Customer Reviews for

Haunted

Average Rating 4
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Palaniuk....

Good book, amazing characters. Very, very disturbing stories. I loved it!

I have my favorites of course and so will you, each character tells his/her story, with a few characters telling more then one story a piece.

Saint Gut-Free "Guts" - hilarious and probably...
Good book, amazing characters. Very, very disturbing stories. I loved it!

I have my favorites of course and so will you, each character tells his/her story, with a few characters telling more then one story a piece.

Saint Gut-Free "Guts" - hilarious and probably the most digusting story you'll ever read

Director Denial "Exodus" - brilliant, brilliant writing

Chef Assassin "Product Placement" - love this one

Tess Clark "Post-Production", "The Nightmare Box" - this story still haunts me

If you like, gruesome, graphic and sexually charged disturbing literature, you just found it!

posted by SavageBS on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Cube meets Saw. Gory, interesting, but not spectacular

This was my first Palahniuk. I had heard that this book was incredibly disturbing and was, of course, intrigued. The book was disturbing, I suppose, but I would not add the modifier "incredibly." The book is, however, graphic and detailed and delves into the more derang...
This was my first Palahniuk. I had heard that this book was incredibly disturbing and was, of course, intrigued. The book was disturbing, I suppose, but I would not add the modifier "incredibly." The book is, however, graphic and detailed and delves into the more deranged parts of the human mind. Although I had not read Palahniuk before, I have of course seen Fight Club, and I understand that Palahniuk takes extreme situations and explores human interactions and reactions within those situations. Haunted does this and takes it just one step beyond "the line."

The way I think of the book is as a warped reality tv show gone wrong. Imagine a group of people, psychologically messed up because of the realities inflicted upon them and because of the choices they have made. Lock them together in a building with no escape for three months and see what happens. It's like The Cube meets Saw. Palahniuk's characters are actually believable in their extreme behavior and those with weaker stomachs should refrain.

The format the book takes is relatively unique. The characters in the book are identified by nicknames that somehow represent how the author is warped. Each "chapter" includes a narrative, a poem, and a story. The narrative is told from the perspective of one of the individuals locked in the building -- though we are never quite sure which aspiring author is speaking. The narrative is followed by a poem "about" the aspiring author, which hints at something the author has experienced and sheds a little light on the nickname the author has received. The poem is then followed by a story written by the character that has been discussed in the preceding poem. The story explains the primary traumatic incident (or portion of that incident) that resulted in the author's warped personality and nickname.

I liked the format of the book and appreciated Palahniuk's timing. Some of the most intriguing (to me) characters' personalities and nicknames were revealed at the end of the book, which certainly kept me attached to the book -- even though it almost read more like a series of non-related short stories than a novel. In addition, although it was not immediate, I was eventually drawn into the narrative of the authors trapped in the building and felt invested in how it would all play out.

The writing was great, too. I suppose the reason I'm still rambling about this, somewhat incoherently, is because I recognize the good qualities of the book, cannot think of any particularly bad ones, but still was not blown away by the book. I expected to be more disturbed, more intrigued, more saddened, more anything... but mostly I was just reading without much emotion at all. It was certainly good enough to continue reading and good enough to casually recommend, but it made no strong lasting impressions on me.

Recommended for someone who likes gore and exploring the deranged ways in which humans can behave in extreme situations.

THREE AND A HALF out of five stars.

posted by avanders on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 310 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 16
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Awesome read

    Twisted and amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I was not very impressed with the stories at all. I was expecting them to be more scary then they were. Overall it was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I had heard about this book years ago, before I became an avid book reader & was grossed out by what I heard to be honest. After that, I had forgotten about it. I was given Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk as a Christmas gift & have been a fan ever since. I picked up this book as was completely engulfed. This could easily be one of my favorite books. EVER. It has the right combonation of disgusting, horror, reality, and truthfulness. Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing is what it seems.

    It seems like just another collection of random gruesome stories, but when you gaze deeper into the soul of Chuch Palahniuk's Haunted you see that in reality it is a study of the darker side of human nature.
    When a group of strangers answer an add for a writers retreat they are taken away from the world, locked away for three months and given the chance to make a name for themselves by creating their once in a lifetime masterpiece. Having been provided everything they need to survive for their stay, it should have been a simple task.
    Through a series of twenty-three short stories told by the guests (named for the sins of their stories) and host alike you discover that not everything is what it seems, not everyone is innocent, and nothing is black and white.
    A small warning for the next reader: This is not for the faint of heart, or the weak of stomach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    one of the worse books ever.

