Customer Reviews for

Hattie Big Sky (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Superior Novel

As a sixteen year old girl, Hattie Brooks has been shuffled around from relative to relative many times. Hattie has a dream that some day she can belong to someone and have a real family. Tired of being Hattie Here-and-There, she courageously moves herself to Vida, Mont...
As a sixteen year old girl, Hattie Brooks has been shuffled around from relative to relative many times. Hattie has a dream that some day she can belong to someone and have a real family. Tired of being Hattie Here-and-There, she courageously moves herself to Vida, Montana to take care of her late uncles homestead claim. Throughout her stay in Montana, Hattie fights hard times, harsh weather, a cantankerous cow and unforeseen tragedies. Her dream of making a home is championed with the help of her new neighbors, but is her dream of feeling belonged and loved ever championed? Hattie's good friend Charlie is fighting the Kaiser in France throughout the novel. Hattie writes him often explaining news and events that occurred during the previous week. Will this friendship last? Will Hattie ever feel like someone loves her? There are many themes throughout this book. One of the themes is having hope and believing in your dreams. Hattie would say, "Hope and Pray" to herself frequently, while struggling with hardships and trials. Throughout her life she has hoped to belong to someone, a family, and hoped to be happy for once. When an unexpected tragedy occurred that dramatically changed Hattie's life, she relied on hope to get through the hard times. Through hoping and believing in her dreams, she realized that there was a reason for everything and that there was a grand plan for her from the Lord. Another theme in this book is feeling loved and permanently belonged. For sixteen years Hattie has been shuttled from one relative to another. She has never truly felt like she has had a place to call home or a family that loved her likes parents should love their kids. She took major steps forward towards finding herself and finding those who loved and deeply truly cared for her when she moved to Vida, Montana to prove up on a homestead claim. If you are wondering whether or not to read this fantastic novel, there are many reasons to consider. The author, Kirby Larson, relates reality with dream in the writings. The novel also celebrates the true story of independence. However I did dislike a few things while reading it. I did not approve of how Larson used slang for the dialog of some characters. I also did not like the ending. I feel it does not show where Hattie ends up in her life and how peace and happiness are finally brought into her life. Even though there are a few dislikes, there are even more pros to this book. With reality and dreams, details in every tragedy, event and character; each chapter was suspenseful that kept me reading for many hours at a time. Overall, this was a pleasant book to enjoy.

posted by 2263997 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hate it

Couldnt get through it BORING!!!!!!!!!!! :(

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Superior Novel

    As a sixteen year old girl, Hattie Brooks has been shuffled around from relative to relative many times. Hattie has a dream that some day she can belong to someone and have a real family. Tired of being Hattie Here-and-There, she courageously moves herself to Vida, Montana to take care of her late uncles homestead claim. Throughout her stay in Montana, Hattie fights hard times, harsh weather, a cantankerous cow and unforeseen tragedies. Her dream of making a home is championed with the help of her new neighbors, but is her dream of feeling belonged and loved ever championed? Hattie's good friend Charlie is fighting the Kaiser in France throughout the novel. Hattie writes him often explaining news and events that occurred during the previous week. Will this friendship last? Will Hattie ever feel like someone loves her? There are many themes throughout this book. One of the themes is having hope and believing in your dreams. Hattie would say, "Hope and Pray" to herself frequently, while struggling with hardships and trials. Throughout her life she has hoped to belong to someone, a family, and hoped to be happy for once. When an unexpected tragedy occurred that dramatically changed Hattie's life, she relied on hope to get through the hard times. Through hoping and believing in her dreams, she realized that there was a reason for everything and that there was a grand plan for her from the Lord. Another theme in this book is feeling loved and permanently belonged. For sixteen years Hattie has been shuttled from one relative to another. She has never truly felt like she has had a place to call home or a family that loved her likes parents should love their kids. She took major steps forward towards finding herself and finding those who loved and deeply truly cared for her when she moved to Vida, Montana to prove up on a homestead claim. If you are wondering whether or not to read this fantastic novel, there are many reasons to consider. The author, Kirby Larson, relates reality with dream in the writings. The novel also celebrates the true story of independence. However I did dislike a few things while reading it. I did not approve of how Larson used slang for the dialog of some characters. I also did not like the ending. I feel it does not show where Hattie ends up in her life and how peace and happiness are finally brought into her life. Even though there are a few dislikes, there are even more pros to this book. With reality and dreams, details in every tragedy, event and character; each chapter was suspenseful that kept me reading for many hours at a time. Overall, this was a pleasant book to enjoy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good Book

    I thought this was a very good book. I was really tired of all these books that are not well written and have unlikable characters; this book was different. Hattie was likable and had morals and values, like hard work. This book is predictable, but there is nothing wrong with that. It is one i could feel comfortable recomending to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Love this book

    LOVE it!!! Want to learn about Charlie more to. Hopefully Hattie and Charlie get MARRIED!!!!!!! Love charlie! Cant wait to read more in book 2.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Hate it

    Couldnt get through it BORING!!!!!!!!!!! :(

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    WOW

    I thought this book would be boring but i am 13 and loved it! Kirby, you have to write a book two! I want to know more about Charlie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The overall opinions on Hattie Big Sky By Kirby Larson.

    Overall, I thought that Hattie Big Sky is a wonderful book. It helped me realize that dreams can come true,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Little house on the prarie all over again.

