Customer Reviews for

Haunted

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Palaniuk....

Good book, amazing characters. Very, very disturbing stories. I loved it!

I have my favorites of course and so will you, each character tells his/her story, with a few characters telling more then one story a piece.

Saint Gut-Free "Guts" - hilarious and probably...
Good book, amazing characters. Very, very disturbing stories. I loved it!

I have my favorites of course and so will you, each character tells his/her story, with a few characters telling more then one story a piece.

Saint Gut-Free "Guts" - hilarious and probably the most digusting story you'll ever read

Director Denial "Exodus" - brilliant, brilliant writing

Chef Assassin "Product Placement" - love this one

Tess Clark "Post-Production", "The Nightmare Box" - this story still haunts me

If you like, gruesome, graphic and sexually charged disturbing literature, you just found it!

posted by SavageBS on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Cube meets Saw. Gory, interesting, but not spectacular

This was my first Palahniuk. I had heard that this book was incredibly disturbing and was, of course, intrigued. The book was disturbing, I suppose, but I would not add the modifier "incredibly." The book is, however, graphic and detailed and delves into the more derang...
This was my first Palahniuk. I had heard that this book was incredibly disturbing and was, of course, intrigued. The book was disturbing, I suppose, but I would not add the modifier "incredibly." The book is, however, graphic and detailed and delves into the more deranged parts of the human mind. Although I had not read Palahniuk before, I have of course seen Fight Club, and I understand that Palahniuk takes extreme situations and explores human interactions and reactions within those situations. Haunted does this and takes it just one step beyond "the line."

The way I think of the book is as a warped reality tv show gone wrong. Imagine a group of people, psychologically messed up because of the realities inflicted upon them and because of the choices they have made. Lock them together in a building with no escape for three months and see what happens. It's like The Cube meets Saw. Palahniuk's characters are actually believable in their extreme behavior and those with weaker stomachs should refrain.

The format the book takes is relatively unique. The characters in the book are identified by nicknames that somehow represent how the author is warped. Each "chapter" includes a narrative, a poem, and a story. The narrative is told from the perspective of one of the individuals locked in the building -- though we are never quite sure which aspiring author is speaking. The narrative is followed by a poem "about" the aspiring author, which hints at something the author has experienced and sheds a little light on the nickname the author has received. The poem is then followed by a story written by the character that has been discussed in the preceding poem. The story explains the primary traumatic incident (or portion of that incident) that resulted in the author's warped personality and nickname.

I liked the format of the book and appreciated Palahniuk's timing. Some of the most intriguing (to me) characters' personalities and nicknames were revealed at the end of the book, which certainly kept me attached to the book -- even though it almost read more like a series of non-related short stories than a novel. In addition, although it was not immediate, I was eventually drawn into the narrative of the authors trapped in the building and felt invested in how it would all play out.

The writing was great, too. I suppose the reason I'm still rambling about this, somewhat incoherently, is because I recognize the good qualities of the book, cannot think of any particularly bad ones, but still was not blown away by the book. I expected to be more disturbed, more intrigued, more saddened, more anything... but mostly I was just reading without much emotion at all. It was certainly good enough to continue reading and good enough to casually recommend, but it made no strong lasting impressions on me.

Recommended for someone who likes gore and exploring the deranged ways in which humans can behave in extreme situations.

THREE AND A HALF out of five stars.

posted by avanders on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Disappointment

    Was looking forward to this book after all the positive things I've heard. Was greatly disappointed with it. Some of the stories within the book were good but most were not. The overall plot is interesting but became very predictable and boring. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    This book was either really good at parts or boring. There were

    This book was either really good at parts or boring. There were times where I couldn't put the book down and times where I did not want to be bothered with finishing it. Some of the short stories are brilliant but  I found the story about what was going on in present time to be boring at times. Yes, some parts did make me cringe and were pretty disturbing. However, I was still disappointed. Maybe, I read to many reviews of it being such a scary book and one of the best horror books out there right now. I think it's a good book but it's not worth all of the hype it gets. I would recommend this book to people but I'd tell them to just get it from their library and not spend money, incase they were just as disappointed as I am. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Slendie

