So I'm a newby, to the art of yoga. In my opinion, the book has wonderful, clear, color illustrations and easy to follow directions for each pose. On the back pages it has the poses in alphabetical order and the page you can find it on.

    JC

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Good pictorial reference

    This is a good reference for beginning and semi-intermediate students. Pictures and explanations are clear, and some basic programs are included.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    A Good Book for a Yogi

    If you enjoy your home practice this book is a great addition to your existing library or a way to start your yoga library. What i enjoyed most about this book was that it offers several different ways you can achieve a posture. If your injured or have flexibility issues you have an alternate way to still get the benefits of the posture and succeed at your phsyical capabilities. It's also a quick read. I went through it in about 2 and a half hours. Also it gives several different routines that shake things up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    Every Yogi should own this book.

    This book is comprehensive and very informative. I found it a great reference tool for poses and what poses are good for what, i.e. digestive, flexibility, back, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Booo

    Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I feel.....

    Like an:
    Expert at yoga
    Feel free
    Feel more control of my body
    I feel powerful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hatha Yoga Illustrated

    nice book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1