    Hattie Big Sky is a tale that I will never forget; the suspense with Hattie is thrilling. For example if she is going to survive the Montana weather/landscape, whether or not she will keep the land, or even if her friends will ever be welcome. This book is a read in bed kind of book it is definitely worth the wait for it from the library. Although I wish Hattie actually gets to see Charlie again and marries him so she isn¿t living alone. The great characters I think make the book itself, without them and their personalities I probably wouldn¿t have liked this book. I am a bookworm so I usually like a book unless it is just not up my alley or basically way out there. Hattie Big Sky is the perfect book for women and girls going through hard times like Hattie in the book she will show you how to act when times get rough trust me Hattie knows. At times in the book there are sad moments but those are taken over by all the other moments in the book when Hattie is content. I really would like to send some kudos to the author Kirby Larson for the wonderful story that reminded me of The little House on the Prairie my childhood favorite. It also reminded me about all the hard times I have had in my life, one of them moving to Nashville, but it was that reminder of the hard times that helped me get through times after I had read the book. Obviously I suggest that you read this book it is definitely worth it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I wish there was a sequel to this book and many authors but that isn¿t up to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I think this is a great book with an amazing story.I love the characters and must say my heart was broken by the last 40 or so pages.I am glad I took the time to read this book because now I will be able to tell everyone how great it is!I wish you could have actually met the character Charlie in the book,since you only heard anything of him from letters.I hope everyone else enjoys this book as much as I do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Grandma Bev for TeensReadToo.com

    To me, the main criteria for a good book is a cast of great characters, and this book definitely has that. Hattie is a very mature 16-year-old. She is an orphan who has been raised by first one relative and then another, and now she finds that she has inherited a homestead from an uncle that she never really knew. Her best friend has just joined the army to go fight the Kaiser in Germany at the outbreak of World War I. Hattie boards a train with her cat, Mr. Whiskers, to claim her new home in Montana. <BR/><BR/>When she arrives, she discovers that she will be required to finish "proving up" on the homestead...build an enormous amount of fence, and plant eighty of the three-hundred-and-twenty acres in wheat and flax, and she only has eight months left to accomplish this. The house is a one-room cabin that is barely habitable, and winter has Montana in its grip. Her livestock consists of a very congenial horse, and a contentious cow. <BR/><BR/>Hattie is a very resourceful girl, but life is difficult. Most of her new neighbors become fast friends, but some desperately want to claim her land for their own. Her dear friends, the Mullers, suffer bad treatment because of their German heritage and the War. <BR/><BR/>This is a fast-paced story of adventure with friendship, heartbreak, and joy. The believable characters will remain with you long after you have read the book, and the handsome villain isn't all bad. The suspense in this very entertaining book builds to a surprising climax that I didn't anticipate. Larson adds a couple of interesting-looking recipes in the back of the book that I'm anxious to try out, along with a bibliography of other great reading about the American West and homesteading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Heartwarming!

    This book was slow at first but once you got into it, was a great read. I am desperate for a sequel, because I want to know what happens next! If you are reading, buy this book, it is so good and not to be missed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    I absolutely loved it!!!!!

    This is one of my favorite books! I am a bookworm and I loved it. It was very sad in parts but it was also happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Great Characters - Strong Heroine

    The characters and scenery are what make this book. It is a wonderful experience to join Hattie as she boards a train to a homestead inherited from her uncle. Unlike heroines in other 'go west, young girl' tales, Hattie is not a blind fool for love. Though she does have love interests, she makes solid decisions. She often sets aside the sappy feelings to suck it up and pull it out. This is a particularly good book for girls or women looking to find inspiration in difficult times. The book will encourage you to know that if people like Hattie could get through their challenges, you can get through yours! Characters flanking Hattie are tangible, and range from loathesome to loveable. The only reason I cannot give this an outstanding, five-star rating is because the author uses four or five catch phrases multiple times, distracting from the read. Still, I told my daughter to read this because I did love it, and I know that she will love it too. I hope she reads it soon so we can talk about the strength and perseverance of Hattie Inez Brooks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    To me, the main criteria for a good book is a cast of great characters, and this book definitely has that. Hattie is a very mature 16-year-old. She is an orphan who has been raised by first one relative and then another, and now she finds that she has inherited a homestead from an uncle that she never really knew. Her best friend has just joined the army to go fight the Kaiser in Germany at the outbreak of World War I. Hattie boards a train with her cat, Mr. Whiskers, to claim her new home in Montana. When she arrives, she discovers that she will be required to finish 'proving up' on the homestead...build an enormous amount of fence, and plant eighty of the three-hundred-and-twenty acres in wheat and flax, and she only has eight months left to accomplish this. The house is a one-room cabin that is barely habitable, and winter has Montana in its grip. Her livestock consists of a very congenial horse, and a contentious cow. Hattie is a very resourceful girl, but life is difficult. Most of her new neighbors become fast friends, but some desperately want to claim her land for their own. Her dear friends, the Mullers, suffer bad treatment because of their German heritage and the War. This is a fast-paced story of adventure with friendship, heartbreak, and joy. The believable characters will remain with you long after you have read the book, and the handsome villain isn't all bad. The suspense in this very entertaining book builds to a surprising climax that I didn't anticipate. Larson adds a couple of interesting-looking recipes in the back of the book that I'm anxious to try out, along with a bibliography of other great reading about the American West and homesteading. **Reviewed by: Grandma Bev

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Wow.

    Pure 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Amazing!!!

    This book is amang! Such a great book! The sequel is also amzng!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Amazing book loved it

    I could read this book over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Pointless

    Great book but at the end their was no point in reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Omg

    I read this last year in 6th grade and i love this book it never gets old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Maniful

    Newer read such go book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Wow, fantastic!!!!!!!!

    I think that having a really good book is important since i am in fourth grade. So when i read this book in class for a book prodject i knew that when i got older i would read it again and again. So when i go to a new grade i will always reread it so i can enjoy it so much more than when i read it now.I think this is my favorite book from this year and last year. I never thought i would like this ganra so much. I still love my books i am reading now but "Hattie big sky"is my total favorite book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4