    Like this. If you want to say the f word just say f-u-c-k.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    To all moving

    To scary all results ~ smile dog

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Mr. Cow

    FU<3>CK YOU, ENDERGIRL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEWED: Haunted: A Novel WRITTEN BY: Chuck Palahniuk PUBLISHED

    REVIEWED: Haunted: A Novel
    WRITTEN BY: Chuck Palahniuk
    PUBLISHED: 2006

    HAUNTED is a collection of short stories that, interrelated, compose the greater make-up of a full-size novel, as each story is the flashback of one of the characters. Chuck Palahniuk is best known as the author of “FIGHT CLUB” which became the Fincher masterpiece movie in 1999. HAUNTED is often lauded on the “best of” lists of modern horror literature. Coupled with the fact that I’m a Palahniuk fan, and I was excited to jump into this. Unfortunately, this book just didn’t work that well for me.

    The plot revolves around a group of writers who become locked inside an abandoned movie theatre by their mysterious benefactor. However, instead of trying to escape, they each decide that the more horrific they make their own circumstances, then the greater story they will have to tell (and, by proxy, notoriety) once they are rescued. Thus, they destroy their own food, sabotage the heating and plumbing, and invent villains amongst themselves, almost like a “Lord of the Flies” for adults.

    Each character’s flashback is a short story of itself, and Palahniuk doesn’t hold back when going through the gambit of the most perverse and horrific scenarios one would dare to imagine. Indeed, in the book’s afterword Palahniuk details how on a book tour, there was a rash of people who fainted after he read excerpts of the stories.

    Although the book is a satirical view of culture and human motivation, I feel the author sacrificed absorbing writing for shock and absurdity. It’s very intelligent, but also felt “preachy,” and though the characters represented all different backgrounds, they mostly were each cut from the same cloth: selfish, troubled, and redundant.

    What else can I say? Palahniuk is a master, and the critics adore this book. I just found it too self-serving and not the escape into imagination that I usually seek when reading fiction literature.

    Three-and-a-Half out of Five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    By far my LEAST favorite of his books

    I have read them all and while some are amazing, others are clearly contractual obligations rather than his best stuff. While his stuff always has a disturbing element, all this felt like was shock-jock writing more intent on making you embarrassed to read in public than to add to the story. There are flashes of the Palahniuk I know and love, but it is not one I'd read before you've grown to love his other stuff, because if you don't know it's not always so gratuitous it could totally turn you off to his stuff alltogether.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Very entertaining. I enjoyed this book a lot.

    Very entertaining. I enjoyed this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    STOP IT!!

    ~dani~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Stop it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Cristena

    Wolf your here now we can go to were ever you want to go and talk!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Wolf

    I think they are reffering to you............sara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Boring

    Even with all the gore and general craziness, this was one of the most boring books I've read in a LONG time. I feel like I wasted my money on this snorefest. It tried so hard to be edgy, but the message was so poorly articulated I judt kept waiting for the big moment, the one where you say to yourself "Ah, I never thought of it that way! What an excellent point."

    I think Haunted was aiming to be the next cult classic-y sort of dark social commentary sort of novel, but it wasn't nearly smart enough - like the irritating goth kid who sits in the back of the English Honors class and snarks because he's so much smarter than everyone else because he's read Vonnegut (his FAVORITE writer, you probably haven't heard of him though).

    In other words, a lame, half-baked attempt at cultural insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Darker than i could hope for

    Twisted and disturbing, just what I was looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Chuck is a literary Diety to be reckoned with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Recommend to anyone with a slightly twisted sense of humor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    My Favorite

    The best chuck book ive read yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Addicted!!!

    I bought this book in the paperback form years ago, and then lost it like a goof. Now that I have my Nook Color, I'll never lose it again! Currently on Chapter 3 and I can't wait to read what happens next! Buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    You make me sick!

    I absolutely loved this book! The stories were gross and I couldn't stop reading them! This would make an interesting movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Awesome read

    Twisted and amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16