    I hated this book. It's honestly one of the worse books that I have ever read if not the worse book I have read EVER. It's very confusing and random.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keep Reading

    I don't know why people are making a fuss about 'Guts'. It's nothing that hasn't been on the news. I thought that the back story was pretty good. The short stories were fun for the most part. They get better in the last half. The poems were not that bad. Sort of boring, but they were short. This isn't a gross-out book like some reviewers think it is. Especially if you have read Chuck Palahniuk's other books. It's pretty standard for him. Nothing too 'gross' or 'gory', just a lot of touching on detail.
    The beginning is sort of boring. This book took me two weeks to read, which is a long time for me. I couldn't get into it until the second half. It's worth a read if you have some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book

    If you have a weak stomach this is not the book for you. However if you are a fan of the gross and profine as I am you will love this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Freakin Awesome !

    This book is awesome ! You'll want to read the whole book in one day ! Read it, LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Disturbing to say the least....

    Amazing, probably the only book that will ever make me actually cringe while reading it. From story to story intertwined into a whole, you never quite know what's going to happen next. Guts by far was the most disturbing of them all. This book goes from disturbing to hilarious at a moments notice. Definitely worth a read through if you can handle it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Whoa...whoa...

    I just got done reading 'Haunted' about two minutes ago and let me tell you, I was quite shocked. This book had something to new to offer on every page, wheter it be gross out humor, drama, horror, it all worked together great. I just wish the book didn't have so many characters to keep track of, also I wish the ending could have been a bit more solid, but thouroughly enjoyable (if you can stomach through it) throughout!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    i love this book. i had no idea what i was getting into. it kept my attention very well. it had humor, suspense,and drama. LOVE IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    So good...

    well what can i say..this is the ONLY book I've ever read fully. i dont like to read but this book got me hooked. He is by far my favorite author and i love how he mixes humor with horror...but overall a very..VERY good book. I recommend this book. but seriously...read Guts first and if you dont like it...dont read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Why has this book gotten so many bad reviews? Haunted was just as twisted as the rest of Chucks work. I'll admit that after reading 'choke' I put this book down after about the fifth chapter. I picked it up again and finished it, and it was still one of the best books I have read. I love the gore, dark humor, and the crazy characters. Palahniuk really does a great job forcing you to imagine things that only the truly twisted could imagine. Every time I read one of his books I feel like I am getting a lesson in medical terminology as well! The only thing I would recommend is to read the story 'Guts' on page 13 and then decide if you want to buy the book or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    Well written

    I know a lot of people couldn't get past the third chapter. I was squirming reading the whole time, that story was very explicit. After that though it's not so bad. You need to not back down from a good book. Like all his books, they are somewhat graphic but always very well written. All of his books are wonderful. The one thing you should just remember is not to give up reading this book in the beginning. You'll want to, but trust me it gets much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is uh....GROSS!!! i couldnt even get past the third chapter i was sick to my stomach and i had an awkward feeling in my stomach all day. Its a horrible book. HORRIBLE!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Go Ahead And Try It

    I had never read any of Palahniuk's books before but I saw this in the store and bought it on a whim. It was weird, unusual, disturbing, and wonderful. I would tell anyone who's tried of the same old stuff (like me) they HAVE to read this. I can't wait to read more of his work. I love the little back stories of all the characters and I think the main story that ties them all together is hilarious. This really is a black comedy. If your looking for yet another Alex Cross novel or some other police crime novel...don't read this. But if you truly want to be entertained....this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Pretty Sweet!

    Although the number of characters starts things off in a confused state, once you stop trying to figure them all out you can continue reading. The short stories are the best part- I find myself thinking about them even when I'm not reading the book. GUTS is the greatest short story. I've given it to some family members who were disturbed by it though. The stories are always intriguing! I didn't find anything too disturbing myself. Outside the short stories, the blood kinda gets old, but so it goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Worst book I've ever read.

    This book was absolutely terrible. The stories are neither funny or entertaining. Overall, just a gross, bizarre and ridiculous story. Do not waste your money or time on this tired read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Mixed feelings

    I thought that each story was well written, but the book as a whole is very disjointed. If you get past the Gut-Free story, the rest really shouldn't bother you too much. I would like to read it again to get a better feel for it, but can't seem to pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    I'm haunted by it

    I think that one of my favorite things about this novel, outside of the actual contents/story, is Chuck's ability to make a novel so obviously his own, yet write from the 'minds' of many different people, applying their individual life stories and points-of-view to each short story. Mr. Palahniuk has done it again. Even though this is a fiction book you can easily picture these twisted tales actually taking place. Although 'Haunted' is much more engrossing ( extra emphasis on gross! ) than just a collection of stories, Pahlahniuk manages to show us his twisted little world on a broader scale, and by the end it hits home. If you enjoyed McCrae¿s ¿Katzenjammer¿ or the works ¿Fight Club¿ and ¿Dry,¿ then this will be your cup of . . . well, not tea, but something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 310 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 16